Chapter 26
Part 26
[NOCOPY]
“Beta,I will talk to him” Geet did not say anything and left.
Geet was confident of her love of her Maan. She was in pain of separation and more that her beloved Dad, in his stubbornness , did this to her.
But Mohinder was all worried now, what if Maan gives up and what if his mother gives up and if she wants her son to settle down properly.
“No, not anymore. Whatever it takes. ”
The food was being laid on the long dining table where only Savitri Devi and Maan settled for dinner. Savitri Devi looked at him as he quietly had his dinner without a word. This was his daily act, he did all work without a word. It pained her. How long will it take? Maan was about to get up
“Main baat karoon unse” “No?” and he left. He has turned into a man of few words.
He settled in his room and closed his eyes, resting his head on the headboard on the bed. Separation from Geet, his loving wife, has slowly slowly torn Maan apart from heart. First year he had been able to handle, making himself busy at work, there was zeal to get her back. But then no call from Mohinder years after years have made him a machine man on the work front, while alone, all he would do is get lost in her. The pain of separation has rubbed itself so much in his heart that it had placed scratches all over it. He has got used to that pain but any reminder would just surface the pain and bruise their heart like anything.
It was a business party. Maan was the center of most of the people. All wanted to meet him for business and ladies and girls were eager to give him attention and get attention from him. Neelam was one of them. When she approached him with a drink he smiled and moved away. He was never rude to anyone, he could not. That was not him. But she reached him again and he could not deny her wish to dance with her. It was just mechanical for him anyways and the girl would be happy.
Mohinder watched Maan from afar. He never knew he would ever have this feeling for this boy but today he felt a small tear drop in the corner of his eyes. His heart felt broadened with pride, His son in law, most decent, most successful, most grounded and one of the most respected in these days. But the shame that Mohinder felt realizing the contrast between himself and his son in law was not helping in letting his leg move forward. How will he meet his gaze?
Mohinder, after taking a glance at his Son in law, quickly moved out of the party hall. He was anyway not invited and Maan was not even expecting his presence there by any means. This business group party was not related to any of Handa’s business. But Mohinder had landed himself there.
When Mohinder reached home, he again got to see the robotic Geet, who was busy with office files.
“Not any more dear. I cannot give further pain to both of you to hide my shameful face.”
It was a bright sunny Sunday morning. Savitri Khurana was watching the beautiful long running garden of Khurana Mansion. The Mansion was made in 25 acre land in the suburb of Delhi. The grand Mansion stood with pride at center on the land. The land was bordered with strong high wall simple yet classic boundaries and gated at all four corners where guards were planted, with all security setup. There was the main gate to regulate incoming and outgoing and it was laced with more tighter security.
Maan would wonder many times, when had he imagined he would even need this level of security for him and his mother in this world. He was unknown to the world and no one would even consider him, leave apart any need to harm him. But things have changed in these few years and he has come very far.
Maan settled on the chair in the garden around the garden table and watched his mother working with the row of gardeners working on the vegetable plantation. Smile formed on his face seeing his mother who has gotten so well. Yes, this was one thing that an abundance of money had provided him.
He got busy with the business section of the newspaper when tea arrived and the servant went to call Savitri Devi for morning tea. Maan was mostly present on page 3 of the newspaper along with his companies on the business section, but he never even bothered opening that page, he would read the front page for main news and then would pull the business section. Though newspaper news nowadays were a day old, still he liked to go through it.
Savitri Devi settled on the chair opposite to him. They were quietly sipping their tea when Maan’s cell rang with main gate security
“yes” he placed it on speaker
“Sir Mr. Mohinder Handa is requesting for an entry” Maan looked at his mother, both having surprise on their faces. Savitri Devi gave a quick prayer to her Babaji hoping it is something that she has been waiting for.
Maan soon composed himself “Bring him in with all respect and make him settle in main living area”
Mohinder was made to settle in the main living area. He was not sure if he would even be entertained to enter the house but he had faith in Maan’s love for his daughter. He turned his head all around to admire the elegance and hugeness of the hall. At least five times more than Handa Haveli. But he knew Maan did none of these for comparison and to show him down, Maan would never do that. Money he has now around the world is huge and the way he has set up strategies, it’s just increasing with profits. So the pouring Money and international best architects have done it for him. Also, Maan had started a construction business and thus his elegant Mansion had to set an example.
Mohinder was served with snacks and drinks when Savitri Devi appeared in a cream colored fine silken saree with light green and golden border. She had one gold chain in her neck and a single gold bangle with ruby and emerald finely engraved in them and small diamond studs in the ears. She had her saree anchal covered on both shoulders. Perfect example of simplicity and elegance. Simplicity was her own and elegance as Maan would keep gifting her and would force her to adorn them. Now she is used to them and handles them with perfection.
“Namaste” She joined her hand and appeared in front of him, a bit far.
“Namaste” Mohinder stood with all respect. He really felt respect toward this woman from the depth of his heart. How and what kinds of words he has used for her, demeaning her as she was Maan’s mother but she held no grudges. her simple smile said it all.
“Take a seat” she signaled him towards the seat with hand as she took her own seat.
“How are you?” he asked with a smile, feeling ashamed within.
“I am good. How are you and how is Geet” He heard some crack in her voice as she said ‘Geet’
“I am okay. Geet is not good” he felt choked even speaking. But he has to face and only speak the truth.
Ohh how she wanted to bring Geet here, embrace her and give her mother’s love.
“umm… woo” he hesitated. She waited.
