Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
πŸ˜†

Word Count: 0

Indradhanush thumbnail

Originally posted by: ReemAnshu

Dear ID, with regards to your comments above, I too love some of these compasitions and listen to them when I feel like. I have dedicated 6 years of my life to music and was a student of Nayan Ghosh (I feel you are the only one whom I surely dont need to tell who he is). When you praise someone and say he or she is CLASS and dont like someone else, it is fine. But my only point is that in this world not all people have the same taste, if you dont enjoy HR's music quality then that does not mean that there is no one who does. His Sale of the music does show that there are many who find Quality in his music (maybe not all who buy his CDs but deff there must be many)
Why have this attitude that we are class and he is trash (which some people have here). If you dont like him fine, but dont force your will and generalise it for others.
I truely believe that most of his compositions are raag based and have something unique about them. I may not be a great fan of his singing (i think he is good in some songs and I loved his rendition of 'yehi hota pyaar hai kya' from Namaste London). People feel that his music is only electronic and beats but not all songs are like that, he uses a lot of Indian instruments in his songs. He also uses a lot of Arabic and Oriental music.
I am not saying that album sales are the only criteria, all I am saying is that people can have different choices and you must respect individual choices. Looking down on them and saying that his music is Trash or he is Not a CLASS person etc is sort of insulting those people who think differently. You can always be a critic and not like it, but there is a better way of expressing it.

1. His music is for lower class was not stated by me, I typed something said by Javed Akhtar in coffe with karan about HR
2. IMHO most of the HR songs are based on Aeolian mode with hardly any use of raaga.
3. OK to each his own pls tell me why ARR has got so many awards in last 15 years,. do you think HR can match this in same time period, if this is not about quality what is it (Ok lets put class aside):

This page presents a list of awards and nominations awarded to film composer and instrumentalist A. R. Rahman.

• 2000 - Padma Shri (India)
    National Film Awards (India)
      1993 - National Film Award for Best Music Direction - Roja 1997 - National Film Award for Best Music Direction - Minsaara Kanavu
    • 2002 - National Film Award for Best Music Direction - Lagaan
    • 2003 - National Film Award for Best Music Direction - Kannathil Muthamittal
    Filmfare Awards South (India)
      1993 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Roja 1994 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Gentleman 1995 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Kadhalan 1996 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Bombay 1997 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Kadhal Desam 1998 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Minsaara Kanavu 1999 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Jeans 2000 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Mudhalvan 2001 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Alaipayuthey
    • 2006 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Sillunu Oru Kadhal
    • 2007 - Filmfare Best Music Direction - Sivaji
    Filmfare Awards (India)
      1995 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Rangeela 1998 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Dil Se 1999 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Taal 2001 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Lagaan 2002 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Saathiya 2002 - Filmfare Best Background Score - The Legend of Bhagat Singh 2004 - Filmfare Best Background Score - Swades 2006 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Rang de Basanti He also won a "Filmfare R D Burman Music Debutant Award" for Roja's dubbed Hindi version.
    • 2007 - Filmfare Best Music Director Award - Guru
    • 2007 - Filmfare Best Background Score - Guru

[1]

Tamil Nadu State Film Awards
      1993 - Best Music - Roja 1994 - Best Music - Gentleman 1995 - Best Music - Kadhalan 1996 - Best Music - Bombay
    • 1997 - Best Music - Minsaara Kanavu
    • 2000 - Best Music - Sangamam
    Zee Cine Awards (India)
      2000 - ** 2002 - Zee Cine Award Best Music Director - Lagaan 2007 - Zee Cine Award Best Music Director - Rang de Basanti 2008 - Zee Cine Award Best Music Director - Guru
    • 2008 - Zee Cine Award Best Background Music - Guru
    GIFA Awards (Malaysia)
    • 2006 - GIFA Award for Best Music - Rang de Basanti
    • 2006 - GIFA Award for Best Background Music - Rang de Basanti
    IIFA Awards (India)
      2008 - Outstanding contribution by an Indian in International Cinema 2008 - IIFA Best Music Direction - Guru 2008 - IIFA Best Background Music - Guru 2007 - IIFA Best Music Direction - Rang de Basanti 2002 - IIFA Best Music Direction - Lagaan
    • 2003 - IIFA Best Music Direction - Saathiya
    • 2000 - IIFA Best Music Direction - Taal
    Star Screen Awards
      2002 - Best Background Music 2007 - Best Background Music- Rang de Basanti
    • 2007 - Best Music - Rang de Basanti
    • 2008 - Best Music - Guru
    Vijay TV Awards
    • 2006 - Best Music- Sillunu Oru Kaadhal , Varalaru - The History of the Godfather
    • 2007 - Best Music- Sivaji
  • Swaralaya Yesudas Award (India)
    • 2006 - Swaralaya-Kairali-Yesudas Award for outstanding performance in music field

