babita.. thumbnail
Anniversary 10 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail
Image result for bhai dooj

Image result for dividers picgif.com

Hello Ashnians !

Happy Bhai Doohj to all of U πŸ€—
May God bless you and your bond with your siblings with long and happy life !

Bhai Dooj( ) / Bhau-Beej / Bhai Tika / Bhai Phonta() is a festival celebrated by Hindus of India and Nepal on the last day of the five-day-long Diwali or Tihar festival. This is the second day of the bright fortnight or Shukla Paksha of the Hindu lunar month of Kartika in Bikram Sambat.

The celebrations of this day are similar to the festival of Raksha Bandhan. On this day, sisters get gifts from brothers

• Bhai Dooj (Hindi: ) in entire Northern part of India, observed on the last day of the five-day Diwali festival. This is also the second day of the Vikrami Samvat New Year, the calendar followed in Northern India (including Kashmir), which starts from the lunar month of Krtika. The first day of this New Year is observed as Govardhan Pja.
  • Bhai Tika (Nepali: ) in Nepal, where it is the most important festival after Dashain (Vijaya Dashmi / Dussehra). Observed on the third day from Tyohar festival, it is widely celebrated by Newari, Maithali, Tharu, Bahun and Chhetri people. Also known as Bhai Dooj in Nepal, too.
  • Bhai Phonta (Bengali: ) in Bengal and it takes place every year on the first or the second day of the Kali Puja festival.
  • Bhai Bij, Bhau Beej, or Bhav Bij (Marathi : ) amongst the Gujarati, Marathi and Konkani-speaking communities in the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka.
  • Another name for the day is Yamadwitheya or Yamadvitiya, after a legendary meeting between Yama the god of Death and his sister Yamuna (the famous river) on Dwitheya (the second day after new moon).
  • Other names include Bhatru Dviteeya, or Bhatri Ditya.

According to a popular legend in Hindu mythology, after slaying the evil demon Narkasur, Lord Krishna visited his sister Subhadrawho gave him a warm welcome with sweets and flowers. She also affectionately applied tilak on Krishna's forehead. Some believe this to be the origin of the festival.

On the day of the festival, sisters invite their brothers for a sumptuous meal often including their favorite dishes/sweets. The whole ceremony signifies the duty of a brother to protect his sister, as well as a sister's blessings for her brother.

Carrying forward the ceremony in traditional style, sisters perform aarti for their brother and apply a red tika on the brother's forehead. This tika ceremony on the occasion of Bhai Bij signifies the sister's sincerest prayers for the long and happy life of her brother. In return brothers bless their sisters and treat them also with gifts or cash.

As it is customary in Haryana, Maharashtra to celebrate the auspicious occasion of Bhau-beej, women who do not have a brother worship the moon god instead. They apply mehendi on girls as their tradition.

The sister whose brother lives far away from her and can not go to her house, sends her sincerest prayers for the long and happy life of her brother through the moon god. She performs aarti for the moon. This is the reason why children of Hindu parents affectionately call the moon Chandamama (Chanda means moon and mama means mother's brother).

Bhai Phonta in West Bengal is celebrated with much splendor. The ceremony is marked with many rituals along with a grand feast arranged for the brothers.

The festival of Bhai Bij is popular in Haryana, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Goa and is celebrated with great fervour and gaiety. Brothers and sisters look forward to the occasion with immense enthusiasm. To add charm to the occasion, Bhai Bij gifts are exchanged between brothers and sisters as a token of love and appreciation.

Bhav Bij is a time for family reunions as all brothers and sisters in the family get together. Close relatives and friends are also invited to celebrate the Bhav Bij in many families.

Special dishes for the festival include the Maharashtra sweet called basundi poori or kheerni poori.On this occasion sisters give gifts to their brothers.

Bhaitika in Nepal is also known as Bhaitihar meaning Tihar of brothers. On this day, sisters pray to Yamraj for her brother's long life and prosperity.Sisters put seven colored long tika on forehead of their brothers.

Image result for dividers picgif.com

babita.. thumbnail
Anniversary 10 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail
At our Forum, we have a lovely brother with us - Bawa Bro πŸ€—
I wish him Bhaiya dooj, place Tikka on his forehead and pray for his well being and prosperity !
Love you Bawa Bhaiya, for what you ARE and WHAT U HAVE GIVEN TO US πŸ€—
From every sister of yours here wish U

God bless you Bawa bro, Swati Bhabhi, and Shubham πŸ€—
Shubham ki bhi :

braveheartdoc thumbnail
Anniversary 8 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 4
Wishing everyone at KTLK forum a very Happy Bhai Dooj...May all of you have a great day along with your siblings...May this bond be strengthened further and may you be blessed with the love of your siblings throughout your life😊

Image result for happy bhai dooj animated images
Edited by braveheartdoc - 8 years ago
braveheartdoc thumbnail
Bawa Bro here's your sister wishing the very best for you throughout your life...May you find happiness waiting for you at each and every step of yours...May you have a long life and all the choiciest blessings from God be with you always...πŸ€—

braveheartdoc thumbnail
Swati Bhabhi and Shubh, a very Happy Bhai Dooj to you both as well...may you have a great day with your bro and may Shubh enjoy this day to the fullest...lots of loves to you bothπŸ€—

braveheartdoc thumbnail
Wish for my brother on Bhai Dooj

Image result for brother sister quotes

My wish for you on this special day
May you get the very best come what may
May God's Angels always be around you
May His choicest blessings forever surround you.

Image result for best wishes for brother quotes

May the sun shine bright on you...brighter each day
May the moon lighten up your night and the stars pave your way
May your loved ones be close to you all the time
May your heart be forever full of joys and your sorrows be mine.

I wish you success in whatever you do
I love you bro and I know you love me too
You are a part of my each and every prayer
I close my eyes; look into my heart and find you there.

May God keep us together forever
May we never happen to seperate from each other
I wish you the best and only the best for you
I love you so much and you love me too.
vyoman thumbnail
Anniversary 12 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 3
Happy Bhai Dooj to everyone...πŸ₯³
vyoman thumbnail
Dear Bawa bro...πŸ₯³β€οΈπŸ€—

Image result for happy bhai dooj images Image result for happy bhai dooj images

vyoman thumbnail
A lovely and an informative thread Babita dear as always...πŸ‘πŸΌ
braveheartdoc thumbnail
Really an awesome thread Babita as always...i just loved it...it really depicts what you feel for Bawa Bro ...i just loved it and love you for your awesome effort sweetie...πŸ€—

Image result for awesome scraps.com

Image result for thank you images animated