3rd Cozy Corner, yaaay I am so happy for you my Meet deewani new friendπ³π€
WO! π₯³ π
3rd Cozy Corner, yaaay I am so happy for you my Meet deewani new friendπ³π€
Word Count: 1
Chapter 26 - You Belong With Me
Meher stood with her family on one side of the room. They watched and clapped along with the other guests, as Nihal and Veera exchanged rings and made their engagement official. The room lit up with the camera flashes as guests, and members of the press took countless pictures of the happy couple and their families. After the commotion died down, Veera, Nihal and his family descended the stage and began to mingle with the guests, who took turns personally congratulating them.
Preet and the rest of the Juneja family then watched as Lalit walked over to the center of the stage. "Ladies and gentlemen, may I have your attention please. Tonight is a very special night, and I can't thank you all enough for being here to share in my family's moment of happiness. But the night is not over yet. We have more surprises and good news in store for you. I'd like to invite on stage, Mr. and Mrs. Rampal."
Prem placed a reassuring hand on his younger brother's shoulder, and Preet gave him a weak smile in return. This was it, thought Preet. Bauji would be making his big announcement soon.
Daljeet and Rishap joined Lalit on stage and shook hands.
"We have a very special announcement to make don't we Rishap?" grinned Lalit.
"We sure do," smiled Rishap. "You all may be wondering why 2 business giants and rivals are standing up here tonight shoulder to shoulder. There has been a lot of speculation and rumors about this news in the business community recently, but tonight Lalit Juneja and I will put them all to rest. You'll be happy to note that we have decided to bury the hatchet of our rivalry, and seal the deal by not only forging a new friendship, but also a new relationship. That's right, Lalit Juneja, Daljeet and I would like to announce to you all the upcoming union of our children Ashlesha and Preet."
Gasps of pleasant surprise were heard in the crowd, followed by a round of cheers and claps.
"What?!" Heer cried in surprise as she watched Ashlesha go stand next to her father. She grabbed Preet's arm just as he reluctantly headed towards Lalit. "Preet," she whispered. "What's going on?"
Preet patted her hand and gave her a weak smile. "I'll explain later Bhabi, but right now, I'm afraid duty to family calls."
"Preet, we're waiting for you son," said Lalit, holding his arm out.
Preet nodded and joined his father at the front of the stage. He quickly scanned the banquet hall for Meher, and saw her standing on one side with her parents, Gaurav, Sam and her family. She suddenly seemed anxious and pale. God knows what she must be thinking, worried Preet. One thing is for sure, in the next few minutes, I'm quickly going to rise to the top of her Most Hated list. He hoped she wouldn't leave before he had a chance to explain things to her.
"What's going on?" Kulraj whispered to Heer. "This isn't Meher, the girl you introduced me to earlier."
"I know," Heer whispered. She glared angrily at Prem, then leaned over to him. "Did you know about this?" she hissed in his ear.
"I'm afraid so," sighed Prem.
"I can't believe you Prem! I can't believe you hid this from me!" hissed Heer. "I would expect something like this from Maya, but not you. After all the reassurances we gave Preet about standing by his side and not making him the sacrificial lamb, you turned your back on him the moment you found out I wasn't looking!"
"It's a lot more complicated than that Heer," whispered Prem. "It will all be over in a few minutes, and then I'll explain everything."
"I don't want to hear it," frowned Heer. "No matter how much you sugar coat it, this is a mistake. And when everything blows up in our faces, Preet is going to hate everyone. Even you."
Meanwhile...
In the crowd of guests, Sam's mouth fell open at the surprising announcement that had just been made. She looked at Meher. Her friend was nervously toying with one end of her sari's pallu. "I'm so sorry Meher," she whispered. "I'm so sorry you had to be here to see that happen. I can't believe he finally gave into his father's demands. Men are such jerks!" She elbowed Gaurav and looked at him with narrowing eyes. "Did you know this was going to happen?" she demanded.
"No, I didn't, I swear!" said Gaurav. "I'm as surprised as you are."
