Rakesh Roshan was a flop actor and wasn't a big director until Kahona Pyaar hair
You cant really use that analogy as he does few movies a yearOriginally posted by: Harley_Quinn
Hrithik helped Rakesh Roshan more than Rakesh Roshan helped Hrithik. This is not a justification of Hrithik didn't need his Dad's help to become a Superstar.
We're talking about Rakesh's effect in Hrithik's career. Not Hrithik's effect on Rakesh's career.
His biggest Hits are with his dad except Dhoom 2 and War. Remove them from his filmography and let's see where he stands.
Bollywood unfortunately has a LOT of actors who would be nowhere without their family connections, but Hrithik is definitely not one of them... in fact he is one of the rare nepo kids who actually has looks, acting talent, dance, and basically everything you would need to get a break even without contacts...
Rest of the nepos of his era (except Rani and Kareena) would all come under the "would be nowhere without their contacts" category though.
Let's say he was an uneven director/producer when it came to financial success as well as product.
As a director - Karan Arjun (1995) with SRK & SK was a blockbuster, Khoon Bhari Maang (1989) with Rheka, Kabir Bedi was a super hit & Khudgarz with Jeetnedra , Govinda (1987) was a hit.
But the others were average like Koyla (SRK, Madhuri) or flops like - King Uncle (Jackie Schroff, SRK), Khel (Mahduri, Anil) and Karobaar: The Business of Love (made after KNPH (Anil and Juhi).
The under performance of Koyla is why Rakesh had to mortgage his house to make KHNP which was the biggest hit of his career in terms of $ (because he mostly financed it) and footfalls - and certainly in acclaim. Though the overwhelming acclaim of the movie went to Hrithik and far after that the music.
After the flop of Karobaar post KNPH he came up with KMG in 2001. He didn't make it to "save" Hrithik's career (at that point - KHNP, MK, Fiza, KG3, Yaadein - the only flop) but to get his own back on track.
As a director with super stars he's worked with more than once -
Anil Kapoor - Two flops (with Madhuri & Juhi)
Madhuri - One flop, one average (with SRK)
SRK - One blockbuster (with Salman), one average (with Mahduri), one flop (with Jackie)
Hrithik - three blockbusters and a super hit.
Is it any wonder why Rakesh has said in 2014 he will not work with any other actor as a lead in his films. It's not because it's his son but because as he's said he knows Hrithik's worth. He's worked with a lot of top talent as an actor, director and producer. He's not a particularly soft hearted man. He's said he would not have made KNPH if he didn't believe in Hrithik's talent and he certainly wouldn't have mortgaged his house. He also knows his net worth before and after.
Also -
Bhagwan Dada was a landmark film for me. Hrithik had a small role as a kid in that film and I was good enough a judge of talent to realize that he was super-star material 15 years before Kaho Naa…Pyaar Hai. Today, I realize with great joy that I was right, and that no actor of his generation can touch him!” -- J. Om Prakash
A doting grandfather but also an immensely successful producer/director with a great eye for talent. (his top actors were Rajesh Khanna, Dharmendra, Jeetendra and Sanjeev Kumar) J. Om Prakash for all his success and talent was unable to direct or produce a hit film with his son in law- Rakesh - as the lead.
Exactly where he stands right now 😆
Let’s say out of all nepotism products he has the looks and it’s the only one out of the rest where I would say he would have found his way into the industry even without the connections and privilege he has right now.
Talent wasn’t visible for anyone in their first movies. The privilege most of them had was to be already on film sets learn and see how all of this work without literally doing anything or getting Chances to go to some international film schools or whatever and then we say they have talent 😆 when most of them are trained since their childhood.
But good looking people always find a way into Bollywood that’s why I would say Hrithik would still manage it and with time his X factor would still get him far later on.
I remember, when Ranbir was about to debut in Sawaariya, the media was on a roll, everyone wanted to know that can RK be the one who can recreate the same magic with his debut as HR had done. 13 years later, HR still is the only superstar of the last 2 decades, and that too after huge gap years, a sad and malicious media controversy (Kangna), a divorce and multiple health issues. He has seen it all, he has groomed himself to come back, he did not let his failures of setbacks affect him, and how commendable is that? He is the only superstar who tries onscreen, rest of them sleepwalks barring Aamir, Hrithik definitely would be huge with our with his father's influence, however I do not think Kaho na pyar hai and koi mil gaya would be this iconic and memorable had it not been HR in the leading roles.
Hrithik would have made it even without his father's help. He has it all - he's a complete package. I really think that he would have succeeded even if he was not a nepo product.
Most of his flops/average hits also have good openings such as Kaabil and Super 30.
Nailed it.🤣
The better question is where Rakesh would be without Hrithik - not worth a thousand crore plus.
Hrithik is Rakesh's money maker, not the other way around. He has elevated every single Rakesh film well beyond what was on the page or came from the director's chair. Even Rakesh knows this which is why he's said that he won't make a film without Hrithik anymore while Hrithik will of course work with others.
I'd almost take this post seriously if not for this sentence
War was a two hero film and Tiger deserves equal credit if not more than Hrithik for it's success.
🤣
I would have surely answered but I see your intent is not to have a conversation but to put down HR
Below lines make that intent very clear
Originally posted by: Harley_Quinn
K3G had an ensemble cast which was headlined by SRK and Hrithik had a supporting role in the movie.
War was a two hero film and Tiger deserves equal credit if not more than Hrithik for it's success.
All the best in your attempt, which is bound to fail though
I would have surely answered but I see your intent is not to have a conversation but to put down HR
Below lines make that intent very clear
All the best in your attempt, which is bound to fail though
Stating facts is putting him down?
Hrithik wasn't in supporting role in K3G?
War wasn't a two hero film? Why was the movie named War in the first place?
comment:
p_commentcount