Part 28 - Tears are a part of Love
Readers, am sorry I haven't given my usual morning update today. Was completely busy at work. As you know, we do have to work for a living 😃. Given a choice I would prefer to read and write all day long 😉. Scroll down, read, and enjoy!
Astha managed to calm down her sobs. She changed and came out. She was drying her hair in front of the mirror when Kalindi came into her room. Kalindi saw her tear stricken eyes, blotchy nose and knew Astha had been crying.
"Kya hua? Bathaa tho sahi!" Kalindi's voice was ringing with concern and maternal worry.
Astha turned around and narrated everything in a very dull voice. While she was in the shower Shlok had given several missed calls. Astha completely ignored it. Finally she switched off her mobile and threw it on the bed after she came out.
Kalindi listened to everything and spoke to Astha. "You are an intelligent girl Astha. Do not take any decision in haste. Sometimes what we see is not what it seems. Beta all that I am saying is give Shlok a chance to explain himself."
But Astha was in no mood to listen. She asked her Ayi to give her some time alone. She also asked her not to let Shlok up, knowing he would come to try and convince her. Another part of her was asking. Would he? He who wasn't interested in coming near me and talking to me, but was kissing another girl, would he bother to come at all?
Kalindi accepted her decision and went down. Right on cue Shlok came hurriedly inside their house. "Aunty is Astha here? I tried calling her. She is not picking up and her mobile is now switched off."
"Shlok, what is all this? Astha told me everything. What is happening?"
Shlok sat down with a sigh and narrated whatever happened. Kalindi shook her head and asked him to give sometime for Astha to cool down.
"Beta, if you go and tell her this she will only get furious. I suggest you wait a little bit for her to calm down and rationalize. I know her. She will come around."
Shlok very much wanted to go Astha but he could not go against Kalindi. He got up and turned to go back home with a heavy heart.
He went home and sat quietly with his mom by his side. She coaxed today's happenings out of him. She was partly angry at him and partly feeling sorry for him. "Shlok how can you allow this to happen?"
"Par Ayi..."
"Nahin beta, now Astha is everything for you. You must remember that and conduct yourself."
"For Gods sake Ayi. You speak as if I. Huh!"
He got up with fatigue and frustration. "I am going up Ayi. I don't want dinner." He slowly climbed up the stairs in dejection and went into his room.
His thoughts were whirling around Astha. He was having her glass painting and was looking at their picture in deep thought. He tried calling Astha again. Switched off. Damn! He could not meet her either. Even his Ayi supported only Astha. Suddenly something struck his mind.
"Hmm...maybe I should speak to her. Right! She is the only one who can help me right now." With a new found energy he called her.
"Hello." A melodious voice answered.
"Swati?"
"Yes Shlok. Tell me."
"I need a favor from you."
To be contd..
Edited by ipkkndfollower - 12 years ago