Screen-Videocon Awards Kadhal Desam (South - Tamil; 1997) Minsara Kanavu (South - Tamil; 1998) Vande Mataram (Non-film; 1998) Taal (Hindi; 2000) Other Awards was (The Hilton Award) for "Best New Musical of 2002" - Bombay Dreams Musical

Sangeet Awards 2005 Best Music Director (Film music - Swades)

The Mahavir-Mahatma Award (Instituted by the Oneness Forum)

National Lata Mangeshkar awards for 2004-05 ( The awards instituted by Madhya Pradesh government )

Sangeet Awards 2004 Best Music Director (Film music - Yuva) Best music arranger (Critics award) for 'Yeh Rishta' - Meenakshi 2004 American India Awards R D Burman Award at the SuMu Music Awards (1993) Madras Telugu Academy Puraskar (1992 to 1994) Bommai Nagi Reddy Award (1995/96) Lux-Kumudam Award for Kadhalan (1995) Mauritius National Award (1995; for contribution to music) Malaysian Award (1996; for contribution to music) Sanskriti Award from Delhi based Sanskriti foundation (1994) Kalaimamani Award from Tamil Nadu Government (1995) Thangapillai Award Rajiv Gandhi Award 3rd Channel [V] Awards - Coca Cola Viewer's Choice Award 1998 The Channel [V]-IMI Award for Best Producer for Vandemataram 1998 Fanta Award in 1999 Stardust Cine Honours Taal (2000) Filmgoers's Award Taal (2000) First Bollywood Music Awards (Best Music Director and Best Song) Taal (2000) V Shantaram Award: Taal (2001), Best Music(Guru)2006-2007 Bollywood US Awards (2003) Best Music Director : Saathiya 8th Annual Planet-Bollywood Awards (People's Choice Awards! - Best of 2002) Best Music Direction : Saathiya, The Legend of Bhagat Singh Star Screen Award - Best Background Score - Rang De Basanti

Dinakaran Cine Awards Minsara Kanavu (1998) Jeans (1999) Mudalvan, Kadhalar Dhinam (2000)

MTV Awards MTV-VMA Award for Dil Se Re song from Dil Se.. 1999 MTV Asia Awards 2003 for Favourite Artist India MTV IMMIES 2003 - Best Music Composer - 'Saathiya' - Saathiya ( Hindi )

A. R. Rahman has been nominated for the following awards:

• Laurence Olivier Awards (UK)
    • 2003 - Laurence Olivier Theatre Award for Best New Musical - Bombay Dreams
    Dora Mavor Moore Awards (Canada)
    • 2006 - General Theatre Division - Outstanding Musical Direction - The Lord of the Rings musical
  • MTV youth icon award in 2
200467 thumbnail

