AreYaar thumbnail
Is the show back? Really?

I didn't quite feel so after watching the epi encouraged by the largely positive reviews of today's epi.

Let's just get the one expected constant out of the way...Kunal was fantastic as he usually is in the worst of epis this show has churned out.

But the rest...even now the scripting, the writing is NOT convincing...the FLOW is STILL off...and let me just state this clearly...this is NOT about a third angle, NOT about MM fighting, NOT about even that godforsaken mangalsutra...If I even take this scene as a standalone there were SO many stilted bits in it...not surprisingly all from Megha's side.

Aakanksha, I don't know what to say about you...can't call you a newbie anymore...it's been six months in a lead role for you but maybe you aren't familiar with the concept of making even the ridiculous look convincing onscreen...and it sadly shows in your acting...shows very clearly.

When we STRUGGLE to understand what a character is SAYING, FEELING through a scene...that is NOT good writing and direction...when we are just thrown a random PETULANT tantrum of Megha's at the end of a scene supposedly showing her "admitting" her feelings, it is NOT good writing and direction and consequently NOT convincing acting...Aakanksha just goes through the motions like a robot...so SO sad...like seriously cuz she SAYS that it is oh so difficult for her to stay quiet and to have found love and lost it again, we're supposed to buy it? WHY doesn't it show in her body language? In the initial portions of the scene, she's in a different zone...then out of nowhere, suddenly she's vulnerable cuz Mohan threw that himmat line at her...then she randomly blurts out a "I'm sorry"...such DISCONNECT ALL OVER THE PLACE...jeez.

If I hadn't already SEEN good writing and direction in this show, I wouldn't even bother saying all this...btw when did Megha have her miraculous realization? That's also left to our own interpretation? Very nice.

And Mohan..."Mujhe Megha ko bhulana hoga"...so matter of factly...wow...seriously WHERE is the flow in this show...where is the DEPTH in the characters now? 2 second mein koi bhi kuch bhi bol ke nikal jaata hai and we should buy into it cuz it's been TOLD?

I honestly don't see what is there to be applauding about in this epi other than the fact that yes the mahaanly stupid misunderstanding is done with...other than that, poorly written as always...no conviction in the characters.

Anyways that's my minority opinion in what I can see otherwise is celebration day in this forum.

pc_pals thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
I agree to some of the points you told...Audience should be left to understand the body language...The less you talk on such scenes, the more convincing is the act...I would have loved if Mohan had not uttered that bhulaane waala dialogue..it sounded the same as he said "Meghaaa" on death bed in hospital...otherwise Kunal was good in the essence of portrayal of Mohan..\

the thing I liked about today's episode is that they cleared the misunderstanding and it was focussed mainly on Mohan -Megha..
Edited by passionalive - 13 years ago
zandu37 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Tend to agree with you a little bit about Aakanksha's acting prowess. While it pales in front of kkk's brilliance she was quite good in the scene where she breaks down and confesses her love for Mohan. But then look at the superbly crafted and powerful lines that she already had been provided for by the script writers - she should have taken those to a new high! kkk surely would have value added to that through his expressions and dialiogue delivery and made the impact of the lines absoutely mindblowing ! But she is improving each day - so lets be encouraging towards her !!
-Deb- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: zandu37

Tend to agree with you a little bit about Aakanksha's acting prowess. While it pales in front of kkk's brilliance she was quite good in the scene where she breaks down and confesses her love for Mohan. But then look at the superbly crafted and powerful lines that she already had been provided for by the script writers - she should have taken those to a new high! kkk surely would have value added to that through his expressions and dialiogue delivery and made the impact of the lines absoutely mindblowing ! But she is improving each day - so lets be encouraging towards her !!

Agree with U Zandu... she is only 22...She needs some guidance... She is improving... ... but I dont think she was bad in todays epi... Everything was perfect at its own place,,,,

I can only say.. no complains...
no regrets..n no... demands

without-fathom thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
So there is dissent to the common perception. Hmm. I guess I should at least give it a watch today and see how that goes?

- reserved, if it goes in some manner that will make me wana come back say some! - (I know, you don't like "reserves" Nurey! 😆 But I like to be on Pg. #1 😎

ps: Randomly, it still makes me happy to at least see your thread here. 🤗 Haven't read the post yet - nor Pooja's - just gathered the general mood cause I wana try and watch this objectively - but well... even if ephemerally, I feel like this is back to routine. Dame. We really got hooked to being NBT-ers, didn't we? Despite all "cautious" approach! 😆

Chalo, hope to be back soon!

AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: without-fathom

So there is dissent to the common perception. Hmm. I guess I should at least give it a watch today and see how that goes?

