Chapter 14
Outside the operation theater both the Chaudhry and the Vadhera families sat or stood scattered around the waiting area. Anyone had hardly spoken a word as the doctors had begun the surgery, the only words that where said by anyone where to give each other comfort and support only.
Manvi kept pacing back and forth like she had done for the past 3 hours now, the whole time muttering prayers in her mind and heart. After her breakdown, she had strongly put herself back together, knowing that she had to be the strength for his family right now, and be there support system as he wasn't there to do that. Another hour passed, and with it her heart kept sinking, why was it taking so long? What was wrong? He would survive, wouldn't he? No, No Mannu you can't think like that, look your Mehndi is still fresh and its color is so deep, Bhagwan Ji won't let the color of your mehndi go bleak Mannu, have faith..she told herself as bad thoughts tried to take over. Just then she heard the door push open, and immediately everyone else also came and gathered around her. As they all looked towards the surgeon for updates.
"There where moments when we thought it was all over...", he spoke, ripping the ground from beneath all of their feet.
"But he stayed strong till the end..and The operation was successful..." he finally said after what felt like a hour of quietness but was merely only seconds.
Manvi felt a air of relief wash through the room, as they all sent prayers of thank you up to Bhagwan ji.
"How ever, Mr. Vadhera has badly injured his legs when the truck hit his car, the impact was so great, that we fear, he may never...never walk again. We tried our best to patch up all that we could through the surgery, but we won't know for sure until he comes conscious.." the Doctor told them, once again tearing everything apart, right before he nodded at them consolingly and walked off towards his office.
Manvi stood frozen once again, what was this? What was life doing to him? To her? Had he not suffered enough already? She kept thinking, she was about to break again, but seeing Khadhambari Ma, Chachu nd Dada-Ji so upset along with everyone else. She refused to break, and donning a role of strength spoke up.
"Arre, why are you all s-so upset? The Dr. only said it could be a pos-possibility, and i am sure of my..my Bhagwan Ji that he will never do such a thing to Virat. Lets all be strong un-until at least we know for sure..huh?" Manvi braved.
Seeing her determined to be strong, Jiju hugged her, also donning a air of positivity before all. And together they tried to calm down everyone.
Just then, they heard the doors open to the OT, and Manvi heard rather than saw the stretcher on which he lay being rolled out to a private room. Everyone else turned to look at him, but she couldn't build the courage, if she looked now, she would break like a piece of porcelain, but she needed to stay strong for everyone else right now. Once the nurses had passed, telling them that they could all see him in 10 minutes after they settled him into his room, they all turned back into the waiting room except for Dada-Ji, whom Manvi noticed stood still as if in a daze watching as his grandson was wheeled away.
And then it happened in seconds, clutching his heart, he fell, right where he stood in wake of his grandsons unconscious body being wheeled away. Crying out in anguish as another tragedy seemed to fall on them all, the Chaudhry's and Vadhera's rushed to him. Doctors also rushed to him, and confirmed there suspicions, he had a heart attack. Quickly they pulled him onto a streacher and led him into the ICU, where they began to treat him.
"Mamu..Nanu? how?", Viren Jiju asked Inder Chachu as they all waited for the Doctors report.
"He must have...relived the moment he saw Bhaiya and Bhabhi like that, after their accident..", Inder Chachu said shaking his head. He too was barely able to hold himself in check, it was difficult for all of them.
Just then a nurse came and told them Virat was settled in his room for the time being, although he was still unconscious. Manvi seemed to be at crossroads, she wanted to rush to his side, yet she didn't want to leave Dada-Ji's side, knowing he would want her there with Dada-Ji at this moment of time. As she dwindled with her mind, she heard Khadhambari Ma call her.
"Manvi..?", she called her.
"Ji, Choti Ma?", she asked, breaking away from her thoughts.
"Beta, you go to Virat and look after him..", she told her, urging her to go ahead.