Copy cat ! Kuch alag karna tha na ! (Just Joking). Its good, hasna acha hota hai, usse lungs strong hote hain !
Not really. You were just 'amused" wheras I was ROFLingπŸ˜†
This clearly looks that you seem to have no point on this one. You make the mistake for comparing actors which are the best in the country and are like 200 + films old. Then when I point out the mistake, you look to be saying something more confusing. You say "they both started out as new comers" well what is the meaning of this only god knows ! IF THEY ARE STARTING OF THEN THEY OBVIOUSLY ARE NEW COMERS NA ??? HOW CAN YOU START OF AS A VETERAN !!!
πŸ˜†
You did not point out the "mistake". You missed the drivel. They are esteblished NOW because they are and were comfortable in their own skin whereas HR is still not - clear enough nowπŸ˜›
Again you go with you CLASS thing and call Aftab a B Class actor. I have not learnt much about the class of Aftab or HR or AB but I have learnt this much over the years (and this is my learning) that trying to give classes to people and looking down upon them, is not the CLASSIEST thing to do !
So, you put Aftab in the same league as AB? Since you seem to be so avers to this word "class"' let's try some synonyms so that you at least get the point😳
READ THE ABOVE COMMENT ONCE MORE.... need I say more. Just one more thing, what I have understood from your last posts, you are calling Amitabh as TOP CLASS. Well all I can say is that he has never called anyone low class or looked down upon them. Even when there were nasty comments against him and his family, he called people as RAJA and HIMSELF as RANK. As I said, people who are successful and dignified, do not dole out Sub-classes to others.
Don't know what AB says or calls others is relevant here All I am saying is he had class as a new comer and he has it now. Now, would you mind paying attention to what all HR keeps saying on TV? I am totally ignoring the print media here as they have this tendency to twist statements to suit their own need - kinda like you are doing here with us non-fans' postsπŸ˜› Tell me one single scene from SRGMP where HR showed he has some classπŸ˜†
Even if he does not look good, he still has the right to try. Fashion karna kisi ki jagir nahi hai. Sab ko haq hai. Some people find the cheap clothing of Malaika which shows more and covers less as classy. And then there are many who think she is crossing limits. Sab ka apna choice hai.
πŸ˜†πŸ˜† woh hee toh. Sab ka apna choice hai and people's hoice reflects their class...or lack of it like we see in HR's costume choicesπŸ˜‰πŸ˜†
FOr you salman khan is Class and comfortable in his Skin !!! I wonder if he so comfortable in his skin (like u say) then why does he go killing extinct animals and de-skining them ! Then he displays utter 'class' when he runs away in jeep with villagers chasing him. His class is further displayed when he drinks like crazy, runs over 4 people, beats his girlfriend in Public, punches reporters in the face. Kya CLASS HAI BHAI !!!
πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† lets stick to comparing the show he is doing currently and the movies he has done till date to HR's shows and other professional pursuitsπŸ˜† Have you seen Sallu screaming off his lungs on dus ka dum while claiming to assure someones roti or get some one's pyarπŸ˜‰
Agar yeh class hai, toh acha hai ki 'aisa class' HR ke paas nahi hai. As it is there are a handful of chinkara's left.
ANd yes, when Sunny Deol was dancing on 'yara o yara' sure he was not making a fool of himself !
still have to see Sunny making a fool of himself on a reality t.v. show. Even with his flops, I am sure he is a far better treat to eyes than watching a girlie bald person in a wig with an emotionless constipated looking faceπŸ˜†πŸ˜†
WOw ! you are so much in love with the word Class. I dont know you and I am sure u r a sweet girl. All I can say is, beta tum kis Class main ho ??? 10th class, 12th class ya phir usse bhi choti ho ? πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†
IGNORED. Lets refrain from making personal comments here.
If you think that people with your opinion is in majority, then prove it with logical reasoning not with a random comment.
That was a logical comment for which you had no counter. That's why you stooped to getting personal. You don't see me passing remarks on your tatse/class/age/sweetness etc. People usually resort to personal attacks when they are at a loss for words😳
Because your point is not based on any logical reasoning, it has no 'thos aadhar'. You dont read my posts carefully, I have never said that the sale of album is indicator of Talent. I only have said sale of album is an indicator about the no of people who like the music or the artist.
...and I have said time and again that all these sales were fad sales. 5 years down the road, you won't see any of these albums selling. Sonu's, another HR contemporary, songs and albums sell consistently and people all ages and from all classes buy them. Taxiwallahs and autowallahs will stop playing HR's songs the moment something new hit the stand. We have seen the exact same thing happen to Nazia and Zoheb;s Hassan's music and cassettes..although, both of them displayed a lot more class than HR, their "music" was a fad too and was not high quality.
All I can say is that if you have a show of Ravi Shankar and one of HR, i have no doubt that which show will draw a bigger audience. But it does not indicate talent. It only indicates that there are more people (today) who like HR's music or want to hear it more than RAvi Shankar's. Even in Mumbai, if you have an open free concert of both the performers, there will be a vast diff in the no of people attending both.
If people are liking HR only today, as you mentioned, then it's clear that the guy lacks talent. If he had talent, he would have been evergreen forever. Looks like you are agreeing with us that all this HR craze is a result of fad and clever marketing and will fade sooner than expected.
Again, just random comment with no reasoning. You say that the music is forgotten when the head of the country is asking only his music.
Kyoon bhai, head of the country hain toh kya sab ka taste represent karteen hain? Last I knew, she was not elected by public based on her taste in music. And here you are, calling my points randomπŸ˜†
Do you agree with me or not when I say, "Bhappi's songs like I am disco dancer are not popular today"
Answer in YES or NO and you'll see who is being random here😊
His Kaliyon Ka chaman was even copied in the west as recently as a few years ago. I wonder how many of musicians can boast of that. I dont think u r from India, but if you come to mumbai and visit the most happening Disc in Mumbai (Poison, which is owned by DJ Akeel) then you will know who plays more there - HR & Bappi da or any one else.
I am from India. I just do not live in India. I refuse to call the remix songs played in discotheque quality music. I reiterate once again - do not confuse "High Sales" with "Qulity Music". ARR songs are played in discotheques too and are hot favorites. ARR also makes songs to which the commoners dance along (pappu can't dance sala) but he does not restrict himself to only these songs. He does not stiffle his creativity by making only that kind of music which will sell as a fad. He gives high quality compositions as well. Same is true for RDB. HR, on the contrary is too focussed on cash cow and is neglecting quality. It doesn't get any more logical or concrete than this. Call it 'random" if you wish but deep down you know it's a fact.
πŸ˜›
JUST TO MAKE MY POINT CLEAR :
Loved & Popular = HR / Bappi Da / Sonu
I wouldn't insult Sonu by taking his name in the same line as HRπŸ˜† and I don't think HR is loved eitherπŸ˜†
Crass : Those people who refer to others as crass (in my opinion only)
This is where the billi wala muhawara applies. You used it out of context above. Aankh band ker leney HR ki class badhney wali naheenπŸ˜›πŸ˜†

