zaniax thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
@JalebiJane...Thanks for making this lovely thread.
IPK was an experience of a lifetime! Words are never enough to describe my feelings for it, even after all these years, I can't seem to decipher how a TV show could make me insanely happy. I had joined IF for IPK and man it was SO worth it! This forum was filled with such amazing, witty, funny posts dissecting every scene, BTS videos, pics, promos, spoilers, etc. Not to mention the extremely talented writers who came up with their own versions of the storyline..sigh! I miss those days TERRIBLY.

Initial episodes were such a delight. Arnav's and Khushi's entry, the sibling bonding, and of course, first Rabba Ve shot❤️.Sarun's acting was perfection and their level of chemistry remains unmatched. About Shyam, I was very intrigued by his character n wished they showed his back story. It would have been interesting to know wat made him negative cause surely no one is born evil.Looking forward to reading the discussions here.😊
Edited by zaniax - 9 years ago
JalebiJane thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 7
Fe-en-Dios wrote:
Not that I adore Payal's character, I dont hate it either, but during the hate marriage track and post it as well, during the kidnapping track too it was always Khushi who stood up and fought for everything and never payal who took the initiative. Even though Khushi was the younger sister, we see her as the one who goes on and works for ASR at AR and not Payal. I think its just about instinct and how we train our minds to be. Khushi was a born fighter and not Payal

Can you see the similarity between Arnav and Khushi here? They both stand up for their loved ones. I have believed that the script of the show was fantastic and I reiterate it yet again. Also, the scene depicts an irony, that while Arnav wanted his Di to leave him alone, he DID have her living in front of his eyes at RM. How wonderful of him to act nonchalant and yet love Anjali to the T...

Thoroughly enjoyed your post. I agree with you---Khushi is what Khushi is and Payal is what she is. In real family life, we take on roles. And it is neither fair nor evenly balanced---it simply is. I have always sympathized with how Payal was scripted because her passivity is not intentional, it is in her character. Moreover, had she not been scripted that way, we would have no dramatic story to watch. If she was as active and capable as Khushi, there would be no conflict, no drama, no story. I will always defend a writer's characterization choices because I know that they are there to serve the story.

Ah! Nice observation. "Let me be, Di, but do not go too far." haha I have a brother and I recognize that as the brother's way.

JalebiJane
Edited by JalebiJane - 9 years ago
JalebiJane thumbnail
Arshi67 wrote:
I remember wondering at that time if they were going to have Shyam as the hero, given his dhamakedaar entrance, and mentally going no no no hoping they stuck with the other guy. It was that parting look by Khushi which had got me more worried.
Payal doesn't like rocking the boat, but she has a quiet strength that Khushi draws from, and one that keeps her anchored as well I think.
And did we get a glimpse of the elusive Aman here?

Good obs! Yes, I wonder if that was Aman whom Anjali booted out of the office :-)

I agree with you---I know that many Sisters feel that Khushi intuitively mistrusted Shyam from that very first moment, but I thought she seemed pleasantly intrigued. Having so recently met a man who injured her, Shyam was a good foil.
JalebiJane thumbnail
Anu567 wrote:
As you said, there is the entry of Shyam Manohar Jha. dhamakedar entry. One wonders is this a show about two heroes after all? The music that is one of IPK's most defining qualities, is at near perfection in this one. The famous 'Daiya ho' echoes on our screens for the first time, and we are forced to sit up and take notice of this non-descript looking youngster with his muscular structure and very middle-class appearance (haha, not to sound snobbish at all, but when we have the dapper Mr. Arnav Singh Raizada dressed to the nines complete with a cravat on the other side, one is bound to compare, hai na?!)...Shyam beats up the goons single-handedly a la Khushi's favourite hero Salman Khan! Interesting that you mention looking at details closely with this new viewing of the show, Maya. I now realize that for an impressionable 18 or 20 year old, with stars in her eyes and notions of Rajkumar, SMJ must have seemed like the real thing. Shyam cannot resist staring at the beauty before him, and as Ruchi said, Khushi'sglancing back at him when she is leaving with her parents truly has me worried! Even though I know now that the Her Shaitaan- Rajkumar will sweep her off her feet so fast she won't know what hit her...full marks to Abhaas Mehta for a stellar performance, he lived the role and made us all hate the villain with a passion...not here though, in this episode he just ignited our healthy curiosity!

Anu, this is a fabulous analysis of that scene! You reminded me that our Heroine who has dreaming all her life for her Prince, would naturally wonder after this rescue whether he has finally arrived. Mr Mehta's performance was super. He was perfect as Shyam. A perfect Wickham!
JalebiJane thumbnail
Fe-en-Dios wrote: PS I just discovered that IPKKND is airing every weekday afternoons on Star Plus in my country.
Woohoo!
JalebiJane thumbnail
zaniax wrote:
About Shyam, I was very intrigued by his character n wished they showed his back story. It would have been interesting to know wat made him negative cause surely no one is born evil.

Thank you for joining the discussion.
What you write above would make an excellent concept for an FF. Or perhaps I should say---I'm sure one of the many talented IPKers have explored this track in an FF. :-)
JalebiJane thumbnail

IPKKND Nostalgia: Episode 006

Arrival In Delhi

1. I laughed out loud at Ms Irani's expressions when Khushi fell out of the auto-rickshaw. To be more accurate---she was pushed out when Buaji squeezed herself in. As much as I enjoy Ms Irani's dramatic scenes, I absolutely love her comedic moments. In other television, I usually fast-forward the requisite comic relief. Here, I rewind her scenes.

