sanober. thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 9 Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 18 years ago
Who is TV's best vamp?

July 10, 2006

So what if Smriti Irani's Tulsi rules television. Soaps would never be the same without its stylish vamps.

Sudha Chandran's Ramila Sikand had set new standards of fashion and hate in Kahin Kissi Roz.

Urvashi Dholakia is still better known as Komolika (after her character in Kasauti Zindagi Kay), and seems to have made a career out of being evil.

Aanchal Dwivedi (Saat Pheri), Achint Kaur (Kahani Ghar Ghar Ki) and Subhavi K (Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi) are the other telly vamps who have become very popular.

sanober. thumbnail
The latest in the ba(n)dwagon is Anchal Dwivedi, who has become famous for her menacing ways as Saloni's bhabhi Kaveri in 'Saat Phere – Saloni Ka Safar'. The girl admits that she was praying to God after the audition when she was told that she would be called back for confirmation. "I wasn't sceptical about playing the role at all or that I will get slotted as a vamp. I think it's more exciting to play a negative role than a positive one. You get to laugh, cry and backbite."

In spite of the kind of popularity that the roles bring, the vamps are always on par, if not above, with the positive characters. As Kruttika says, "I enjoy playing a vamp because the canvas gets really wide. You can experiment with your clothes, makeup, gestures, tone, etc and also, the role is inevitably meatier." As Anchal concludes, "Who wouldn't like to play a positive role? I'm sure every vamp, if given a good author backed positive role would like to do it. But, if I don't get an opportunity, I wouldn't have a problem because the audience has accepted me."
sanober. thumbnail

Driving the positive characters out of home: This is something that keeps happening in every other serial and is hugely inspired by Jeetendra starring remakes of Southern films (no wonder Ekta uses them the most). Most recently, the example of this conspiracy was Saat Phere in which the vamp Kaaveri (Aanchal Dwivedi) who just acts like a good bahu at times and only has evil in her mind, succeeded in getting her husband's mansion transferred in her name and drove her parents-in-law out of the

Being friendly and conspiring at the same time: Staying in the same house, sympathising with the character and plotting and planning against him/her at the same time ?this happens all the time. Of late Kakisaa (Apra Mehta in Saat Phere) is staying as a well-wisher with hero Nahar Singh (Sharad Kelkar)'s family. On one hand, she pretends to think about heroine Saloni (Rajashree Thakur)'s well being while in reality she wants to keep Saloni away from Nahar and wants her own niece (Natasha Singh) married to him.

sanober. thumbnail

Gulam, Begum, Badshah
Starring : Rajpal Yadav, Farhan Khan, Narayani Shastri, Deepshikha, and Kirti Gaekwad.
Director : Dinyar Contractor
Writer : Ajay Khamosh
Purva Desai

Gulam, Begum, Badshah is a romantic comedy presented by Classic Production and is directed by Dinyar Contractor. Dinyar Contractor in this latest show skillfully blends the basic ingredients of deceit, deception and mistaken identity. Revolving around two young couples, the play takes a bizarre turn of events. Raj is married to Isha. On the pretext of going Jogging, Raj meets up with his girlfriend Pooja in his best friend's Flat. Raj's wife Isha is ignorant about these meetings. Raj's best friend Vikram is also having an affair with Raj's wife Isha. The arrangement works well for sometime until Vikram's wife Deepshi returns a little too early from her business trip to Dubai and puts the cat amongst the pigeons. But real complications start when Vikram lies to his wife Deepshi that Raj is suffering from a heart ailment which Raj's wife Isha is not aware of and Pooja is actually a nurse who is attending to Raj.

Vikram fabricates these lies to fool Deepshi in order to save Raj from getting caught by Deepshi. Further complications arise when Deepshi invites Raj with his nurse Pooja, (with Vikram's knowledge) for dinner and Raj's wife Isha unexpectedly drops in at the house. From here on the permutations becomes so intricate that it seems impossible that Raj, Vikram, Isha and Deepshi can ever sort them out. But miraculously they do, so hilariously that the audience will keep rolling with laughter till the play ends. The audience will be encouraged to laugh out loud rather than snigger. It is fast paced, hilarious, boisterously entertaining, rib tickling, rib roaring and an outrageous comedy. The play premieres in Mumbai in the month of April.

sanober. thumbnail
Jamai ho to aisa!
Shameem Khan
Wednesday, August 09, 2006 19:12 IST

