xobile thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: ssk13809

No one is comparing her to Udit Narayan. You are acting like Alka Yagnik sang with her and overshadowed her.

I've said that Uditji overshadowed Anuradha - i.e. she didn't express her lines as well as possible, because right next to her was a singer who was singing those same lines with more feel.

Alkaji expressed her lyrics with more flair and consistency.

And you're right - JUST because Anuradha got overshadowed by Udit in expressions, it doesn't mean she was automatically worse than Alka too.

But the fact is, Anuradha WAS worse than Alka in the expressions department.

xobile thumbnail

Originally posted by: brahmabul

Here we go again. Himesh ji and Anu ji are at loggerheads again. Ek Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag thi aur yahan Risingabove Ki Aag...😉

Yeh toh batao Gabbar kaun hai yahaan??

PS: I've posted a Sonu-Anu song in the Anu Malik appreciation thread 😊
risingabove thumbnail
Anniversary 15 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: xobile

It'll be really interesting if there is a tie-break between Alka and Anuradha.

In the 90's Anuradha Paudwal would use her influence at T-Series to dub others' songs. So even though music directors would choose Alka Yagnik to sing their songs, they would be forced by the casette company to dub the songs with Anuradha's voice. (She even forced Anu Malik to dub over Lataji's voice with her own, but that's another story...)

Then when Alka was a big name in herself, she could afford to resist these dubbings - and we ended up with two versions of the same song - one by Alka, another by Anuradha.

So if we could compare them on the same song, it would make the tie break round very interesting!

Well let me just say, because I did some early score computations .But right now the score between Alka and Sunidhi is very close. (I won't say how close, it could be 0.2, 0.1, or even 0)...So there could be a tie there. Because, even though Alka got lower scores from the judges, she got higher in Audience.

Yes it's possible that Anuradha could enter the same range for another close situation. But we don't know her scores yet. Alisha maybe too could enter that range. Shreya and Sadhna an outside chance, but they seem pretty safe.
brahmabul thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

In the 90's Anuradha Paudwal would use her influence at T-Series to dub others' songs. So even though music directors would choose Alka Yagnik to sing their songs, they would be forced by the casette company to dub the songs with Anuradha's voice. (She even forced Anu Malik to dub over Lataji's voice with her own, but that's another story...)

Then when Alka was a big name in herself, she could afford to resist these dubbings - and we ended up with two versions of the same song - one by Alka, another by Anuradha.

So if we could compare them on the same song, it would make the tie break round very interesting!

Ohhh...can you tell me any song now which has been sung by both of them?
ssk13809 thumbnail
Anniversary 15 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail

I've said that Uditji overshadowed Anuradha - i.e. she didn't express her lines as well as possible, because right next to her was a singer who was singing those same lines with more feel.

Alkaji expressed her lyrics with more flair and consistency.

And you're right - JUST because Anuradha got overshadowed by Udit in expressions, it doesn't mean she was automatically worse than Alka too.

But the fact is, Anuradha WAS worse than Alka in the expressions department.

Yes I might agree with expressions, but the singing aspect, no.
Edited by ssk13809 - 14 years ago
xobile thumbnail

Originally posted by: brahmabul

Ohhh...can you tell me any song now which has been sung by both of them?

Off the top of my head, the 'Dil' soundtrack by Anand-Milind comes to mind... Lemme check up on that....

UPDATE:

1. Anuradha dubbed over Alka in Anand-Milind's 'Dil' and Alka was unable to get her songs retained.

2. Anuradha also dubbed over Lataji in Anu Malik's 'Radha Ka Sangam' and Anu was too small a name to put up a fight.

3. Anuradha again dubbed over Alka in Dilip-Sameer's 'Itihaas', but this time Alka protested and her versions were retained too.

Check out smashits.com, where 3 songs are by Anuradha and 5 by Alka. (http://ww.smashits.com/music/hindi-film/songs/18356/itihaas.html)

But planetbollywood.com's music review for Itihaas says that ALL 8 songs are by Alka.
(http://www.planetbollywood.com/music/itihaas.html)

So there is a possibility that 3 songs were released with BOTH singers.

Edited by xobile - 14 years ago
brahmabul thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

Yeh toh batao Gabbar kaun hai yahaan??

PS: I've posted a Sonu-Anu song in the Anu Malik appreciation thread 😊

Gabbar is one and only Producer ji...😛
Sab unhi ki kripa se ho raha hain...

Ohh..lemme check...
Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 4
I guess now I really have to justify my ratings since some people just can't learn to respect what other people have to say. Its like everyone has to be on the same page and rate exactly the same. And thanks for putting all the blame on me, SSK. What great sportsmanship you show!

Ahh Rani song! <3 Anyways I agree that Udit ji totally overshadowed Anuradha ji in this song. The opening of the song was so well executed by Udit ji. I think Anuradha ji is really good with the slow, sad songs. For example I absolutely love these songs:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DD17EFRr3b8&feature=fvst

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mS4ZNxqr_DM

I felt she lacked in a lot of portions in this particular song. She made a really good attempt at singing the song. It wasn't a bad attempt, but Udit ji really did overshadow her. Udit ji hit every note on the right key, whereas I felt Anuradha ji struggled a bit. I don't want to give Anuradha ji a low score because I think she attempted the song really well, but if I gave Sunidhi 7, I must rate this one a 6 unfortunately.

Final Rating: 6
Edited by Cutiepie Rani - 14 years ago
ssk13809 thumbnail
Yeah guys, CPR giving Alka a 8, and Anuradha a 6 has nothing to do with her being Alka's biggest fan, and seeing that Alka might get eliminated this round. It almost seems like I saw a +1 for Alka added at the end, and a -1 for Anuradha. But that can't be the case. It has nothing to do with who is her favorite singer. Nope, nothing to do with that. Nothing at all. I mean, BIG coincidence here. That's all.
ssk13809 thumbnail

Alka Yagnik would lose to Anuradha Paudwal