"That's right friends, Preet and Ashlesha are going to be married," continued Lalit. "Of course, our daughter Veera's wedding is going to take place first, but I assure you, as soon as that is over, we will be announcing dates for Preet and Ashlesha's engagement and wedding. This union has the blessing of both families, and will unite not only 2 individuals, but 2 great business empires." He motioned to a waiter who brought up a tray of long stemmed glasses of champagne, then asked the rest of his family to come stand next to him to. Heer and Prem came and stood next to Preet, while Kulraj, Herman and Maya stood immediately behind them. He held up a glass and raised it in the air. "I've always waited for the day my youngest son would make me proud of him, and it looks like that day has finally come. To my son Preet Juneja and his future wife...sole heiress of the Rampal fortune, the lovely...Ashlesha." He took a sip from his glass then smiled widely as another round of applause rose from the guests.
"I have to get out of here before I throw up," Preet said to Prem. "And I have a lot of explaining to do to Meher."
He was about to leave the stage when Daljeet spoke up. "Just a minute everyone! I know we're all overwhelmed with such a big announcement, but we're not done yet. I have another smaller but nevertheless significant announcement to make. Viren honey, where are you? Please come up here with your parents."
Viren? Thought Preet. He doesn't even belong here. So why does Daljeet want him up on stage?
"Everyone, I'd like to introduce you to Mr. and Mrs. Chadda and their son Viren," smiled Daljeet. "Mr. Chadda is a manager in one of our factories here in Delhi, and Viren is a medical school graduate!"
So what? Thought Preet as he exchanged confused glances with Prem. Where exactly was Daljeet going with this?
"We at the Rampal Corporation always believe in rewarding our loyal employees," continued Daljeet. She paused to exchange smiles with her husband. "And we believe in being charitable and helping hardworking, deserving young people like Viren get settled in their lives. That is why, I am happy to announce Viren's engagement to my sister Kuljeet's step-daughter Meher Maan!"
"What?!" Preet blurted out. "What the hell is she talking about?" he asked his brother.
"I have no idea," whispered Prem.
"Kuljeet, do come up here," smiled Daljeet. "And bring that wonderful husband and daughter of his with you."
Preet watched stunned as Meher and her family slowly came forth and walked up on stage. Meher looked at him only briefly before turning her face away.
Daljeet walked over to Meher, took her by the hand and led her to where Viren stood waiting for her. "You know, Ashlesha is very close to Meher. Why just the other day, she happened to mention in passing how nice it would be if her poor little step-cousin also had something to celebrate. Well, I'm not one to take my daughter's wishes lightly, so here we are! A manager's daughter for a manager's son. Don't these 2 make a perfectly lovely pair?" Daljeet said motioning to Meher and Viren.
"Ab rishta aap ne karaya hai to acha hi hoga (Since you have arranged the match it is bound to be good)," smiled Kuljeet.
"Of course," agreed Daljeet. "Well now children, let's not delay this any further." She pulled out 2 small ring boxes and handed one each to Meher and Viren. "Go ahead and make it official."
Preet took a step forward, but Prem held him back. "No Preet!" he whispered. "This isn't the time to create a scene. Especially not in front of the guests."
"Or the press," added Herman.
"But PB...Meher...," protested Preet. "This wasn't part of the plan." He watched in horror as Viren and Meher exchanged rings.
"Did you know about this?" Gaurav asked Sam, as the guests offered up a small round of applause for Viren and Meher.
"No!" Sam cried. "What on earth is happening tonight?!"
"Well," smiled Daljeet. "Let's not end things here." She smiled at Rishap, who pulled out 2 ring boxes from his pocket and handed them to her. "Let's make it 3 in a row and make Preet and Ashlesha's engagement official tonight as well."
"Well...I...uh...," stammered Lalit, as he glanced worriedly at Preet. His son clearly looked disturbed at the strange turn of events.
"Mrs. Rampal, if you don't mind," tried Heer. "This was supposed to be Veera's special night."
"Of course," smiled Daljeet. "And we certainly don't want to sideline her, but all of our friends, associates and important investors are here. Why put a good thing off when it can be taken care of tonight? I'm sure Veera loves her brother enough not to mind."
"I agree completely," Ashlesha said happily. She grabbed a ring box from her mother's hand, took the ring out and quickly slipped it onto Preet's hand. "Now your turn," she said as she held her hand out. Preet only stared at it as if in a daze. "Oh never mind, I'll do it myself,"" said Ashlesha. She took a matching ring from her mother and slipped it onto the ring finger of her left hand, then flashed the diamond for the guests and reporters to see. "Yay!! Look everybody! Preet and I are engaged!" She gave Preet a quick hug, then proceeded to hug her parents.