Print Article
Most Emailed Articles RSS Feed
Most Viewed Articles Search This Site
< =http://www.google.com/custom method=get 1="http://www.google.com/search">< = value=UTF-8 name=ie> < = value=UTF-8 name=oe> < = value=www.dnaindia.com name=domains> < = value=www.dnaindia.com name=sitesearch> < = value=GALT:#b70000;S:http://www.dnaindia.com/;GL:0;AH:center;LH:138;GFNT:#67679c;L:http://www.dnaindia.com/images/dna-search.gif;LW:760;AWFID:4ee9c210b45a3f1c; name=cof> < id=q ="if(this.value=='Search this site')this.value=''" maxLength=255 size=15 name=q> </>
< =text/> < src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" =text/> < name=google_ads_ marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-8331061652869281&dt=1157373736958&lmt=1157373736&alternate_ad_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dnaindia.com%2Fgoogle_adsense_.&at=250x250_as&output=&channel=3461405528&url=http%3A%2F%2F72.14.209.104%2Fsearch%3Fq%3Dcache%3A6H4jwHe64EEJ%3Awww.dnaindia.com%2Freport.asp%253FNewsID%253D1046286%2Bkirti%2Bgaekwad%26hl%3Den%26gl%3Dae%26ct%3Dclnk%26cd%3D16&color_bg=FFFFFF&color_text=444444&color_link=00306F&color_url=00306F&color_border=FFFFFF&ad_=text_image&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.ae%2Fsearch%3Fq%3Dkirti%2Bgaekwad%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26start%3D10%26sa%3DN&cc=226&u_h=600&u_w=800&u_ah=570&u_aw=800&u_cd=32&u_tz=240&u_his=20&u_java=true" Border=0 width=250 scrolling=no height=250 allowTransparency></>

Playing Nahar Singh in the popular show 'Saat Phere' (Zee) has won actor Sharad Kelkar massive female votes.

"Women want a son-in-law like me. I often hear them remark, 'Jamai ho to aisa!' Recently, I was in the US and girls there were heartbroken to hear that I was married," reveals Sharad excitedly.

He continues, "I auditioned for the part on the recommendation of my friend and actor Shweta Kawaatra who was also a part of the show earlier. I suited the role of a Rajasthani aristocrat perefectly."

Sharad has no qualms doing a woman-oriented show. He reasons, "All the characters are as important as Saloni (Rajashree Thakur). So there is a lot of scope to emote."
Speaking about his team he says, "There's a lot of fun and games on the sets without any ego hassles. Rajashree and I get along well. We are like two mischievous kids set on the loose."

Incidentally, Sharad has done shows 'Aakrosh' (DD), 'Bhabhi' (Star Plus) 'CID Special Squad' (Sony) and 'Sinndoor Tere Naam Ka'(Zee) earlier. He holds fond memories of 'Aakrosh' because he met his wife and actor Kirti Gaekwad on the sets of this show.

He recalls, "There were absolutely no vibes between us at that time. It was only later when we were called to audition for 'CID' that the sparks flew. Though I got selected, Kirti didn't fit in because of her soft features. But the meeting did bring us come closer."

Married for a year now, Nahaar is blissful. "I would love to spend more time with my wife. I was working for two dailies which meant 16 hours of work. I have given up one show and am concentrating only on 'Saat Phere'," says the devoted husband.

sanober. thumbnail
Winning Moves: Sharad Kelkar
Text by Jayashree Menon and Photographs by Ankur Chaturvedi
Published: Volume 14, Issue 2, March-April, 2006

National award-winning actor and a man of many roles, Sharad Kelkar, is capitalising on his chemistry with the camera

Originally a Gwalior guy, Sharad Kelkar, is a Grasim Mr India finalist; an MBA in marketing and now, the undisputed hunk factor of two Zee serials - Sindoor and Saat Phere. His journey into showbiz began with advertising. A small cameo in the offbeat National Award-winning Marathi film, Uttarayan, whetted his appetite and he started doing the rounds of production houses.
A cop's role in Akrosh, a few episodes in Bhabhi and Sharad's television innings was off to a good start. Along the way he met and married TV actor, Kirti Gaekwad. The twosome continues their romance as an on-screen couple in Sindoor. With him doing two dailies and the missus doing three, quality time together is a premium.

Dhruvie thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail

Yeh haathi nahi Sharad ka saathi
By: Tushar Joshi
January 20, 2006

Sharad Kelkar on the sets of Saat Phere
We have heard of stars and actors walking out of shoots. But ever heard about an elephant who threw a tantrum by making an exit from the show? The incident happened on the sets of Zee's Saat Phere where actor Sharad Kelkar and others were shooting for a wedding scene.

Elephant kidnaps actors

As per the script Nahar (Sharad) was set to make a grand entry in the mandap on the back of an elephant named Pajmala. However what followed was something the scriptwriter hadn't pencilled in.

Not only did Pajmala walk out the set with Sharad and another child actor, Gaurav Bajaj, on his back but also refused to sit down and let them get off.

Nakhrewala haathi

An eyewitness from the show describes the scene, "It was one of the most hilarious as well as scary things I have ever seen.

Something was wrong with the elephant that night, as he refused to follow the instructions of the mahout.

When he was told to walk through the gate towards the mandap the animal refused. Then it started moving around on its own will, with Sharad and Gaurav still sitting on it back. Everyone was worried that the matter would go out of control."

We hear that it took almost six hours to can that one shot which needed the elephant. "Since Sharad was already on the elephant in his costume, we couldn't shoot him separately. Also getting him off the back of the animal was another experience altogether."

