music-a-muse thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Indradhanush

This is the part I would respond to .

OP Nayyar was truly in love with Asha so much that he was accepting even C grade films in 1960s as long as Asha ji agreed to sing or chip in for him.

In 1967 low grade Mumtaz Feroz Khan starrer CID909 or Nasihat starring Dara Singh, OP gave wonderful scores as long as Asha ji was on his side. I think chain se aaapne mujhe kabhi jeene na diya is OP-Asha Black Swan song - a rendition enshrined in our memory as Asha-OP parting gift. All the more because this song fetched Asha 1974 Filmfare.

OP belatedly admitted he was not the same force (just like C Ramahachandran was not without Lata ji) without Asha and he had passed his prime.

Simply put Asha had moved on OP could not. Asha had moved onto new music pacesetter who would take her career to dizzying heights never to come back...and would eventually become her soul mate (Pancham da as we call him lovingly).

I will not agree with this part at all.

What about the hit movies of the 60s, he gave music to. You are picking out an obscure movie to prove your point.

It is quite possible that ASHA would not have been discovered so early if it was not for OP saab.She was singing in eminently forgettable B and C grade movies.

If you insist that OP was in love with asha, what was she doing? using him?

It was a mututally beneficial relationship, in which some of the finest music was given and asha had the beginnings of a great career.

Op saab gave some of the most stylish songs in Hindi music, much before RDB reached his heights. I would credit OP saab with a totally different style, breezy music much before it became fashionable.😊

please don't disparage Op saabs contribution in ashas career. it was much more than RDB's in my opinion.

All i said was she had no grace and large heartedness to accept Op saabs contribution in her career and it is the truth. However bitter and unpalatable it is.

peace out.😊
Indradhanush thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
Certainly I didn't mean what you have interpreted. Madan Mohan hardly got chance to give music in (so called) A grade movies but each of his music was a masterpiece, this actually goes in the credit of the composer.

What I have written is an abstract from flashes of memory.

O P Nayyar & RDB were two different composers in their own style and mode.

I am not taking away the credit from O P nayyar sahab, he was a great composer, formerly a major in Indian army , it is said he didn't have a classical base but many of his songs are deeply enmeshed in raaga...(aanchal me saja lena kaliya-raag kedar, ishaaro ishaaro me dil lene wale-raag pahadi..only tip of ice berg)

It is debatable as to whose contribution is more in Asha's success or a bit of every one + her own hard work and limitless talent (which I believe in).

I personally believe RDB's contribution was more but she was originally a find of O P Nayyar, no doubt about it. OP was loyal to Asha to the extent that he hardly ever gave any work to Lata ji.

Edited by Indradhanush - 12 years ago
sushrutapandey thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: musicmuse

😆correct.

what pisses me off about Asha bhonsle is, she gives no credit to OP nayyar saab and everything to RDB.😡

Personal problems aside, asha never had the grace to acknowledge OPsaab, without whom her career would have been in the doldrums and no way would RDB and Asha have made music together😆

Having said that, she is a fantastic singer.😊and i am watching the show for her😊

The seating arrangements on the show makes me laugh. Asha is sitting next to Salim, the non-controversial judge at present😆

Sunidhi is trying to be a JUDGE on this show. So, the excessive amount of criticism.😆She should at least make the contestant sing where she felt he/ she had gone wrong and then correct that part. Out of the blue, she just sings some part, god knows from where😆 antra, mukhda, alaap??? where??😆

She still has no one to give all those hugs to, like she had shivam last year😆

I do not want to comment on her personal appearance, but, can she get those zillion bangles off her hands, distracting they are, everytime she makes a point, which is all the time😆

I am afraid I don't know too much of all this history. I do have to concede that Ashaji gives more honest criticism to the singers compared to Sunidhi so far. And of course, no question about her singing abilities.
sami01 thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 5
hm i feel Asha benefited from Op Nayyar and SD burman both..Rd comes much much later..specially with emotional turmoils in life of geeta dutt she became main singer for both SD burmum(when lata and he fought) and OP nayyar ..---lot of people also say OP nayyar forgot who made his career(geet a Dutt) for his love for ASha ji but all apart I feel Aha was amazing singer and worked hard so were both legendary SD burman and OP nayyar sahib who contributed to Asha's career.RD Burman comes later and I feel these days more importance is given to him but his dad was better music director than him..atleast in my opinion
music-a-muse thumbnail

Originally posted by: sami01

hm i feel Asha benefited from Op Nayyar and SD burman both..Rd comes much much later..specially with emotional turmoils in life of geeta dutt she became main singer for both SD burmum(when lata and he fought) and OP nayyar ..---lot of people also say OP nayyar forgot who made his career(geet a Dutt) for his love for ASha ji but all apart I feel Aha was amazing singer and worked hard so were both legendary SD burman and OP nayyar sahib who contributed to Asha's career.RD Burman comes later and I feel these days more importance is given to him but his dad was better music director than him..atleast in my opinion

true dat😳
JasToronto thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Certainly I didn't mean what you have interpreted. Madan Mohan hardly got chance to give music in (so called) A grade movies but each of his music was a masterpiece, this actually goes in the credit of the composer.

I am not taking away the credit from O P nayyar sahab, he was a great composer, formerly a major in Indian army , it is said he didn't have a classical base but many of his songs are deeply enmeshed in raaga...(aanchal me saja lena kaliya-raag kedar, ishaaro ishaaro me dil lene wale-raag pahadi..only tip of ice berg)

It is debatable as to whose contribution is more in Asha's success or a bit of every one + her own hard work and limitless talent (which I believe in).

I personally believe RDB's contribution was more but she was originally a find of O P Nayyar, no doubt about it. OP was loyal to Asha to the extent that he hardly ever gave any work to Lata ji.

And Indra bhai if you remember O.P. Nair sahab also introduced Dilraj Kaur in late seventies but she did not make it too far.
music-a-muse thumbnail
😊😊

May be it was mis- interpretation from both of us😊

"Unsung and unplayed, the composition is like a beautiful statue or painting inert and static, until the singer with his or her voice breathes life into it"

This is what OP saab said.😊

How true😊

Ashaji was hard working, willing to learn and combined with her innate talent she very truly deserved to rule the waves of music along with lata di having the same qualities😊

but, other singers also deserved a chance😊

JasToronto thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Well I don't think that Sunidhi has an attitude problem. As a matter of fact she has been given a bad job to dissect contestant's singing therefore her comments are sort of negative. Where as Salim and Anu are positive most of the time. Even in auditions she cought minor mistakes and said no to lots of contestants but Anu and Salim let them go to Bombay but look what happened!! Those singers did not make it to top 10.Just a new example, look what has happened to Krutica ! She is gone and Charit made it to top 10. Remember She did not agree with Ashaji about Krutica's singing.
music-a-muse thumbnail
😆😆

Originally posted by: JasToronto

Well I don't think that Sunidhi has an attitude problem. As a matter of fact she has been given a bad job to dissect contestant's singing therefore her comments are sort of negative. Where as Salim and Anu are positive most of the time. Even in auditions she cought minor mistakes and said no to lots of contestants but Anu and Salim let them go to Bombay but look what happened!! Those singers did not make it to top 10.Just a new example, look what has happened to Krutica ! She is gone and Charit made it to top 10. Remember She did not agree with Ashaji about Krutica's singing.

But, this was junta ka faisla😊 as they would have us believe😉😆

As an aside, i don't know what is the judges role in these shows, if junta has to make the decision.

we know what and whom the junta will vote for, everything other than singing😆
sushrutapandey thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: sami01

Yes. SD Burman is far superior imo.