Word Count: 0

trishancku thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail

Because your point is not based on any logical reasoning, it has no 'thos aadhar'. You dont read my posts carefully, I have never said that the sale of album is indicator of Talent. I only have said sale of album is an indicator about the no of people who like the music or the artist.
All I can say is that if you have a show of Ravi Shankar and one of HR, i have no doubt that which show will draw a bigger audience. But it does not indicate talent. It only indicates that there are more people (today) who like HR's music or want to hear it more than RAvi Shankar's. Even in Mumbai, if you have an open free concert of both the performers, there will be a vast diff in the no of people attending both.

Why only HR and Ravishankar, if there is one more of Rakhi Sawant or any of the item girls we would have even bigger audience than ....miya's. πŸ˜‰ Hai na? Lagta hai bechare Pt. Ravishankar ji ko sitar bech ke koi naya dandha shuru karna padega.😭

JMLR!
Summer3 thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: trishanku3

Why only HR and Ravishankar, if there is one more of Rakhi Sawant or any of the item girls we would have even bigger audience than ....miya's. πŸ˜‰ Hai na? Lagta hai bechare Pt. Ravishankar ji ko sitar bech ke koi naya dandha shuru karna padega.😭

JMLR!

triskanu Shaab still arguing with ladies.πŸ˜†
punjini thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
I have selected the comments below that made a lot of sense to me.