"Mr. Juneja! Mr. Rampal! Sir! Sir!" a reporter called out. "So many amazing announcements for the 2 families tonight. By morning, the business world will be buzzing with excitement. Any comments?"
"We're all very happy," smiled Rishap.
"Yes," agreed Lalit.
"How about the young couple? "asked another reporter. "Ms. Ashlesha, Mr. Preet Juneja, would either one of you like to say something?"
"We're very excited, right Preet?" smiled Ashlesha.
Preet was silent.
"Uh...Heh heh...he's so excited he's speechless!" Maya spoke up. "I'm sure Preet has plenty to say. It's just that everything happened so suddenly that...uh..."
"It almost seems like a trick," Heer finished her sentence.
"Um...uh...Come now children!" Daljeet said quickly. "Let's all smile for the cameras."
As the bright lights of camera flashes lit up the room, Preet looked down at his hand, then looked towards Meher. She was hugging and congratulating Ashlesha. He was engaged to Ashlesha! And Meher was engaged to Viren! What the hell?! Nothing had gone according to plan. Everything had turned into one big mess. But he wasn't about to take things lying down!
Preet followed Meher's every move with his eyes. She hadn't looked in his direction even once after exchanging rings with Viren. But he wasn't going to let her off the hook that easily. He had to get her alone somewhere. He needed answers.
Meher was leaving the stage with her family, when she felt someone come up beside her and slip his arm around her waist. She looked up and saw Viren smiling back at her.
"Hey," he smiled.
"Hey," she offered him a small smile.
"Uncle Ji, Auntie Ji, do you mind if I steal Meher away from you for a little while?" he politely asked Balraj and Kuljeet.
"Oh my Rabs! Not at all my dear!" smiled Kuljeet. "I'm sure you 2 have plenty of things to talk about. Come Balraj, let's go get something to eat and leave these 2 alone. One is only young once."
"So...I guess it's official now," smiled Viren, as he took Meher's hand and helped her descend the stage. "I mean we're official."
"Yes," nodded Meher. "I guess we are." Her throat suddenly felt very dry.
Viren saw her pass her hand over her throat and motioned to a waiter serving drinks. "What will you have?"
"Just water is fine," said Meher.
Viren took 2 glasses from the waiter and handed one to Meher.
"Thanks," she said as she took a sip.
"You know Meher, I didn't get a chance to say this earlier, but you look absolutely gorgeous tonight," smiled Viren. "I can't begin to tell you how happy I am. I feel like I'm on top of the world. I remember the first time I saw you...I..."
"Viren..." Meher interrupted him. "If you don't mind, can we talk later? I have to...uh...I have to..."
"Talk to her best friend," said Sam, as she and Gaurav appeared at her side. "Hi, I'm Sam and this is my fiance Gaurav. I think we've met...Dev Dutt's wedding. We were there with Meher."
"Oh yeah...Hi," smiled Viren. He offered his hand for Gaurav to shake, but the young man only stared back at him with narrowed eyes. Viren slowly pulled his hand back and adjusted his tie. "Uh...right...well, it's nice to meet any friends of Meher's."
"Would you please excuse us?" said Sam. "Meher and I have so much catching up to do." She didn't wait for Viren to answer, and instead took Meher by the arm and led her away.
"What is wrong with you?" Meher asked when she and Sam were out of ear-shot.
"That's what I'd like to know Meher," said Sam. "You and Viren...what's his name?!""
"Chadda," replied Meher.
"Whatever!" cried Sam. "When did this happen? And when were you going to tell me about it?"
"Excuse me Sam, I didn't know I had to report every single thing I do to you," said Meher.
"No, but this isn't something like...'I had a chicken salad for lunch yesterday.' You got engaged young lady! It's a big deal!" said Sam. "You could have told me about it. I care about you Meher. We've always been more than just friends. We're like sisters."
"That was before you started spying on me for Preet," Meher shot back.
"I did that once," said Sam.
"Once?" frowned Meher.
"Okay...a couple of times," sighed Sam. "But it was only because I wanted to see you 2 happy. He loves you Meher. You guys belong together."
