Meghna Malik: I can't continue to shoot after the character's death

av131 thumbnail
Anniversary 7 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 6 years ago
There's something ironic about Meghna Malik's exit from the TV show, 'Laado Veerpur Ki Mardani'. It was the first season of the show 'Na Aana Is Des Laado' (2009) that catapulted the actress to national fame and made her synonymous with the character of Ammaji. Yet, in the ongoing season, she is no longer a part of the show after completing two months on it. Ever since this news surfaced, several reports from her insecurity about co-actors to her unprofessional behaviour of refusing to shoot her death sequence have been cropping up. In an exclusive chat with BT, Meghna rubbishes the rumours. Read on... 'I have made more news off-screen'

The actress, whose character is dead on the show, says, "I have never tried to clear my position before. However, I have been forced to do so now, as it concerns Laado 2 and Ammaji. I have made more news off screen than on it. As far as the rumour of me quitting the show is concerned, I would say that Meghna Malik, Ammaji and Laado... are inseparable and synonymous with one another. I was accused of being insecure. Well, insecurity is a toilet paper I shove up my a*** every day since I came to Mumbai from a small town. People also said that I was not ready to shoot my death sequence and creating problems for the producer by not reporting on the set. The truth is, I was hospitalised following a severe viral infection and bedridden for six days. The producers knew of my condition. I don't know what pleasure people get by maligning my image, which has been built on the basis of my work. I have survived in the industry for 19 long years because of my professionalism. How can I quit a show, in which my character is going to die? I can't continue to shoot after the character's death, right? My association with the show has ended."