Nani Regrets Commenting on Arshad Warsi, says “My choice of words was not ideal"

Nani admits his response to Arshad Warsi’s comment was poorly worded and misunderstood, highlighting the impact of translation issues.

Team India Forums

View Profile
Nani and Arshad Warsi

Telugu actor Nani has admitted to a lapse in his response after Arshad Warsi’s remarks about Prabhas in the film Kalki 2898 AD stirred controversy. Warsi, on the show ‘Unfiltered by Samdish,’ referred to Prabhas as a "joker," which drew a critical response from Nani.

Nani's reaction, shared in Telugu, was, “The person that you’re referring to, this must be the most publicity he has got in his life. You are unnecessarily glorifying an unimportant matter.” While his response was praised by Prabhas fans, it faced backlash from some quarters of the Hindi film audience.

In a chat with mid-day, Nani acknowledged that his words were poorly chosen and further complicated by translation issues. “I saw online how a language can sound when translated into English. Social media often exaggerates this,” he said. Nani’s initial response was a spontaneous defense of Prabhas, spurred by his admiration for the actor. However, after watching the full interview with Warsi, his view changed. “I had only seen cut clips on social media, like mine was shared widely. When someone you care about is criticized, you react strongly. But after seeing the complete interview, I realised that the issue has been exaggerated by media and social media. My reaction was also blown out of proportion,” Nani admitted.

Nani stressed the importance of careful public communication. “Arshad Warsi ji is a brilliant actor. We all loved him in Munna Bhai, which is a beloved film across India. At home, we may critique films and actors, but as public figures, we must choose our words wisely. In this instance, both Warsi and I are victims of the situation,” he noted.

In today’s digital age, where every comment is scrutinized, Nani underscored the value of acknowledging mistakes. “My choice of words was not ideal. The best course of action is to admit regret. Misunderstandings can arise from translation issues, and it's important to take responsibility for any slip-ups,” he concluded.

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Arshad Warsi Thumbnail

Arshad Warsi

Prabhas Thumbnail

Prabhas