"No, we don't," Meher shook her head. "And if that's all you have to say, I think we're done talking."
"Okay okay...calm down...I won't mention Preet again," Sam raised her hands defensively. "So...um...Viren. How long has this been going on?"
"Nothing has been going on Sam," sighed Meher. "His parents sent a proposal to my house. My parents really liked him and his family. It was a suitable match, and it made my parents happy, so I said yes!"
"And what about you and your happiness?" asked Sam.
"I'm happy! Don't I look happy?" cried Meher.
"I think you're trying your level best to make everyone think you're happy," said Sam. "I think..."
"Ugh!" Meher cried as she threw her hands up in the air. "You know what, I really don't care what anyone thinks anymore. This was supposed to be a special night for me. And I'm not going to let you or anyone else spoil it. I'm afraid Simran Singh, you're going to have to find someone else to psychoanalyze."
Meanwhile...
"Hey man, guess who I just met," said Gaurav as he walked up to Preet. "Viren Chadda, Meher's brand new fiance. And you got engaged to Ash. I go away for a couple a days and all hell breaks loose. Do you mind telling me what's going on?"
"I wish I knew," said Preet.
"What are you talking about?" said Gaurav.
"Long story short...my dad wanted to make an announcement tonight about me and Ash eventually getting engaged. It was supposed to buy my family some time, and hopefully some investors, so I agreed," explained Preet.
"Bad idea," said Gaurav.
"Tell me about it," sighed Preet. "But the real shocker of the evening was..."
"...Meher getting engaged to that guy we saw at Dev Dutt's wedding," Gaurav finished his sentence. "So, you didn't know that was going to happen?"
"No, of course not!" said Preet. "Did Sam?"
"No," said Gaurav. "Is she trying to get back at you or something?"
"I don't know. I don't know what she's up to," said Preet, as he watched Meher walk away from Sam. "But I sure as hell am going to find out."
Moments later...
Meher walked back to the drinks table taking care she wasn't being followed by anyone. Not Sam, her co-conspirator Gaurav, her parents, Viren, Heer Didi, or worst of all...Preet. Her life was a mess! Even she didn't know what she was doing with it so how could she make anyone else understand the choice she had just made. She looked down at her hand and frowned. She was engaged to be married. Not to Preet...but to Viren! Her life was definitely a mess!
"Now that certainly doesn't look like the face of young lady who has just gotten engaged to the man she wants to spend the rest of her life with," Preet quietly came up from behind her and whispered in her ear.
"Preet! Tum?!" gasped Meher as the color drained from her face.
"What's the matter Meher?" asked Preet. "You look like you've just seen a ghost."
"I...uh...I think I hear my father calling me," lied Meher. "I have to go." She turned to leave but he grabbed her by the wrist and held her in her place.
"Preet!" hissed Meher. "What do you think you're doing?"
"Kyun?" asked Preet. "Everyone congratulated you. Don't you want to know what I think?"
"Someone will see us," Meher said worriedly.
"I don't care," Preet said flatly.
"Please, let me go!" said Meher as she tried to free her hand from his grip.
"Not until we've talked!" Preet said through gritted teeth. He then proceeded to drag her away.
A short while later...
Preet dragged Meher out into the garden in the back of the hotel before finally letting her go.
"How dare you?!" Meher cried rubbing her wrist.
"How dare you?!" countered Preet. "How dare you get engaged to that guy?! Viren...Viren Chaddi!"
"It's Chadda!" Meher corrected him.
"Whatever," Preet rolled his eyes.
"I was hoping to tell you before it all happened," said Meher.
"Why? So it would be less of a shock?" scoffed Preet.
"So we could avoid the dramatics!" said Meher.
"Dramatic? I'm upset as hell and you think I'm being dramatic?!" cried Preet.
"I'd say dragging me out here in front of everyone and growling over me like a bear is pretty dramatic," Meher said as she folded her arms across her chest defiantly.
"How could you do it Meher?" asked Preet. "You told me your parents weren't planning on fixing your marriage with anyone. You lied!"
"I didn't," Meher shook her head. "Daljeet came by after your last visit."
"Of course! I should have known she was behind this," grumbled Preet.
