6:20 a.m.
"The fu**" Advait swore under his breath as he was being swept across his feet.
Next thing he knew,he could see everything inverted.
"You never learn,do you?"
Advait's already shaky body started shivering now.He recognised the voice.
P R I T H V I!
"Shit." Advait shut his eyes forcefully.
He was soon tossed into the air and he landed on his back with a thud.
He was in pain,but with a few quick rubs on his spine,he was back on his feet again.
"Listen...I came becau-" he tried explaining his arrival here,but as soon as he turned to face the man,he was punched him on the face and he was back on the ground again.
He sighed but Advait didn't even try defending himself,he knew he deserved it and for some reason,he was glad that Prithvi was finally letting off some steam.
Prithvi had come to check on Dhruvi,only to find Advait sneaking around in the backyard of their house.Swayam on the other hand had been searching for Advait in an entirely different road.
"Yeah,you were saying?" Prithvi said,a fake innocent expression stuck on his face.
Advait gathered his breath and tried speaking again,"Prithvi I need to talk to her.Ple-"
But..another punch made its way.And then another and another,until, Advait's patience had given up.
"That's enough." Advait retorted coldly.
He wiped off some blood from his chin.His jaws were bleeding,but he looked strong enough to wound a dozen men,all by himself.
Years ago,he was regarded as someone you wouldn't wanna anger,"An angry injured tiger" is the last thing you want.
Advait's eyes weer filled with fury.Seeing this,Prithvi's anger rose.
He lifted his hand to slap him,but Advait caught hold of his wrist.
Within minutes,a fight broke between the two.
Both were covered woth bruises.Blood was dripping out of different locations on their bodies.
Swayam who had been roaming elsewhere,finally appeared here and was shocked to see the sight.
THIS was what he was trying to avoid.
He needed to get them out of the house.
"Prithvi!Leave him!" Swayam ran towards his brother and tried pulling him away.
Prithvi's concentration was entirely on beating the shit out of Advait,so he simply pushed Swayam away.
Swayam couldn't understand what to do.
He caught both of their collars and pushed them out of the second floor.They landed on the half broken down staircase and tobbled down to the backyard.
They got back on their feet and started beatin g each other up again.
Swayam shook his head.
"I should have killed you long back!" Prithvi shot out.
"Oh yeah?Then why did not you?You are a bloody coward!You didn't even have the balls to tell her that you loved her!" Adavit retorted.
Prithvi froze.
"I am the reason she is alive today!I took CARE of her!When you left here there,to die!I was there for her when you weren't" Prithvi clenched his fist.
"And I was there when you weren't!She needed you too Prithvi.We were close,true.But you'll were closer.But the idiot that you are,you left.You left the country for god's sake!Why?Because you were jealous?Wow!Are you sure you're a man?!" Advait mocked.
''I was there for her at THAT time.And believe me,it was no less than a life or death situation" he continued
Prithvi's anger had reached its saturation point.But he knew,he knew whatever Advait was saying was cent percent right.What shocked him,was that Advait was aware about all the unresolved emotions between Dhruvi and Prithvi.And it seemed almost like..almost like..he CARED.
Prithvi was confused.He looked at Swayam who was standing at a distance and "Get him out of here bhai!" he told him in an even tone.
Advait sighed,"And as always,Prithvi,the great,walks away again." he spat.
Advait always considered Prithvi and himself as equals.The alpha men.But both of them had their weaknesses.This being Prithvi's.
Advait had come here to apologise and to get the two of them,Dhruvi and Prithvi confess about their feelings.
Prithvi didn't even respond,he simply got into his car and left the place.
Swayam came to Advait and said "Look,you risked her life.And that's what bothering him.That's what bothering all of us.But I,out of all people,know,that you did care.But for everyone's good,please leave."
Advait nodded and started heading towards his car.He stopped halfway and said "Dhru loves him.See to it that they are together."
Swayam was pleasantly surprised,but by the time he could say 'okay',Advait was no longer in visible sight.
It was almost seven thirty a.m now.He wondered how long had the fight being going on for before he had come.
He stared at the parcel.THE PARCEL.He opened the cloth and rubbed the gun against the sleeves of his t-shirt.
"I guess you weren't needed today to get people wounded,mate." he chuckled.
-------------------------
8 a.m.
Dhruvi flipped open her mac.She simply browsed through the net and then thought of checking her mails.
She typed a quick reply to certain important ones and then trashed the unnecessary ones.She yawned and looked at the clock in her room.
