Meghna Malik: Re-vamping her career

niveditha thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 15 years ago
Meghna Malik: Re-vamping her career

After starring in numerous films and theatre productions, Meghna Malik decided to take up a television offer. And her wicked character Ammaji in Na Aana Iss Des: Laado, which deals with female infanticide, is creating havoc on the small screen. But surprisingly, even with her evil avatar, the actress gets hugged – and by children that too! - when she's out and about. We caught up with Meghna to find out more.

Why did you decide to take up a TV offer?
This is a great role. I have been doing films and theatre so far. I was a student of NSD (National School of Drama) before I came to Mumbai. Though I did films, my roles were not major ones. When I heard about this role, I felt that it would be very interesting and challenging. Nothing like this has been done on TV till date. Ammaji's character has been written very well; she is thought-provoking. The subject of the serial is interesting too and the character tempted me into accepting the part.

What do you know about female infanticide?
I am aware that it still exists in our society. I have seen families who curse girls. I have not come across any incidents of female infanticide but I have read many books and articles on the subject. These evil practices are still rampant and the figures are shocking.

How did you prepare for the role?
I researched the topic and came to know that female infanticide is not only followed by people in the North but down South too. As far as acting is concerned, having done theatre, it was not tough for me. I lived in Delhi for years so I am familiar with the lingo (Haryanvi), even though I've never spoken it before. Also, I rehearse on the sets to get the body language right. I envisioned my character: she is powerful and the whole village surrenders her. With my mind set for the role, I know how to act the part.