Hunk101 thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Cutiepie Rani

😍 Finally the song I've been waiting for is used! Thanks RA! =] Hope its a good suggestion!!!!

I'm so glad I have more time to post my views on this song.

One of the most beautiful compositions that I've ever heard.
Probably my most favorite Alka ji-Udit ji duet song ever!
Probably the most strongest by Alka ji ever!

This song has it all. Alka ji has it all.

From the high notes, to the expressions, to the feel, to the taal, to the sur, to everything Alka ji is so close to being flawless. She has it all in this song. Not one thing is lacking in my opinion! Such incredible singing.

I think the most hardest part of this song is stretching out the words and really using the high notes to give effect to the song. I've tried singing this song, its the most difficult thing ever yet I manage to pull it off well. It takes a lot of dedication, training, and talent to do so.

"Saawan ne aaj to mujhko bhigo diya
Hay meri laaj ne mujhko dubo diya..."

^ The way she streched out the last line and the way she used the high notes in her voice was just mesmorizing. Again to be that good requires a lot of practice and training.

"...kuch maine kho diya..."

^ What beautiful singing right in that line. It is probably one of the most difficult lines in the song. And the way she sung it was just really a hats of performance! 👏

Probably the best part of this song was that both the singers complimented each other so well. Neither was superior to the other. Both sung equally well. Udit ji ka kya awaaz hai. Probably one of the strongest and best duets of the two.

"Aa dil ke paas aa is dil ke raaste..."

^ My god. 😳 This is to die for! What awesome singing. Awesome isn't even the word to describe this performance by the two! SO MAGICAL! 😍

I really could go on and on just talking about the wonderful singing these two singers did. They really worked hard for this and it showed. And it wouldn't be fair on my part to give this performance anything lower than a 10.

So here goes my very first 10 for Alka ji.

Final Rating: 10/10

Agreed! I think so first time I have agreed with u😆 Anyways I must say this indeed a superb song of Alkaji & one of the finest & beautiful composition of A r rehman.
The lines which created magic for me were ofcourse
Saawan ne aaj toh mujhko bheego diya
Hai meri laaj ne mujhko dubo diya
The way she sang it was simply mindblowing! By this song itself we come to know why Alkaji was such popular singer in most of A r rehman compositions. Hope to see her topping this time.
Definitely a 10/10 from me
Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: debayon

Rani ji said she'll never give anyone a perfect score 😆

Abe chup kar na. There are exceptions you know! And this is by far one of them!
Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RU01KFk7dvw[/YOUTUBE]

Hayeeee. 😍 😍 😍

The magical voices of Alka ji and Udit ji. 😍

I hope you all enjoyed my song selection! 😆
Edited by Cutiepie Rani - 14 years ago
Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
what the heck? a 1? who rates this a 1? 😭 🤢 😕 😡 😲 😔 😒 😳 👎🏼 🤔 🥺
simi_1 thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 2

This is only the 2nd song im grading in this round and wow this rounds seems to churn out gems

Guess this is another classical raagam, bhairavi or sindhu bhairavi have to check it out
well too tired will come back to rating tomorrow monring
esseesse thumbnail
Anniversary 15 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 2
With Anand Bakshi and A.R.Rehman at the helm, you can expect nothing but the best. And add showman Subhash Ghai to the list, a director so passionate about music which reflects in all his movies, its like an icing on the cake.

Taal's music is eternal and a smash hit in many countries of the world. And this is one of those few films that has a great title track, this one gets a fitting response and gels with the perfect romantic mood of the film. Superb choreography is another brilliance.

But its the sheer brilliance of the singing trio-the uditji/alkaji duo and the chorus that makes this track an eternity. The chemistry between the duo is bloody good.

The chorus is another killer. You have to give credit to them. The way feelings and expressions are added takes this song to new heights.

Lets start with the beginning. the chorus. Voice clarity is killer. Voice quality is another. And tempo is another.
Alkaji's singing hits a new high. Yes, her high octave traits are present but she goes even higher. And even higher. From 2 scales high when she reduces her pitch, she modulates her voice in the lines "saawan ne aaj to mujhko..." which is simply brutal. Mind you, when changing scales and at the same time you modulate your voice, it can sometimes go haywire. But not for a seasoned singer like alkaji.
Hard riyaaz plus effort counts. And its not as easy as it sounds. Its tough but at the same time, exciting as a challenge. Add to that superb raag alaap at the end and you get a complete package.

Uditji's superb singing complements this track brilliantly. he again goes for high octaves and keeps his voice clarity intact. Sheer quality displayed. From the beginning to the end, this track makes for a hell of a roller coaster experience which has to be felt to be believed.

Subhash Ghai is often known for experimenting with music and so does A.R.Rehman. This is another brilliant experiment.

The result of experiment-get to listen to another side of this brilliant duo. Once again, hail the Indian music for giving scope.

Another track, another 9/10.
Sheer close to perfection.👏
Looks like this round can turn out to be best ever.
Edited by cosworthkid007 - 14 years ago
Cutiepie_Rani thumbnail
@ Sid - Tum ne to mujhe dara hi diya tha 😆
kuhu.kuhu thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail
Beautiful song !!!...Undoubtedly one of Alkaji's best .....and the compositon is superb!!!...everything about the song , mood , melody pitch and expressions are close to perfect .....Give 1 extra point for the feel and repeat value !!!!!
I rate this song a perfect ........................................................................10
xobile thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: simi_1

This is only the 2nd song im grading in this round and wow this rounds seems to churn out gems

Guess this is another classical raagam, bhairavi or sindhu bhairavi have to check it out
well too tired will come back to rating tomorrow monring

It's Bhairavi in Hindustani and Sindhu-Bhairavi in Carnatic I think 😊

Anyway, lovely song. I think Rahman followed by Anu Malik (somewhat) have brought out the best in Alkaji. The thing with ARR is that his mind comes up with the most intricate and unique tunes, and he will NOT change the melody just because the singer finds it difficult. Thus, singers always get a chance to challenge themselves under him, e.g. Alkaji in 'Taal Se Taal' or Uditji in 'Yeh Tara Woh Tara' or Sonu in 'Tu Hi Tu'....

I'll be lost for words if I start describing this song. So let me get focus on Alkaji's singing.

The song starts with Sukhiji's bols, followed by a chorus singing 'Dil yeh bechain ve...'.

Alkaji only joins in on the second time the line is sung, and you can hear her smile distinctly even in a chorus full of surila singers. I don't know if it's because I've listened to Alkaji all my life or some magical ingredient in her voice, but I can instantly connect with her singing. If music is about moving a person through sound, then Alkaji is no doubt a great musician.

On the technical side, the lines she sang were harkat-heavy. The transitions from one line to the allowed many opportunities for some beautiful filligree work. Then the high notes were beautifully reached, albeit with a little stress in her voice - keep in mind these are some of the highest notes any singer has attempted in the song. And she finishes her verse with a flourish...

😳

And then Uditji starts singing! 😍

Score for Alkaji: 9/10 👏

somone999 thumbnail
Anniversary 14 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail + 2
Such a mesmerizing track. Reminds you of rain..ahhhh.. Lovely singing by Alka ji. Delicate handling of the variations, with beautiful, apt expressions. Her voice suited this song really well. She brings romance, pain, happiness, sadness - all the elements required for this song. Lovely.

My score for this performance will be 9 out of 10.
Edited by somone999 - 14 years ago