He usually gave her a call a this time.He hadn't done that today.She peeped through her window.The maid was watering the flower pots in the Rai Mansion.She couldn't see through Prithvi's room though.The curtains were shut.Some kids were waiting for their school bus somewhere nearby and some people were taking their routine morning walk.
She thought of giving him a call instead ,she dialled his number.
'The number you are trying to reach is currently switched off.Please try again later.'
"His battery must have died.Hmm.Where is he anyway?" a tiny frown made way through her cheeks.
She stared into her mac again,she simply ran her finger through the mouse.
She accidentally clicked on archives and landed on a couple of emails she had planned on NEVER opening.
'E-mails from addvait.p******@gmail.com'
She froze.
She wasn't supposed to open them.
But now they were open now.
A part of her wanted to read them,the memories which had seemed withered over the years,felt somehow afresh at the moment.Her entire journey with Advait was somehow encaptured through those mails.She opened one particular conversation with him.
Her eyes grew moist by each passing second.She shut her eyes timidly.A tear soon made its way.
-------------------------------
6 years ago...
It was a sunny afternoon.Dhruvi was exhausted,but she wasn't ready to leave.She had been waiting outside hid office for more than 2 hours now.He had asked her to wait in the car,but she had denied the offer and had chosen to stand outside.
She was profusely sweating,plus,she was starving.Her stomach churned.She simply swallowed some more saliva and stared at the big building once again.His office was on the 2nd floor.She couldn't see through the tinted glass windows,but there wasn't much she could do at the time.
Her face lit up a little bit when she saw Advait's office peon head towards her.
"Dhruvi madam?You,here?" the skinny boy asked her.
"Mohan!I came here with your Advait sir.He told me he'll be back in half an hour,but...he must be busy with a meeting up there,am i right?"Dhruvi asked him,concerned.
"No madam.Sir left long back.Maya madam had called,so he left as soon as he came."Mohan innocently replied.
"But he didn't tell me..."Dhruvi muttered to herself.
"Madam,you look tired,come sit inside,i'll make the special muskmelon juice you like!" Mohan said.
"Umm thanks Mohan.Some other time ok.I'll..I'll be going now..." Dhruvi looked deeply saddened,but she was tryingti hide it.She soon turned around and searched for an auto.
"Madam!Should i tell sir that you were here till now?"Mohan asked her as she was walking away.
"No.Its ok.Dont tell him." she smiled timidly.
Her eyes were moist.She wasn't upset that he was with Maya.She was just..sad..that it didn't matter to him that Dhrui was waiting for him,below the building,standing in the scorching sun,for hours.the least he could do was inform her.But no.As always.He did not.
The autowaalas also seemed like they were on strike or something.She walked and walked,until she couldn't do it anymore.She digged inside her bag and ran her hand inside to search for the mineral water she always carried.But..it wasn't there at the time,as she had given the bottle to Advait some...hours back.
She sat there on the footpath when she no longer could withstand the heat.She drowned her constantly thudding head which had been aching for a long time now, into her palms.
She got up again and walked as fast as she could.Her legs had given up a long time ago,but she had not.She stopped only when she reached her house.
She collapsed as soon as she had entered the compound.The maids in here house had come running towards her and had carried her towards her bed.
The last thing she remembered was passing out as they setttled her on the bed.
When she got her conscience back,she saw Maya sitting on an easy chair close by,looking at her with concern.
Advait and Maya had simply come there to take Dhruvi along for an evening snack.But when they reached,the maids in her house informed them that she wasn't keeping well.
Dhruvi sighed.Maya was her friend,a really good one.But at the moment,she could only think of Advait leaving her on the road,under the sun and not appearing for hours.
Tears of anger and frustration soon made their way.But she couldn't shoot out her anger on Maya,because that would anger Advait. So she couldn't,she had to keep all the pain and hurt to herself,yet again.
Advait entered the room soon enough and was about to place a hand on Dhruvi's head,when Dhruvi pushed away his hand.This went unnoticed by Maya.
Advait looked baffled and somewhat angry,as though,she had taken away some right away from him.He always had the upper hand,but now,it looked as if she was taking control.
"Dhru.."he looked at her with an angry gaze.His voice was only audible to Dhruvi.
"Dont.Just DON'T." Dhruvi spoke coldly.She didn't even want to look at him.
ADvait smelled something big approaching,he couldn't risk his relationship with Maya.Dhruvi was never like this.She would never behave like this,and that too with Maya being around and all.