Animal gave attitude

When asked about the trauma he went through, Sharad laughingly said, "It was the most stubborn elephant I have ever seen. Not only did it show me attitude but also ended up giving me a horrible back pain. Initially, when I sat on him with Gaurav, everything seemed normal. However, within minutes we realised the animal was on its own trip. It was not obeying the mahout."

What were the exact thoughts in his mind when it happened? "I was nervous, as Gaurav was scared, and crying. It took more than an hour for the animal to sit down and let us off. Till then my back was aching tremendously as I was sitting in an awkward position. Trust me an elephant's back isn't one of the most comfortable places."

He wasn't trained

Sharad had to eventually jump off the elephant's back while it was standing. "I had no other option but to jump. I couldn't afford to sit there waiting for the animal to sit down. I think it wasn't well trained which is why the fiasco happened."
Edited by Dhruvie - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
Aditi Pratap turns anchor!

Aditi Pratap who's currently been seen in Zee TV's Saat Phere is now out to shed her image of the archetypal trouble creating maike-staying sis-in-law. The actor is all set to anchor a weekend special show for Zee on the recently concluded Wills Lifestyle India Fashion Week show in the capital.

The actor enthuses, " I consider myself very lucky to be the chosen one and to officially anchor the one-hour show. It was a pleasant diversion from the tear-jerking family soaps and I really enjoyed hosting the show that will be telecast this weekend. I love clothes and variety in designs, so I was thrilled when I got to wear outfits designed by the renowned designers who participated in the fashion event."

Stylist Anaita Shroff put together seven different designers and Aditi was draped in garments designed by Rocky S, Nikhiland Shantanu Mehra, Ashish Soni, Rana Gill, Manish Arora and the inimitable Manish Malhotra. She finds the Delhiites to be very chic, fashion conscious and a very enthusiastic audience. Manish Malhotra's grand finale was simply amazing!" she exclaims.

Aditi Pratap plays the role of sister-in-law, who stays with her husband and son in her brothers' house, of the protagonist Saloni in Saat Phsere on Zee TV. The shades of her character vary from good to bad to confused.She is also seen as Simran Ahuja, an art dealer, in the afternoon serial Rishton Ki Dor on Sony where, " The track is getting pretty interesting as I play this lively and independent girl with a broken engagement to Kabir (Rushab Rana). I am also one of the prime suspects in the murder case of Kabir's sister Tara."

By GITA HARI
Posted on 7 September 2006 7:00 pm
Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
shruti thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Engager 4 Thumbnail + 9
Snippets

Rakesh Bapat admires producer Sunjoy Wadhwa but refuses to work any further in his show Saat Phere. The actor is quitting the show mainly because he is not happy with the way his role has shaped up in the serial. "I've reached a stage where I'm simply not satisfied with my role in Saat Phere. It fails to fulfill my creative energies. The track went well for a long time but somehow there isn't much for me to do in the show. Also, I cannot relate to Neel as a person. I don't hold anybody responsible for this decision.

This is the way television functions here, though I'd love to work with Sunjoy in future," says Rakesh who will shoot for ten more days for the show. Rakesh had taken a break from Saat Phere for one month when he was busy shooting for his film Jai Santoshi Maa. Later, he started shooting again from July so that his character gets terminated from the show in a proper fashion. The actor is currently gearing up for a Canadian film titled If I Could Love You More produced by Canadian Film Association and directed by Pasha John

shruti thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Engager 4 Thumbnail + 9

Aditi's pyjama party

The actress was locked out of her hotel room in the middle of the night

Sapana Patil Poojary

This year's Wills India Fashion Week might not have had its share of model wardrobe malfunction stories to tell, but for Aditi Pratap (Aditi of Saat Phere...), it was not sans any embarrassing moments. Aditi who was there to present a section in the Fashion Week was left locked outside of her hotel room in the middle of the night.

Recounting the incident, Aditi says, "Before I flew to Delhi, I had a very hectic schedule for Saat Phere... I had not rested between the two assignments. Moreover, once I was at the event, there was hardly any time to rest because of the innumerable parties and events that had to be attended. After a hard day's work, all I wanted to do was to retire to my room. That night I reached my hotel room at 2 am. Once in bed I saw a used dinner plate at by bedside. I was furious at the room service and because I am a hygiene freak, I thought I should leave it outside my room for them to collect in the morning. So I stepped outside and laid the plate down, but once I turned back I realised that I had got locked out and didn't have the keys with me."

Dressed in her pyjamas, she was caught off guard.

"I was scared at that moment. I was standing in the middle of the foyer of the hotel that was hosting the dignitaries and models for the event. I was so embarrassed. I kept praying that no one from the fashion fraternity would catch sight of me."

However, she called for help immediately but there was no house phone on the floor. "I was shocked and felt helpless. As luck could have it, one of the hotel employee was making his rounds. But he refused to help me saying that I would personally have to go to the reception to get the duplicate keys. Finally, a couple who was passing came to my rescue. I finally slept at 5 in the morning and resumed work the next day with hardly any sleep!"