"But Choti Ma, Dada-Ji..?", Manvi asked still unsure.
"Its okay Love, we are all here with him...Virat needs someone to, and who better then you?", she said running a soothing hand on Manvi's head, clearing Manvi's dilemma for her.
Looking at her own Mother, Manvi asked for her approval, wanting to make sure she was doing the right thing. Her Ma nodded at her supportingly, making sure they would let her know Dada-Ji's updates as soon as they got information, she headed to the elevator to get to Virats room.
Outside the room, she hesitated, scared of all that she was going to have to face. One thing she was grateful for though, she would get this time alone with him, these first few minutes that where going to help her face it all. Finally taking a deep breath, she pushing open the door with her mehndi adored hand, surpassingly her mehndi was as dark as it had ever been, she could only think of it as a sign from the one above, that it was all going to be okay, yet there was a fear inside of her, how would things change after this...specially if the doctors fears came true. Shaking it off, she stepped inside. As the door swooshed closed behind her, she stepped forward and trembled to the chair next to him.
He lay, unconscious, in the blue hospital gown, covered with a white sheet to the waist to ward off the cold. He had a bandage on his head, one on each arm, the left one from his elbow upto the shoulder, thankfully she couldn't see the bandaged on his legs, nor did she have the strength to face that. Taking a seat next to him on the stool that sat beside him, she took his hand in her own, and unable to stop the tears or pain at seeing him thus, she broke, alone, yet with the person who mattered to her most.
An hour later, he was still unconscious, but now she had been able to put herself back together. Just then, the door opened and Jiju stepped in, he came and kissed his brother on the forehead lovingly, there bond touched Manvi.
"Jiju...Dada-Ji?", Manvi asked quietly.
"He is fine, just a minor heart attack..he just needs to rest for a few days..btw, everyone said not to tell Virat yet, he will be upset..", Jiju told her, and Manvi nodded understanding.
They both sat there for another 20 minutes...that was when finally Virat stirred. Immediately, they called a nurse, Manvi hovering over him, their eyes met, and in those two seconds they said all they needed to for now. Once the nurse was done checking his vitals, she left, and the others except Inder Chachu and Bade Papa who where with Dada-Ji came in to see Virat.
Manvi saw him try to sit up, struggling on his arms to pull his body up. Thinking it was due to weakness, she leaned forward to help him sit up, after positioning him comfortable she stepped back. She could see his shocked expression, the next instant he tore away the sheet off his legs. Manvi stood wide eyed as he turned towards her.
"Manvi! Manvi I, I can't feel my legs Manvi..Choti Ma! My legs!?!", Virat cried out, as everyone else gasped.
Comments (31)
nice update Paricont soon๐
10 years ago
Heyyy!! plis continue this ff also!!!
10 years ago
Pari, thanks for such a beautiful chapter. Waiting for your next update. I wanna see how Maanvi's love helps him to bounce back. Now I feel Virat will try to distance himself from her and Maanvi will not allow dat to happen.. Pls update. Thx
11 years ago
awesome update loved it feel bad for virat love this twist update soon
11 years ago
tune kya kiya meri virat ko๐ญ๐ก
11 years ago
noo yu cant let that happen to virat ...it is the most helpless feeling that yu cant stand on yur own legs speciallyfor men it wont go well with virat this twist is gonna bring lots of things to happen between virman hope they stand strong together till the end...the way manvi controlled her emotions and stood strong for her family was good...the feelings emotions well written and very interesting twist aheadwaiting for the next update ๐
11 years ago
My God !!! Feeling terrible for virat... the way u showed manvis emotions was mind blowing ...pls updt soon
11 years ago
Omggg speechlessamazinggg twist damn excited cnt wait for next chappy eeekkksss!!! plzzz update quickly ๐
11 years ago
Its awesm do pm me whn u cont.
11 years ago
I am stumped ... please no separation track .. hopefully it is just a dream not a reality.. loved it waiting for the next update..
11 years ago