“How is… how is Maan”
“Same as Geet” she smiled back. But it was again a hard hit on Mohinder for the blunder and sin he had done.
He then suddenly joined hands “with your permission, can we unite them. It’s all my fault but I can't see Geet’s pain anymore. Don’t ever forgive me but please bless my child now.”
“Please Bhai saab, don’t join hands like this. Let’s forget all these.I was just waiting for you. Let us not delay now and work on uniting kids”
How easy it was for her to call them kids, he did not have the right to call Maan that way.
He looked around the house
“He will soon be coming” she said understanding him
Maan was pacing in his room as he got ready to go down in the hall.
Maan descended and saw both parents talking. He was wondering where the talks were heading.
“hello” Maan greeted Mohinder and took his seat, still unsure if he should touch his feet or not. Mohinder had till last not given him the position of his son in law.
“How are you Maan” Maan smiled in return “I am good”, still not sure how to talk to him. Mohinder himself did not know how to talk to Maan, inside feeling loaded with guilt and shame. He had thought it would be so tough to meet eyes with them but Savitri Devi had made it all so simple.
“Maan we have decided for Geet and your remarriage. Bhai Sahab has come for same”
“Remarriage?? why? we are already married just staying separate” Maan was confused
“Maan it is not Bhai Sahab suggesting this. It is my wish”
“Per Maa kyun?”
“Maan you and Geet are always husband and wife but dear you both have been living separately for a long time. It had been a rough journey. I want you both to start fresh with our blessing. Your marriage earlier happened without your parents' blessings, now I want to witness it, I want to enjoy my son’s wedding, each function of it. You also need your father in law's blessing this time.”
“And Maan most knows you are not married and Geet is not married. This marriage will not raise any question about you both uniting. It will all go smoothly and you can restart your life” added Mohinder. Maan just nodded, and did not say a word to him. He did not know what to say to Mohinder, he was not sure if he even wanted any communication with Mohinder.
Mohinder felt his words went wrong “Maan don’t get me wrong. I want you both to lead your new life without any question” Maan nodded.
Awkward silence was hanging in the air for a few while as there was huge hesitation between Maan and Mohinder. Maan could not understand this change in tone while Mohinder was loaded with guilt for each word.
Maan, after sinking in the talks spoke “Am I allowed to meet Geet before we finalize this.I would like to know her view before we do anything”
“Of course, she is your wife. Whenever you wish” Mohinder wanted to say so much. He wanted to praise Maan in all ways but did not know if he even deserved to praise Maan.
“Also, if we can keep it simple with all rituals and close gatherings. I don’t want it to be big media news.”
“Okay, as you wish. Whatever way you and Geet decide.”
Maan was sitting in his room looking at Geet’s picture which he had enlarged. But he held her another photo in photo frame
“Kaise nazren milaonga main tumse. How will I erase your pain? How will I compensate for those days? You never wanted this but I made you agree to this. Maaf kerdena na apne Maan ko” he had a lump in his throat. He was dying to ask forgiveness in all ways but he could not figure out how he would compensate for all the pain that she had bore.
Mohinder was very elated as he reached Mumbai. Happiness is about to knock on the door of his daughter. He was least worried about getting his forgiveness. All he could see now was his daughter. His daughter's aloofness was killing him now. Maybe Maan and Savitri Devi think he was there as Maan was way more capable but that was his punishment.
Geet had worked late night on Saturday and was sleeping late on Sunday. There was a knock on the door. She ignored it once but then there was a knock again “Geet” Geet immediately sat down, her heart thumping strongly “Maan?”. She shook her head “No Geet, stop hallucinating him and imagining him appearing here suddenly.”
“Geet” she heard it again. She could not believe it was really him. She placed her palm on her mouth, her whole self shaking “Maan” escaped her lips, she closed her eyes and tear dropped down her cheeks.
Please Like and comment. Do let me know your view please. It really really motivates me and show me direction.
-Anu
Comments (9)
Atleast now the world now knows maan and geet are husband and wife
4 months ago
I didn't realize there is no more update for this story. Pls cont soon. Waiting. Hope you are doing good. Take care
6 months ago
Chalo kuch toh good kaam kiya Mohinder ne. Keeping aside all ego n shame he took the right decision n that takes a lot of courage. Savitri Devi is sweet Mom. Hope its Maan only n no more pain. Great update.
6 months ago
Finally Mohinder had to bend and talk to Maan and his mother so Maan is already at Geet's bedroom door
1 years ago
Maan has shown Mohinder what a big person he is. And that status is not defined by money alone.
1 years ago
A big lesson was learned by Mohinder today. Maan and his mom gave him respect even after he did not.
1 years ago
Beautiful. 🥹 Maan, Geet, Savitri Devi and Mohinder’s emotions so well expressed.
1 years ago
I’m eagerly waiting the next update for this. Somehow I feel things are not going to be smooth here onwards. There’s issues to address and bridges to gap.
1 years ago
awesome update . so at last mohinder bowed down , he realized his mistake and now feeling shame for himself , he even went to maan's businesses party to meet him when he was not invited there but due to shame didn't meet him . later he went to km to meet maan and his mom . his mom talked to him nicely and it increased his guilt and shame nevertheless he talked to her and requested her to united maaneet . Maaneet's parents specially savitri devi wished for their remarriage . maan met mohinder but there was awkwardness ....and maan told him he want to talk to geet about remarriage thing and mohinder happily agreed . other side maan too felt guilt cos he kinda forced geet to go with her dad . it seems it was not a dream .....maan was there to meet his geet .waiting for next
1 years ago