"Umm princess?Could you go get some water for Dhruvi?She looks thirsty."Advait signalled his girlfriend.
Maya truely cared about Dhruvi,she was unaware about everything that had happened some months back between Dhruvi and Advait and thus was still in very good terms with her.
"Dhru!I'll go get you something to eat as well,okay?Take rest babe!And dont you dare get up form that bed!"Maya told Dhruvi.
Dhruvi threw a half friendly smile at her as Maya made her way out.
Advait quickly shut the door and locked it.
"What the hell is wrong with you?!" Advait demanded an answer.
Dhruvi didn't respond.She avoided looking at him.
"I am asking you a quesion Dhru!"
"DhruVI!My name is Dhruvi!And I am not your little slave!You cannot force into doing everything you want!" Dhruvi got out her bed and looked straight into his eyes as she uttered those words.Fury was burning out of her eyes,but they weren't strikingly visible because of the tears masking them.
Advait felt bitter.Why was she behaving like this?She never questioned him and that's why he had survived being friends with a girl for such a long time.
She was smart,funny,pretty and very caring.Plus she did everything he said.What better would he want?
He cared about her...her..Not the person who was speaking in high pitch at the moment.
"What?You can't talk now?ADVAIT,the best is out of words now?!Wow!"Dhruvi mocked.
"Dhru..why are you acting like this?" Advait responded,sounding slightly worried now.
"I am ACTING like this,Advait,because I am tired of waiting for you to CARE.Okay?I have taken enough and more crap from you!I mean..I was standing there for two f$$king hours man!Two hours!And you did not even bother telling me before you left!" she herself,couldn't believe that she was finally confronting him.
"What?Are you crazy or something?Didn't you have the sense to leave?" Advait was pissed.He couldn't believe she did that.
"Yeah.Crazy.That's the word.For being good to person like you." Dhruvi sighed.
"Has an evil spirit possessed you or something?What's your problem?" Advait frowned.
Dhruvi had had enough.He does NOT get to treat her like that.
"YOU!You are my problem!You treat me like a freaking doormat!Inspite of everything I have done for you!I am a human being alright!I too have a life,i l have feelings,i breathe,you know. Im alive!"Dhruvi''s voice choked.
"If you behave like someone who is doormat worthy.Obviously,You will be treated like one!"Advait rudely shot out.
Fresh tears made their way through Dhruvi's eye sockets.How could just have said that?
"You need to see a shrink man.You are not normal" Advait continued.
"I do?You really think so?Please take that back Adu!You dont mean it!"Dhruvi gave up,she was profusely shedding tears now.
"No i wont!Because i mean every word!And there you go.The crying!WOW!" Advait had crossed all limits.
She clenched her starving stomach and cried as hard as she could.
"Why are you doing this Adu?Why?Why me?Why do you hurt me each time?" she was desperate.
"Shut up before I do soemthing to hurt you again now."he replied coldly.
He hated all this drama.Dhruvi was one girl who was devoid of all the drama.But then again,she is a girl,and yes,the drama flu struck her too.That was it.He could no longer be ..friends with her.
"This is it.We're done here.Im leaving."Advait said in an uninterested tone.
"No!I...I need you here Advait!." Dhruvi held his feet.
"Yes I am and stop acting desperate now.You look like a fool" Adavit's face filled with disgust.
Dhruvi had enough.
"Fool?Ofcourse I'm a fool to let someone like you have control over me!You play with my emotions for months,say that you love me and then say,lets just be friends,and then kiss me and then say,lets be friends with benefits and then on a a random day,say,no,that's enough.We should be back to being just friends again.Congrats Advait,you broke me!You struck another jackpot.Yet another girl ruined her life because of you!" she felt sick.
Advait froze.He had known that whatever he had done with her,was wrong,but he somehow told himself,that,she was strong enough to overcome all that pain.What they had,was just a little..whatever.He thought she wouldn't take all that seriously.Because,come on,it was Dhruvi,the tomboy.She wouldn't..she couldn't right?
He couldn't say anything more,he simply walked out of the room,called out for Maya as he reached downstairs,and despite Maya's several pleas to let her see Dhruvi once,he pulled her outside and got into the car.They drove away with seconds.
Dhruvi was left there in her room,all alone.Her sobs went unnoticed.
Little did she know that this was the beginning of the series of tantrums,she was about to witness in the near future.
She shed tears for everything that she thought he would be,but couldn't be...
She shed tears for the man she loved,but didn't love her back...
She shed tears for the best friend she thought she had...but...