Chapter 34
Part 34 (update by Aisha darling)
"I'll leave, Khushi, but tell me this one thing. If once, by mistake, or let's say in my own selfishness I break a glass of water. Won't I ever get another glass of water to quench my thirst? Will I, for the rest of my life; be destined to live without water?" Arnav asked, emotions choking his throat.
"You'll get the water, Arnav. But you won't get it in the same glass, because that glass is broken; beyond repair" Khushi replied, her eyes locked with his.
And after a second of excruciating silence, Khushi added,
"But people like you, Arnav, don't care about the glass. You only care about quenching your thirst"
Arnav's heart dropped to the bottom. All the bright hopes that yes! Finally Khushi has come just to take a glimpse of him, vanished into nothing.
"People do mistakes, Khushi ! That's what makes them human and not God. And it's not like I've not repented. It's not like I have not pleaded before you and it's not like I haven't cried for your mercy, and still, Khushi? What would it take to win you back?"
Khushi didn't say anything. The answer was ready in her mind, on her tongue and she knew this was going to shut him up. She maintained the eye lock they shared.
"Won't you say something, Khushi?"
"What was my mistake, Arnav? It's not like I didn't repent giving my everything for you, it's not like I didn't plead before you and it's not like I haven't cried for your mercy and then still, Arnav? What would've it taken to stop you then? People don't make mistakes Arnav, but yes some suffer none the less"
Arnav dropped his gaze. How right she was. The fact hit his heart like a dagger leaving a searing pain in there.
**~~~**
Hands still on her mouth and eyes still wide open, Anjali shook her head as she stared at Abhay with immense shock. Abhay laughed and removed the hands from her face.
"You are kidding me, right?" She said, choking on the words.
"Why will I? Is it 1st April today?" asked Abhay.
"No actually.. I" Anjali's eyes began to well up as she talked.
"You what, Anjali?" Abhay asked, softly, cupping her face.
"I..I..tho..ugh..t..yo..we..re..break..ing"
Anjali had begun to sob and said between her sobs.
"up.. and..he...re..yo..u..are prop..osing..me ... I n..ev..er .."
Anticipated?" He completed it for her and she nodded her head.
"Oh,:Anjali. I am so sorry,: darling. It was just Ar"
Abhay stopped abruptly. He was not supposed to say that out loud. He was not the right person to say that.
"It was just... I was an idiot to ignore you. But I promise you. I'll never hurt you again"
He kissed her forehead.
"Now open the box"
"Yes" She said, wiping her tears and smiling.
Anjali opened the box. Its inside were lined with white silk, and within that delicate fabric, lay a glimmering silver locket, cut in the shape of a heart.
Anjali opened the heart. It had "I love you" on left and her picture on right.
"Oh Abhay" She cried and hugged him.
**~~~**
Khushi looked at him, as Arnav stood there, his gaze everywhere but on her.
"You want to say something, Arnav?"
"Yes" He said, after a long pause
"Go ahead"
"I am the unluckiest person in the world, Khushi. I have everything and yet I have nothing" He said that and silently walked out of her cabin.
Shouldn't her heart be dancing that she shut him up?
Shouldn't she have that wicked smirk on her face because she defeated him?
Or at least shouldn't she take a sigh of relief that he left without getting to know the reason behind her sudden burst in Mr Roy's cabin?
Of everything she expected, she didn't find any pleasure in hurting him.
Instead she was guilty at heart, teary on face and sobbing in pain.
Why did fate did this to them? Not her, not him but them?
They were a happy couple.
But NO!
It was just her. Always her.
Arnav never thought that way.
He was never involved in it.
Her dreams of owning a small house with a little pool where she could live with her Arnav, a room adorned with Salman Khan's posters, a pet, maybe a cat because Arnav didn't like dogs. According to him, they were too nuisance to be kept in houses and their shrill barks in the mid of night were just intolerable. Watching Salman's movies in weekends, teaching him to fry Jalebis and so many endless dreams which now brought nothing but pain.
She recalled how she used to put her head on his shoulder and talk about the dreams while he just kept nodding, always trying to touch her at every single opportunity.
How could she have been so blinded in his love to understand?
And then it fit.
This was his time to repent and repay and learn what he lost of his sheer carelessness.
It was time for Arnav's punishment while Khushi already got hers; by being deserted.
She was lost in thoughts, when her cell rang.
"Abhay calling" She read.
"Hello...lover boy" She added so as not to sound off.