- reserved, if it goes in some manner that will make me wana come back say some! - (I know, you don't like "reserves" Nurey! 😆 But I like to be on Pg. #1 😎

ps: Randomly, it still makes me happy to at least see your thread here. 🤗 Haven't read the post yet - nor Pooja's - just gathered the general mood cause I wana try and watch this objectively - but well... even if ephemerally, I feel like this is back to routine. Dame. We really got hooked to being NBT-ers, didn't we? Despite all "cautious" approach! 😆

LOL Jzee...it shouldn't surprise you to see me showing dissent...haan if one of the usually "everything ROCKS" brigade had shown dissent, THEN there would be something to be surprised about.

You can try...but I found it to be quite a headdesking epi to watch personally...I made the thread cuz I didn't know where to post this opinion in the happyland the forum is in general *shrugs*

Yes we did get hooked to that routine, the discussions...and I didn't want to reach the usual cycle of venting in frustration as I have over many shows in the past...cuz it is pointless...but having watched the epi early today I wanted to talk about how artificially they are showing it all...

Anyways enough of my ramble...will look forward to your analysis🤗
adoremevirgo thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
i agree with akanksha's acting talent...btw i never felt that she is any more than a mediocre actress...

waise i feel a little relaxed...megha actually admitted to herself that not only mohan but she also knows how to love...not counting her expressions at least the dialogues were enuf to convince me that she too loves mohan...

and i agree with her that she has the strength to lose love after gaining but not mohan...

only thing is mohan did not admit the letter is his...he thinks megha wont believe...how i wish theirs was more transparent relationship that wen mohan wud say something megha will not hesitate to accept it as truth...

now i am counting only on guru...guru dikha de apna kamaal...tell megha that no amar can love half as much as mohan...

and even i felt it so out of place wen mohan said that he will now try to forget megha...wat was that...just a few days back he was ready to die for her and now this...but it was balanced by the dialogue that guru gv "aisa karke to dikhao...naam badal dunga mera aur tumhara bhi"...with this the CVs tried to convey that mohan said it to only preserve his control but with guru's dialogue it was clear that mohan's words were so hollow...

easier said that done...mohan once said to megha "kaash tumse pyar karna bohot mushkil hota...lekin aisa nahi hai"...but now he will realise how difficult it will be to forget her...

today's episode cannot be said as the one that has brought our old NBT back...but at least i felt a sincere attempt...i can start hoping again...

fingers crossed...

letitgo thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Reserved

@Anu - So u dont like reserving ... I am sorry to do that on ur thread but I havent watched the epi yet , will watch and get back
I also have to read posts of SS reply and also take out frustrations after watching today's episode ... so hang on ...
ZaphiraDragon thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: without-fathom

Watch it JZ and i would love to see your comments, what ever it may be :) .. today was a very good one i would say.
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: adoremevirgo

i agree with akanksha's acting talent...btw i never felt that she is any more than a mediocre actress...

waise i feel a little relaxed...megha actually admitted to herself that not only mohan but she also knows how to love...not counting her expressions at least the dialogues were enuf to convince me that she too loves mohan...

and i agree with her that she has the strength to lose love after gaining but not mohan...

only thing is mohan did not admit the letter is his...he thinks megha wont believe...how i wish theirs was more transparent relationship that wen mohan wud say something megha will not hesitate to accept it as truth...

now i am counting only on guru...guru dikha de apna kamaal...tell megha that no amar can love half as much as mohan...

and even i felt it so out of place wen mohan said that he will now try to forget megha...wat was that...just a few days back he was ready to die for her and now this...but it was balanced by the dialogue that guru gv "aisa karke to dikhao...naam badal dunga mera aur tumhara bhi"...with this the CVs tried to convey that mohan said it to only preserve his control but with guru's dialogue it was clear that mohan's words were so hollow...

easier said that done...mohan once said to megha "kaash tumse pyar karna bohot mushkil hota...lekin aisa nahi hai"...but now he will realise how difficult it will be to forget her...

today's episode cannot be said as the one that has brought our old NBT back...but at least i felt a sincere attempt...i can start hoping again...

fingers crossed...

What good are those lines if Aakanksha can't enact them convincingly? If the lines were all that matter, why don't they just stick an inanimate doll in her place? Same difference, no? If it was such an important and rare scene attempting to show us a glimpse into Megha's thought process and THIS is how it was shown, enacted then I don't have much to say unfortunately. Personally speaking I didn't like the lines much either cuz the evolution of Megha's feelings if/whenever they happened needed to be shown in a more profound manner...if they expect me to automatically sympathize with her cuz she's sitting on the floor and crying, that's not going to happen...Aakanksha is not a good crier either btw...stilted and somewhat artificial.

As for Mohan...sure he'll struggle with trying to forget her...but the way it was shown today was very half-baked in my opinion...as if either of them could hardly be bothered...wow what convincing "angst"...Who cares about the letter...Megha looked like an idiot flying it in Mohan's face too saying THAT was the reason she agreed to the marriage...so what's the truth, pray tell? Megha's "chup rehne ke liye himmat chahiye" cryfest or her "I'm agreeing to remarry cuz of this letter" declaration?