Saintly approach

radhikarani thumbnail
Anniversary 15 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 10 years ago

Saintly approach

Saturday, 12 October 2013 | Pioneer

Himanshu Soni from Jaipur will be playing the role of Gautama Siddhartha in the ongoing television series, Buddha. He told Iknoor Kaur that playing the character has changed him as a person

When Himanshu Soni stepped in to audition for the role of Gautama Siddhartha in the ongoing television series, Buddha, he had no idea about the personality or the life of the saint. It was only when he managed to make it through the look test that the Jaipur boy did his research and stayed up through uncountable nights understanding Buddha's personality. "Once I went for the audition I had made up my mind that this is what I want to do. I studied Gautama Buddha's nature thoroughly. After a month or so was the look test and I got through. God has been very kind," he shared. The show that airs at 11 am every Sunday on Zee TV will reveal Himanshu as Gautama Siddhartha tomorrow.

According to the actor as the series is progressing his life is also significantly changing. He said, "I can see the changes that happened in Buddha's life very closely. When you read something with so much depth and then play the character, it definitely changes you along the line. There is definitely an impact on my life. I have changed a lot as a person."

Himanshu added that earlier he was extremely naughty and troublesome. "This character has made me extremely calm and has helped me get rid of my bad habits. Earlier I used to even tease people unnecessarily and I created a havoc wherever I went. But now I have realised that was very wrong," he shared.