1.25cr is good opening..if so
i was afraid it will be under 50lacs
Reviews & Ratings
1.25cr is good opening..if so
i was afraid it will be under 50lacs
The Buckingham Murders Box Office Collection Day 1 (Early Trends): Kareena Kapoor Khan’s Film Marks A Fair Start Despite Negligible Buzz!
The Buckingham Murders was released in theatres today. Starring Kareena Kapoor Khan in the leading role, the pre-release buzz had unfortunately not been upto the mark. The consequences of it are visible in the opening day figures, but the action thriller has still managed to make a fair start. Scroll below for early trends of day 1.
As per the early trends flowing in, The Buckingham Murders made box office collections in the range of 1.10-1.30 crores on the opening day. The figures should have definitely been better, given a bankable actress like Kareena Kapoor Khan leads the film. Hopefully, the word-of-mouth will grow, and the numbers will grow over the weekend.
The supporting cast features Keith Allen, Ranveer Brar, Prabhleen Sandhu, and Rukku Nahar, among others. The Buckingham Palace had received rave reviews at the 67th BFI London Film Festival premiere on 14 October 2023.
Kareena Kapoor makes her debut as a producer alongside Shobha Kapoor and Ekta Kapoor. After the conclusion of the theatrical run, it will hit the digital platform Netflix.
Note: Box office numbers are based on estimates and various sources. Numbers have not been independently verified by Koimoi.
Stay tuned to Koimoi for more box office updates.
Kareena delivers her best performance. She is brilliant man. I cannot believe she is the same girl who once played Pooh! What an incredible growth as an artist. Kareena is such a fine actor and she is so secure with herself that she is not afraid to appear visibly aged sans makeup which very very few actresses would have the guts to do..such a refreshing change to see an actor this secure.
However, Hansal mehta's direction is poor and he is certainly not in form. You know this movie needed Sujoy Ghosh, he is the master of thrillers and Jaane Jaan which had kareena last year or kahani..watch those movies and you will realize that despite dark themes, Ghosh would always make them interesting and thrilling, which is the least a thriller is expected to be. Mehta is a terrible fail here and the movie though only 1 hour 50min, feels much longer. The pace is slow and inconsistent.
This has zilch chances of any run in cinemas and it would be no surprise if this wraps under 5cr. Even on OTT, it seems like one of those you would finish in 2,3 sittings coz you be dozing off a couple of times to save the rest of the movie for another time.
2.5/5
It is kareena and only kareena but how much can she do when the director is just not in form.
P.S: They are saying it hindi but it was actually the english / highlish version. 70% of the movie was in English and i am glad only this version released here.
37 lakhs is the real opening on 700 screens
Originally posted by: cougarTown
Kareena delivers her best performance. She is brilliant man. I cannot believe she is the same girl who once played Pooh! What an incredible growth as an artist. Kareena is such a fine actor and she is so secure with herself that she is not afraid to appear visibly aged sans makeup which very very few actresses would have the guts to do..such a refreshing change to see an actor this secure.
However, Hansal mehta's direction is poor and he is certainly not in form. You know this movie needed Sujoy Ghosh, he is the master of thrillers and Jaane Jaan which had kareena last year or kahani..watch those movies and you will realize that despite dark themes, Ghosh would always make them interesting and thrilling, which is the least a thriller is expected to be. Mehta is a terrible fail here and the movie though only 1 hour 50min, feels much longer. The pace is slow and inconsistent.
This has zilch chances of any run in cinemas and it would be no surprise if this wraps under 5cr. Even on OTT, it seems like one of those you would finish in 2,3 sittings coz you be dozing off a couple of times to save the rest of the movie for another time.
2.5/5
It is kareena and only kareena but how much can she do when the director is just not in form.
P.S: They are saying it hindi but it was actually the english / highlish version. 70% of the movie was in English and i am glad only this version released here.
Thanks for the review. This was my concern to begin with, all the more reason this should have gone straight to ott. Typical pattern with what happens to Kareena. She shines while the plot crumbles around her
Originally posted by: desigal90
OTT has now given many such movies that are available for audiences to watch and also, Kahaani was in Hindi. This movie is 70% shot in English and the hindi dub looks atrocious. I dont know what Ekta was thinking releasing it in theaters.
Taapsee talked about this in an interview. These movies are made for streaming but now they're no longer agreeing to buy first without a theatrical release. So what happens is that they do a nominal release but they are basically dumping it and not spending money on promotions or posters or ads. Most average people don't even know it's releasing. Without any external support, it's bound to fail and then ends up getting the flop tag before reaching streaming so that already creates negativity.
The whole model is wrong. Either they should produce with a streamer from the beginning or release it properly instead of just waiting for the streaming money.
Ekta is so dumb! Her ego is the main reason for this fiasco. I repeat they should’ve dumped this niche film in OTT in order to save face instead of embarrassing themselves like this!
https://x.com/box_off_india/status/1834842405226340712?s=46
https://boxofficeindia.com/report-details.php?articleid=8688
Poor Ekta got fooled by superstar Kareena's star power PR narrative .
Crew supposedly had a good opening due to kareena lol...
Kareena Kapoor Khan Film Festival to be announced as a grand tribute as the actress completes 25 years
comment:
p_commentcount