KS and Books - The Similarities

putturani thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

KS Situations/Characters and Books

Hey guys, I am a booklover and also a KS lover so I decided to put together and came up with this. Please, fellow booklovers don't get mad at me because I am not comparing KS to any of these books – there is no comparison, but I am just comparing certain aspects of the books to certain aspects of KS. Please don't come after me with rolling pins!

To Kill A Mockingbird: The theme of injustice is common to both KS and TKAM. The injustice in the way Jai treats Bani and in the way Rashi is treated must have touched us all sometime or the other. Please, please, don't think I am comparing the book to KS as I am not.

Jane Eyre: The concept of class divisions so often pointed out by Jiggs is also there in Jane Eyre. There also a rich older man marries a poor younger girl who is his equal in all ways. There Jane is moralistic very much like our own Bani. Mr. Rochester is imperfect, very much like Jai. Mr. Rochester had a dark secret in his house (Bertha Mason) and Jai, if the Band Darwaaza Raaz is true, also had a secret in his house. Both Jane and Bani are orphans.

Pride and Prejudice: Jai's pride and again the concept of class divisions. There is also a sinning sister in both the stories – Pia in KS and Lydia in PnP. Rano also in some ways reminds me of Elizabeth and Mary.

Little Women: The serial seems to be based on this book. There are so many similarities. There is the bond between sisters – considerably weakened now by Pia – in both the stories. It is the basis for Little Women and also KS. Both, in a way are also coming-of-age stories about a group of poor sisters and how they find their place in the world.

There is the help from a kind and wealthy man – Mr. Lawrence in LW and our very own Jai in KS – which brings love in both stories. There is also the friend who marries one of the sisters although it was very likely he would have married another (Pushkar and Laurie).

I think Rano is a little similar to Joe. Bani, of course is Meg – the responsible, kind, womanly elder sister.

Do you guys remember when Pia did a nightie add to help the family? That is suspiciously similar to the way Joe sold her hair for the same reason. I sure there must be more similarities but I can't think of any more now.

Ok guys, that was a long post and I hope you didn't fall asleep when reading! When I come up with more I will post them. In the meanwhile, please post your comments and views and also whether your think KS is similar to any other books. Please post your views guys and through this, I hope to attract the booklovers of KS forum.

putturani thumbnail
Am I the only book lover here? 😭
klueless thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: putturani

Am I the only book lover here? 😭

Arre Nahi re .. Main Hoon Na ... Good Post ..Puttu .. .. you are rite Ks has charcters staright out of the classics u mentioned howeve you forgot to mention ..That jai is the Tall Dark handsome, arrogant and recently ..Portly 😆 Hero from Mills and Boon . Mills and Boon, famous for Contract marriages and runaway brides .etc etc ..

Bani's sleuthing tactics directly from carolyn keen's mystery series herione , detective_Nancy Drew 😛

Klue

Edited by klueless - 19 years ago
putturani thumbnail

Originally posted by: klueless

Arre Nahi re .. Main Hoon Na ... Good Post ..Puttu .. .. you are rite Ks has charcters staright out of the classics u mentioned howeve you forgot to mention ..That jai is the Tall Dark handsome, arrogant and recently ..Portly 😆 Hero from Mills and Boon . Mills and Boon, famous for Contract marriages and runaway brides .etc etc ..

Bani's sleuthing tactics directly from carolyn keen's mystery series herione , detective_Nancy Drew 😛

Klue

Yes, I forgot to mention Mills and Boon stories. Maybe because I haven't read a single one!😆😳 And yes, I completely forgot Bani's Nancy Drew fascination.😆

mahimn thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hi ,
Yes , I agree with you that these characters do share similarities with the classic characters.For me,Bani is a mixture of Liz and Jane (P&P) and Pia reminds me of Lydia.These characters do not identify with just one person but are an amalgamation of two or more characters into one.
Jai Walia's entry reminded me of Mr.Darcy- snooty, high class, arrogant person who was misjudged because of his attitude but who later, only Lizzy managed to decipher , just like only Bani could bring out the real Jai , which was latent somewhere deep in Jai Walia-the no nonsense Business man.

Apart from Too much too soon,Little women too holds similarity, infact the story dseems to be more on line of this book but I prefer to look at it with the view of P and P.
Edited by mahimn - 19 years ago
mahimn thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I guess these Books are the main reason because of which we watch KS. All these books finished on a good note and thats what we all lok forward to in this serial , inspite of the crap they serve us every other day
Edited by mahimn - 19 years ago
cheeze thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: klueless

Klue

Agree Putturani and klue. I enjoy reading heaps particularly Mills & Boon😳 and would have done anything during my school days for Nancy Drew series.

cheeze thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: putturani

Yes, I forgot to mention Mills and Boon stories. Maybe because I haven't read a single one!😆😳 And yes, I completely forgot Bani's Nancy Drew fascination.😆

Are you serious putturani? You haven't read a single Mills & Boon? OMG! I find it soooooooooooo hard to believe😉 and yes Bani's Nancy Drew fascination is another thing.

187176 thumbnail
I havent read mills and boon either 😭 but agree ks does seem to relate to alot of book another one i want to add is one called love story with its theme of two opposite before when jai hated bani reminded me of the couple in there if anyones read it ( you should read it if yo havent its really good makes you 😭 )
misspickle thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I wouldn't know yaar!I hate reading romantic novels 🤢 I prefer non fiction books 😳 but,i'll go with what puttu is saying! 😊