Special note:
Happy Diwali all, here’s the next chapter!
Tomorrow I will also be posting a teaser to the new sequel to Bitter sweet an acquired taste.
For those who wanted to read the story before the sequel here:
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/fan-fictions/4068676/ipkknd-bitter-sweet-an-aquired-taste-c18-p152-thread-2-link-added
New ff Bitter Sweet 2 sequel added here
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/fan-fictions/5125416/ipkknd-bitter-sweet-2-an-acquired-taste-c11-p28-23rd-may
So get your reading glasses out and start commenting!
Chapter 10
“Khushi leave the table please, his tone of voice remains calm”
Khushi doesn’t respond, too worried that whatever it was would escalate In her absense she’s almost certain dadi has found something about Jenifer.
She could help the conversation make sure he stays calm.
“NK, Jenifer” Arnav says and they leave on request.
Arnav asks her once again.
“Khushi” yet she refuses again silently putting her hand on his shoulder.
He took a internal sigh as Khushi took the photograph from him.
When she saw what it was her heart began to beat a uncomfortable pattern and her eyes tear up.
It was a image of Khushi with Shyam, a image at intimate proximity.
Khushi stood behind his chair her heart sinking further and further as she looks on at that picture and the situation she has ultimately created.
Arnav could feel Dadis accusing eyes across the table and Khushis haunting silence behind him.
There was pin drop silence for a second as Khushis eyes began to film in tears. Isolated within her own mind.
“Hamne kaha tha na” (I warned you) dadi started to talk however just Arnavs mannerism of interjecting her words and his eyes were enough to challenge back.
His tone started off high and then was normal at the point he seemed to have Dadis attention.
“Shyam lured Khushi into a engagement whilst being married to di.”
I’ve known for longer than you can imagine and I’m calm about it I’m sure you can be too.”
“He knew? “Thought Khushi who was withering away behind him feeling awful, she could take it no longer and needed to leave their presence.
Arnav felt her move away from behind his chair and later watched worriedly as she rushed away in tears around them and up the staircase.
Tearing his eyes away from her to look back at his grandmother who too leaves the table.
At a distance, Shyam looking on from a corner of the staircase is pleased with his ploy he’d taken revenge for Khushis mockery of his gift.
Arnav taps on the door of the room he’d seen Khushi run into. Two distinct knocks.. “I’ll be hear when you’re ready”
He says in a strong voice but with affectionate eyes. He knew his wife well, she was hurt and she wouldn’t let anyone in on her feelings not even him till she was ready.
“Don’t worry Bhai we’ll look after khushi bhabhi” says NK in the corridor who is stood with Jenifer. Looking at them both rather solemnly with a thank you in his eyes he walks away.
The atmosphere in the house was morbid, the cold seemed colder the darkness seemed darker without Khushi bhabi.
Neither did anyone take interest in meals and even Paris eyes looked unhappy.
Finally when the door to that room did open NK and Khushi were the ones as promised there for her. Sat on the staircase all this time they look upon a tired drained Khushi.
Out of the pair of them NK was the first to throw his arms around his Khushi bhabhi he’d never seen her so upset and so that in its self made a mark on him.
Swallowing a lump in his throat he speaks, “What is it that you always tell me bhabs I shouldn’t worry because I have you, well you have me!, so please don’t cry” he says innocently wiping the one stray tear that’s fall down Khushis face even now.
Placing her hand against his cheek she nods at him. He didn’t know how much that meant when after all she had thought in that room alone.
Jenifer made Khushi tea and they sat on a staircase that was hardly used by anyone in the house and gave them privacy.
Nk sat one side of Khushi whilst Jenifer on the other.
“I always found it hard to speak about it, I tried but couldn’t Khushi said quietly to them both and they listened.
Your brother is the only one I’ve ever ..”
she paused lost for the words
Looking towards NK wanting him to understand but she didn’t need to.
She was their Khushi bhabhi and they all loved her, respected her, looked up to her.
“I mean this was before I met your bhai and then Di I was to afraid”
“We know bhabs” said NK with proud eyes taking her unsteady hands in his, she didn’t need to explain.
Khushi turned to Jenifer who was sat by her side.
“Mujhe dekho, socha tha ke atchi patni hona kya hai, atchi bahu kya hona hai woh hamse behtar koi nahin janta.”
(Look at me i thought I knew what it was to be a good wife daughter in law and no one could do it better)
“I don’t think anything’s changed Khushi you’re still perfect” says Jenifer reassuring her with a smile.”
You should speak to Arnav” Jenifer suggests but Khushi drops her expression.
“Mein is vakt unke saamne nahin ja sakti”
(“I can’t go before him”)
She looks towards Nk for understanding,
For lady who had upheld every tradition, broken not one rule and had never had seen a moment such as this it was bound to be difficult.
Whilst NK showed understanding Jenifer looked towards him with worry.
Next chapter
Jenifer walks into Arnavs room as he is stood alone staring into oblivion for a moment.
“ She’s too ashamed to face you” Arnav hears and closes his eyes for a moment painfully.
Edited by jagrutid - 6 years ago