Osman Khalid Butt Exclusive Interview

chaha_khan thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail
Posted: 11 years ago

Osman Khalid Butt is a writer,actor , theatre-director & choreographer based in Islamabad. His recent performance in Geo tv's Aik Nayee Cinderella in the lead role made him popular among masses. Now he is all set to do lead in another tv serial 'Aunn-Zara'. Lot of people dont know that he is also the writer of upcoming horror flick Siyaah releasing 15th march 2013.

He has also acted in films like Zibahkhana, The Silent Verse and Slackistan . he is also ambassador of several popular brands.

Q1. How come you landed in acting? How was your 1st experience? And do you still remember that?

A. My background is in theatre. I remember watching a local production of Bram Stoker's 'Dracula' on the Islamabad Club stage in 2004 and thinking I wanted to be on that side of the stage. A couple of months later, I noticed an audition poster on my university billboard for Shah Sharahbeel's 'Moulin Rouge' (staged in 2005). I went and a month of grueling auditions later was cast as the lead. Since then, I've been actively involved in the Islamabad theatre scene. Last year, I was honored to be part of Pakistan's official representation to the Cultural Olympiad in London (preceding the 2012 London Olympics): an Urdu adaptation of the play 'Taming of the Shrew' directed by Haissam Hussain. The play starred the best of the industry such as Salman Shahid, Nadia Jamil and Omair Rana. I had previously made a cameo appearance in Haissam's 'Durr-e-Shahwar' and am incredibly grateful he remembered me and asked me to join the cast of TOTS.

It was during rehearsals that Haissam approached me for the television play 'Aunn-Zara', based on Faiza Iftikhar's novel 'Hisaar-e-Mohabbat.' I remember reading the script for the first episode with him and relishing the opportunity to play the character of Aunn.