SS: Dear Diary... Part 14 Upd 11/30 Pg 66

Posted: 12 years ago
Part 1 And it begun...

She never thought she would go against her sister's wishes, but she had to. It was the only way her Channi would have the 'right' future.

Had it been anyone else, she would have pulled stunts nothing short of the pentagon to make certain he would disappear off the face of earth. But Maan was as adorable as brother-in-law's came. Perhaps even a little too soft spoken for an attorney by profession and that she'd been sure was how he'd talked his way into her sister's heart. Her resistance to welcome Maan into the family had withered away to nothingness when she'd seen her Channi Di smile...smile in a way that didn't put those strain lines around her lips, as if the smile lowered itself onto her face with such tenderness that it unfurled with the same promising stillness of those soft wet flower petals that unveiled itself on a dewy winter morning. It had been sign enough of all the happiness that was to come in her sister's life. And she'd finally, albeit reluctantly began to understand her sister would have to leave their home someday. That she'd live to see a day in her life that wouldn't start and end with her Di...

But Gurvinder had showed up just then, precisely at a time when everything was falling into place. And the smile on her sister's face...the one she'd come to sluice her strength from, for surviving a lone future, had disappeared as if it hadn't been there to start with. She would have left things at that, had it not been for the mutiny her sister lived with towards her own self. Maan, according to her sister had been where her heart would be with some time, but Gurvinder...is where her heart already was. Who would have known such realizations came at the most inopportune of times? Driving her to conclude that the smile she'd thought was the promise of a blissful future had been just that...A promising hope and nothing more.