Share Your First Credit Card Story!

vijay thumbnail
Posted: 2 months ago

Hi all,

I still remember getting my first credit card back in 2000. It was a Standard Chartered card, and I had just landed my first job. The excitement of having a credit card was immense, and I felt like I had finally stepped into adulthood.

In my excitement, I ended up spending my whole month's salary in just one day! Looking back, it was a mix of thrill and a learning experience about financial management.

What was your first credit card experience like? How did you feel when you got your first card, and what lessons did you learn along the way? I’d love to hear your stories and any tips you have for first-time cardholders!

first credit card.jpg

Edited by vijay - 2 months ago

Created

Last reply

Replies

Views

Users

Frequent Posters

minakrish thumbnail

I can totally relate to the excitement of getting a first credit card. I got my ICICI Credit Card back in 2012 when I graduated from college and landed my first job.

My first big purchase was a TV for my parents as a gift, which made it even more special.

It was definitely a learning experience for me as well. Using the card responsibly has taught me a lot about managing finances and making smart spending decisions over the years.

Viswasruti thumbnail

Normally, I just know how to deposit money in the banks each month; I don't know much about taking money out of the banks!

However, my first credit card taught me how to spend money and offered me an array of things I could / should buy!!

When I got my first credit card in my hand, I was so excited and felt like a queen who could own the entire world! The first thing that came to my mind was books! I ran to a book store and bought a few good books. The next thing on my wish list is buying comfortable Hush Puppies footwear for my mom and for me as well. I wanted to have the feeling of walking on a plush carpet of grass all the time. smiley1