"She...she said she had a marriage proposal for me," continued Meher. "Viren's father works for the Rampals. Viren had seen me and...he had her ask my parents for my hand in marriage."
"So what?! You knew how I felt about you!" cried Preet. "How could you say yes to him?!"
"What do you mean how could I say yes? May I remind you that you just got engaged to Ashlesha Rampal!" said Meher.
"Is that what this is about?" asked Preet. "Because Ash and I...it's not real."
"What?" Meher said in surprise.
"Prem Bhaiya and I were investigating whether the Rampals were winning contracts against us fraudulently," explained Preet. "Herman Bhai asked me to let Bauji make an announcement about our engagement tonight. It was supposed to buy us some time to complete our investigation and in the meantime reassure our investors, so I agreed. Daljeet took advantage of the confusion created by your surprise engagement and had Ash slip this stupid ring on my finger." He raised his hand and frowned at the ring he was wearing on it. "It means nothing to me! If it wasn't for the guests and the press raising questions, I would have tossed it by now."
"So you're using Ashlesha!" said Meher.
"Trust me, it's not something I'm proud of, but I had no choice," sighed Preet. "As if everything wasn't already a big mess...you had to go and engaged."
"Oh, so everything is my fault all of a sudden!" said Meher.
"Yes!" said Preet. "None of this would have happened if you had agreed to marry me in the first place."
"Uff! You're impossible, you know that?!" said Meher.
"Do you love him?" demanded Preet.
"What?" said Meher.
"Do you love him?" said Preet. "Do you even know him?"
"Love is a highly overrated emotion," said Meher. "Not everyone marries for love Preet. Viren is nice. He's educated. He respects my parents. He'll make me a fine companion."
"Hmph! So will a dog," scoffed Preet. "I thought after we kissed..."
"We didn't kiss!" said Meher. "You...you forced yourself on me!"
"But you responded," said Preet. "You were in it as much as I was."
"That was a mistake!" sighed Meher.
"Was it?" Preet said with a raised brow. His smile told her he knew she was lying, and she wanted to become one with the floor. "It was my favorite mistake then." He ran his hand through his hair in frustration and exhaled loudly. "Meher, I love you. Can't you see we're meant to be?"
"Nothing is meant to be," argued Meher. "People make foolish choices and then have to live with the consequences."
"Oh...," said Preet. "So you admit you made a foolish choice by getting yourself engaged to that Chaddi guy."
"It's Chadda! And that's not what I meant," said Meher.
"Of course it is," countered Preet. "No Meher, I won't let you do this. I won't let you marry him. You belong with me. You're mine, and I won't let you go. I'll...I'll burst into the wedding ceremony and carry you off if I have to but I won't let you make this mistake. I won't let you do something we'll both regret for the rest of our lives."
Already weary and irritated by having to explain herself first to Sam and now Preet, Meher quickly became angry at his words. "Have you gone mad? Now you listen to me carefully, Preet Junjea. I don't belong to you or anyone else! I belong to myself and I have a right to marry whomsoever I please."
"But Meher...," tried Preet.
"You won't let me? This is none of your business!" Meher continued while poking a finger in his chest. "You have nothing to do with it! It's my life, do you hear me? My life!"
She tried to walk away, but Preet was quicker. Forgetting all sense of decorum, he grabbed her around the waist, pulled her close to him and kissed her. The kiss was even more passionate and demanding than the first one they had shared, as if he was trying to prove something to her. Meher struggled under his grip and tried her best not to respond but it was no use, within moments, her legs turned to jelly and she melted in the warmth of his embrace.
The kiss seemed to linger on forever. Preet took a nibbling bite from her lower lip and finally let her go, but Meher could still feel the sensation of his lips on hers. She was certain she would have slipped to the ground if he wasn't still holding on to her.
"All that talk...was just that Meher...talk," Preet whispered. A smile appeared on his face as he looked into her dazed eyes. "I don't care whose ring you're wearing on your hand. Your heart belongs to me."
The twinkle of mischief in his eyes brought Meher back to her senses, and she pushed him away. "I hate you Preet Juneja!" she cried, as she ran back inside the hotel. "I hate you!"
Chapter 27 Preview: Preet meets Viren
Link to Chapter 27: https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/137184811
Link to: Table of Contents
comment:
p_commentcount