"Actually it's lover girl, Khushi"
"OH Anjali. How are you"
"Fine, actually more than fine. I want to thank you"
"For what?"
"Umm.. For putting some sense in this senseless idiot"
Khushi laughed as she could hear Abhay's "Hey, that was mean I tell you"
"You two owe me a treat" she said.
"Definitely."
Khushi smiled. At least something was fine.
**~~~**
Arnav had left Khushi's office and sat inside his car. Khushi's words were echoing in his ears.
"What was my mistake, Arnav? It's not like I didn't repent giving my everything for you, it's not like I didn't plead before you and it's not like I haven't cried for your mercy and then still Arnav? What would've it taken to stop you then? People don't make mistakes Arnav, but yes some suffer none the less"
Arnav had never thought that he will be cursing his life for Khushi.
Khushi Gupta, the lady who used to constantly blabber and fool around.
Khushi Gupta, the girl who was irrevocably in love with him and on the other hand, he literally didn't give a damn about her!
If he had ever known the same girl would later won't give a damn when he was irrevocably in love with her, he would've died rather than betray her.
He remembered how proud she used to be when people used to watch them walking together.
Those "oohs" and envious eyes made Khushi snuggle into him more and he used to enjoy. Poor girl, madly in love while all his prince charming did was lust after her.
His cell had been ringing since last three minutes, but he was lost from the world that he never realized it. When the vibration grew louder with the passing ring, he finally had to come out of his reverie and see who was calling him.
"Khushi Calling"
His heart skipped a beat. Sweat broke over his forehead. Why was she calling him?
Was she sorry for what she said? Or had she something more to add.
Fingers crossed, he picked the call.
"Yes, Khushi" He said, trying to keep his voice as steady.
"Arnav do you remember that bonfire?" She asked
"I do, why?"
"Because, I remembered what an idiot I was to remain with you the whole night, not leaving your side, never moving an inch so someone else would grab you"
"And today, right now I actually laugh recalling that. What's the point of someone taking you away when you were never mine. But you know what makes me solemn?"
"What?" He wanted to hear, he wanted to hear everything and have an end of it.
"That now, when I officially don't even want to come close to you, you actually want to.. Ironic right?"
"Khushi I"
"You know what, only if you felt the same way then, none of us would be going through this trauma of emotions"
"Khu"
The line had dropped.
With immensely trying to pay attention to his driving, Arnav finally reached his home.
"Hari Prakash!" He yelled
"Ji Arnav Bhaiya?"
"If anyone asks where I am, tell I am in my room, preparing a presentation and I want no disturbances"
"Yes"
He walked the stairs, entered his room and locked. He walked towards the bed and dropped himself on it.
What in the world was he supposed to do to win her back, to get her?
He has repented, asked for forgiveness, begged for forgiveness, swore to be a good person, asked for forgiveness again, and repented more and more. But what was left? A time machine, so he could go back and change the past?
"What am I supposed to do?" What's left? What is it that I haven't done yet?" He thought and thought and thought and something clicked him.
"Abhay!" He said.
Perfect! This was what it will take to get Khushi back.
He hated Abhay and who knew it better than Khushi? If he apologizes to him, Khushi will see he's crushing his own ego and she will see the depth of his rueness.
No!
It's strange that amidst tension, sufferings and hard times, a ray of hope brings bundles of joy and that's what happened. There was small smile on Arnav's face.
He will get her back. No matter how many efforts and convincing it takes.
What happened in past, he couldn't change it but he won't sit idle and watch Khushi hate him.
He will win her love back. This time for sure.
Pearl_Oyster2013-11-15 08:15:57
Comments (63)
Amaizing teaser:)Will be waiting for the update:)
11 years ago
'Nyways ...Lovely Teaser, Kiran!
11 years ago
Just a plain joke' He told himself. Arnav baby ... do u really thnk tht ths iz a JOKE ?! Heck! NoOo !!!!! 😈
11 years ago
U U U again teaserRash I swear.. U r gonna be crushed like sugarcane😡and the teaserAnjali rockzzArnav shockzz
11 years ago
oh this is turning out to be interesting...
11 years ago
nice...plain joke😆..update soon..
11 years ago
Superb teaser... hahahaha .. I would love to see arnav's reaction when anjali tells him that
11 years ago
nice teaserthanks for the pm
11 years ago
Amazing teaser can't wait update soon
11 years ago
Arnav is surely gonna get a jhatka. Awesome teaser
11 years ago