TallyHo thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 2

Ok...first things first...Kareena does wear a bikini and she looks great...Infact her new look was one of the very few interesting things about the whole movie. Having lost weight and with her new toned body she sizzles and flirts with the camera in the "dil haara" and "chaliaya" songs. Gone is the Bebo of the past with the puppy fat on her cheeks and the hearty smile has been replaced by a sultry, sexy pout.

Coming next to Saif Ali...well contrary to all beliefs, he isn't the hero of the movie and has less of an impact than Akshay who happens to be the one with the main role. But still in whatever is given to him he fairs well. No doubt about the fact that he has arrived as an actor and is in that premier league.

Akshay Kumar...the expectations are high. People actually applauded when he first appeared on the screen. He excels in the comic scenes as usual. He is excellent in the scene where he feels shy about saying "I Love you".

Anil Kapoor has been given the most irritating part of bhaiyaaji who loves to converse in his own form of English...the fact that he makes his role bearable in parts only speaks of his prowess as an actor

The villain of the film is actually the story...the plot is weak and the screenplay which takes you from Haridwaar, to Greece, to Rajasthan in a span of 10 minutes doesn't help either. Some of the locales are beautiful though.

The action scenes which are actually supposed to be the highlight of the movie were the actual let down for me. The background score in the action sequences is jarring and offends your senses...be it the "tashan hai" or the "bachchan pandey" which plays everytime Akshay beats the goons...

The climax which should have had the pulses racing seems like a drag and you are waiting for the whole thing to end fast. Some of the action sequences also are a bit "caricaturish"... akshay , saif and kareena touting their guns and firing the rounds reminds of your childhood chor police games that you played in your backyard

The picturisation of the song "dance maare" reminds you of one of those bad 70's movie what with those blonde wigs n all

Saif-Kareena chemistry is very much evident and Kareena lacks that passion in her scenes with Akshay. Saif's son is there for a tiny bit...but he is cute and definitely a star in making...resembles Saif totally

Bottom line is it is all gloss and very little substance

My verdict: Timepass

My rating: 2.75/5

-Mansi- thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 4
I dont agree 2 you..I think the movie is gr8!
NeemoluvzMumait thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail
is it okay for famillies to watch?
sweet_angel_29 thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
I was talking to my cousin in India who watched movie and she told me the movie is unbearable. People were leaving half way through the movie:( i was quiet surprised to hear that since it was one of the most awaited movie of the yr.
Connie thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail + 2
I was watching Ndtv there was a woman who said she wished she gave the cash she spent for the ticket to some hospital, and another one said she felt she aged after the movie got over 😆

I have not watched the movie yet but that song dance maare is really odd 😕 it has some terrible lyrics 😳
Edited by Connie - 16 years ago
TheRowdiest thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: NeemoluvzMumait

is it okay for famillies to watch?

No No No yaar , its not a movie which can be watched with families.

Edited by Rajeev Ki Heer - 16 years ago
220680 thumbnail
Aw, man, everyone seems to have hated it. 😕
rajkin thumbnail
Anniversary 17 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail
It is such a stress buster to review this movie which is so funny "jisme mazaak nahin hota but humein mazaak udaana padta hai aur us udtey mazaak ki dhool se bhi hum apni aankhon mein dhool nahin jhonk sakey". The logic and presentation of this movie is as wierdly understood as the underlying idea of this sentence. TASHAN is style but the story is so foolish.people wont even take it in a tv serial. Frankly this movie can b expressed in any three minute mtv video. Even they have a firmer story line. Anil kapoor is so irritating.Akki has got two comic and one romantic scene.Kareena has got two gr8 songs where she looks gorg glam and very international. With her bony anorexic look she starts cutting her jeans in one scene aand when Akki asks her why she says TASHAN. To call this movie a nonsense wud also b a compliment cos at least those nonsense david dhawan films are fun. This one isnt. As the rediff guy puts it-Absurd. Kareena tries hard to look lik Ash in Dhoom 2 and do action like Shilpa but what she ultimately looks like is a slightly bearable form of Jiah Khan. On second thots why did the director not offer it to Jiah. The song DIL HAARA is nice. But is Saif out of his head to sport that mouchtache. This movie will b unbearable for some people even to watch it on tv too. AVOid is what everyone will b doin cos of the word of mouth. Had they not made Anil character so annoying at least yash raj cud hve fooled the youth . BUT now no hope. At the cost of sounding very silly - Shaayad shahid ki baddua lag gayi is movie ko. Another critic perfectly said that it is a Upgraded version of JBJ. ON second thots even that was better.
cameroon16 thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Commentator 1 Thumbnail
Well than i wouldn't be watching it 😆
*payal* thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
the movie started off okay but midway it got lost somewhere...it had potential, it couldve been a good thriller, i mean it had a good comic book feel to it in the beginning...but the plot just didnt grow...it wouldve been better if they didnt try to bring all the bollywood drama in the second half and just stuck to the comic book concept...