2. I also love the earnestness and familiarity with which Khushi engages with Devi Maiyya. There is none of that formal reverence that is common with worshippers. Hers is a beautiful playful relationship with the Divine. Just as it should be, in my humble opinion. And how clever of Shyam to use that as an entree. He presents himself as a bhakt and we see that it disarms her usual caution. She reveals to him that besides Buaji, she and her sister will be friendless in Delhi. She's told this to the wrong man! I'm curious to see exactly when Shyam's intentions towards Khushi turn serious.

3. It was sweet how Khushi told Amma on the phone to stop making circles with her finger. Khushi has observed Amma with such affection over that years that she knows all her nervous habits. It speaks of a strong love. And it also speaks to Khushi's heart. She may be flighty but she is aware of every aspect of the people she loves. IPKKND writers are so good at conveying the depth of a relationship by these subtle things.

4. Maybe I'm observing our Arnavji too closely---but his jaw tightens when his assistant informs him that the public shaming from the film footage release has forced Khushi to leave Lucknow. He feels something. A bit of guilt? What adds to that scene is that just as he's telling the assistant that he doesn't care even if Khushi has left the country, we see her in his side-mirror It gives us as Khushi-Sympathetizers a moment of levity at Arnav's expense.

5. What can I say about the meeting? A collision in more ways than one. Arnav can't believe his eyes. He's astounded. I suspect a man like ASR is rarely surprised in life, yet this Lioness from Lucknow continues to surprise him. And seems to appear wherever he goes! Mr Sobti is brilliant in that scene. An equal measure of disbelief and suspicion.

JalebiJane

Edited by JalebiJane - 9 years ago
JalebiJane thumbnail
Sisters:
Some of you wanted to read -Jalebi-.
I've started posting it on this thread.

Anu567 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 5

Doing a quick Res on this one only because I think I made it to first place! Haha! Will be back with my take, Maya! And thanks for opening Jalebi up as well! ❤️

So much has already been said, but yes, to my mind the clash of the Titans, the war of the good versus evil, poor versus rich or what have you between the two raging souls who would eventually transform into soul mates, began right here, when Khushi crashed into Arnav's car traveling on a one way street. Perhaps it already did in episode 3 at the dargah - where the writers did this amazing juxtaposition of ASR in his trademark black versus Khushi in white - a colour she rarely wore in the show later except as her attire at night. Hmm...did they sort of blend in along the way? Did they both enter a more grey zone, a sort of twilight where the 'dhoop' and the 'chandini raat' could actually meet going forward...I guess that is true for most couples, but particularly true for Arnav and Khushi who were such opposites. Hmm...perhaps not so much, either. They both loved family and would go through anything for their loved ones, they both held their value systems very closely, and while one chose to make his own destiny and shut the world out, the other resorted to religion and kinship, becoming a friend to the world. They both held their true emotions close to their chest however. Loved the episode!

Best,
Edited by Anu567 - 9 years ago
Fe-en-Dios thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Maya yet another riveting review from you. What fabulous attention to detail and an equally interesting take on Epi 6. THIS one is one of my favorite episodes from the show, I dont know why but I think because of the much awaited collision and the second meet of our very own fiesty Khushi and the angry ASR. I loved it and I still do. ❤️ But before I talk about Arhi, I need to talk about 'khushi'. You have pointed out how she was child-like and yet mature in her own way and Maya, i could not have agreed more to this. As much as I love Arhi, Arnav and Khushi, I would say that Khushi somewhere touched my heart in more ways than one. I dont know if it was because I was going through a brutal phase or had it to something with my thought process, but I can tell you that watching Sanaya play khushi everyday was the 'only' bright spot in my life then and Khushi was the reason I could connect so much with IPK- a fighter, her never say die attitude and a go getter, I fell in love with her instantly. So thank you for that bit on her pointing out Garima's habit, I missed it out the first time but saw it now. 😳
Coming to the rest of the epi, Buaji 'runs out of her asthma medicine and we see our girl asking Payal to take care off her while she fetches it from outside. Inane qualities again Maya that we got talking about yesterday. Payal has been 'homely' and Khushi the 'man', sorts. I can so relate to it because I have a younger sister too and while she is more active in her comfort zone, as she is the younger one, I am always the one whose been the fighter, stepping out and I love challenges too. Can relate so much to Khushi and Payal here. The writers of the show were brilliant and there are no two ways about it.

Ah and now coming to my fave scene, the collision. What fabulous expressions from Barun and Sanaya, they nailed the scene to the T. The comic timing, the shock, the expressions and the subtle chemistry were palpable and mind blowing. He looks on in disbelief as he removes his aviators and oh boy!! does he look hot or what 😛 I loved his styling in the early days and Khushi's spunk blew him away. She goes all "aap ne jo kiya' while the man in question is more amused than ashamed. He lifts his eyebrows asking her what he had done, he is shameless and she knows it now. 😆 But our girl wont back down without a fight and she did just that gave him a piece of her mind to feast on while promising to returning back his money 👏 And Khushi Kumari Gupta stole the show and how while Arnav Singh Raizada was challenged and he sure didnt like it but the lion he is, he wont let her walk away without paying a price , a heavy one at that, for disrupting his mental piece. Iss Pyaar Ko kya Naam Doon? starts off in all the sense of the world 👏

PS Oh! you are back with your stories at a time when I am the busiest in the year. After managing the family, kid, work and writing I am barely left with time to come here, but I will bookmark your stories and read them as soon as life is less brutal. Your writing here has me hooked and I cant wait to catch up on your stories. 🤗

Edited by Fe-en-Dios - 9 years ago