Originally posted by: Gauri_3

Tell me one single scene from SRGMP where HR showed he has some classπŸ˜†
...and I have said time and again that all these sales were fad sales. 5 years down the road, you won't see any of these albums selling. Sonu's, another HR contemporary, songs and albums sell consistently and people all ages and from all classes buy them. Taxiwallahs and autowallahs will stop playing HR's songs the moment something new hit the stand. We have seen the exact same thing happen to Nazia and Zoheb;s Hassan's music and cassettes..although, both of them displayed a lot more class than HR, their "music" was a fad too and was not high quality.
Looks like you are agreeing with us that all this HR craze is a result of fad and clever marketing and will fade sooner than expected.
Kyoon bhai, head of the country hain toh kya sab ka taste represent karteen hain? Last I knew, she was not elected by public based on her taste in music. And here you are, calling my points randomπŸ˜†
I am from India. I just do not live in India. I refuse to call the remix songs played in discotheque quality music. I reiterate once again - do not confuse "High Sales" with "Qulity Music". ARR songs are played in discotheques too and are hot favorites. ARR also makes songs to which the commoners dance along (pappu can't dance sala) but he does not restrict himself to only these songs. He does not stiffle his creativity by making only that kind of music which will sell as a fad. He gives high quality compositions as well. Same is true for RDB. HR, on the contrary is too focussed on cash cow and is neglecting quality. It doesn't get any more logical or concrete than this. Call it 'random" if you wish but deep down you know it's a fact.
Aankh band ker leney HR ki class badhney wali naheenπŸ˜›πŸ˜†

punjini thumbnail
Indradhanush ji, can you clarify this a bit more?
"IMHO most of the HR songs are based on Aeolian mode with hardly any use of raaga."
Indradhanush thumbnail

Originally posted by: punjini

Indradhanush ji, can you clarify this a bit more?

"IMHO most of the HR songs are based on Aeolian mode with hardly any use of raaga."

as you know punjini this is asawari thaat.
most of the songs of HR like naam hai tera, or soniye ji tere naal start on Aeolian mode and mostly end there, something most of the pianists call D to next D (safed paanchi), his chord progressions are standrard and predictable, normally he doesn't go out of this structrue: Dminor/B Flat/C Major and again D Minor with some variation, it is unusual to come across komal swaras when he is using a major scale like C Major, one such example though is purab se )Benaras). AFAI have heard him he has not ventured towards poorvi or todi thaat.
when you come across a composer like ARR his chord structure often keeps you guessing what is next and usually complicated, like he liberally uses 7th/9th notes over root chord, of course master of this art was R D Burman who used unusual chords over string instruments in a haywire way but all sounding very smooth, I haven't come across any composer who had such a mastery over weird chords as R D Burman.
This is not my opinion alone, I have discussed this with few other keyboarders, one of the IF members mdroy (who is fully accomplished pianist) also thinks on similar line.
Edited by Indradhanush - 15 years ago
Indradhanush thumbnail
If any one writes down solfege notation from songs of his recent film like Karzzzzzzzzzzzz: most of them eg lut jaun, tandoori knights, are based on Aeolian mode.
punjini thumbnail
Thanks! I think you have analysed the limitations in Himesh's music brilliantly.
However, I would like to add that I am not always impressed by AR Rahman's unpredictable, complex music. Often, I find it lacks beauty and a soul - it sounds just too 'busy' if I can put it that way.
Coming to RD, I agree with you completely. He could make even the weird chords sound so smooth! How come no one can do it like him? Of course I know he plagiarised a lot; still he could take a basic tune and make it so brilliant.

Originally posted by: Indradhanush

as you know punjini this is asawari thaat.
most of the songs of HR like naam hai tera, or soniye ji tere naal start on Aeolian mode and mostly end there, something most of the pianists call D to next D (safed paanchi), his chord progressions are standrard and predictable, normally he doesn't go out of this structrue: Dminor/B Flat/C Major and again D Minor with some variation, it is unusual to come across komal swaras when he is using a major scale like C Major, one such example though is purab se )Benaras). AFAI have heard him he has not ventured towards poorvi or todi thaat.
when you come across a composer like ARR his chord structure often keeps you guessing what is next and usually complicated, like he liberally uses 7th/9th notes over root chord, of course master of this art was R D Burman who used unusual chords over string instruments in a haywire way but all sounding very smooth, I haven't come across any composer who had such a mastery over weird chords as R D Burman.
This is not my opinion alone, I have discussed this with few other keyboarders, one of the IF members mdroy (who is fully accomplished pianist) also thinks on similar line.