Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail

Vying for Vintage

Posted: 2 days ago

I was never a fan of Lata Mangeshkar but I loved her old voice that she had in 50s and 60s.

Some of my favorite songs in her voice

https://youtu.be/0SJVwVDmDSU?si=gNKtlolNwVoOJzlu

https://youtu.be/4pcdygKhcC8?si=ES_q6gi4OpeJeT1g

https://youtu.be/klZozPtwNLU?si=LEWz8cNneSJdRVUY

https://youtu.be/u-ioONenaAQ?si=QFk_FNr1nOVh_VZ3

Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail

Vying for Vintage

A special mention to this song. Usually Asha is given all disco type/modern songs in those days but when Lata sang this song it became even more melodious and beautiful.

https://youtu.be/6dCDKtYElYQ?si=87YrDh4q3JAXEjga

missFiesty_69 thumbnail

A tribute to one of the legends of the music Industry, famously dubbed Nightingale of India

Some random fun facts smiley36

She was the First Indian to perform at the Royal Albert Hall:
She holds the distinction of being the first Indian singer to perform live at the iconic venue in London.

She collected Sherlock Holmes books. smiley9
Her love for detective stories led her to own every Sherlock Holmes novel.

Her first song didn't make the cut: Her debut playback song for the Marathi film Kiti Hasaal in 1942 was removed from the final film. Shows first failures are not forever failures.

She owned nine dogs at home. She was a huge dog lover.

Some favourites of mine smiley42
Yeh dil tum bin Kahin lagta nahin

lag ja gale

Teri Bindiya Re

Viswasruti thumbnail

Dance Divas

All these songs are highly appreciated by music lovers in 50s and 60s. Yes, as you mentioned, I love all her old songs. Her Razia Sultan songs are really a treat to our soul! A soul-stirring gems where Lata’s voice flows like a gentle breeze, carrying pain, longing, and tenderness all at once. Her effortless rendition turns every word into an echo of pure emotion, leaving listeners spellbound. This timeless melody is a testament to Lata’s unmatched ability to breathe life into poetry and make it immortal.

Movie: Razia Sultan (1983)

Song: Aye Dil-E-Nadan- ऐ दिल-ए-नादान

Singer: Lata Mangeshkar

Lyrics: Jan Nisar Akhtar

Music Director: Khayyam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cSEGrYJPhM&list=RD-cSEGrYJPhM&start_radio=1

Surilikoyal thumbnail
Crazy Creatives Contests & Games Participant Thumbnail Gulaal-e-Jung Thumbnail + 5

This is my favorite song

Tere bina jiya jaaye na

https://youtu.be/9j5bnsNS-FE?si=RtQdUEKJSrNY4v6p

Thanks for the tag Madhuri.

Edited by Surilikoyal - 2 days ago

Originally posted by: Viswasruti

Raji, this is the first time I am hearing this song. The lyrics and music is extremely melodious and beautiful.

Me too Madhu. I am a Regional Rhythmist, so looked for songs in regional languages and found these two beautiful songs.

Cheers..

iluvusakshi thumbnail
Visit Streak 1000 Thumbnail Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail + 8

My all time favourite is..

Hum Tere pyaar me sara aalam kho baithe hai.

From the movie.. Dil Ek Mandir

I also like 'Jalta Hai Badan' song (though lata di herself din't like this song at all, she has mentioned in one of her interviews).

Edited by iluvusakshi - 2 days ago
Pixiepixel11 thumbnail

Happy Birthday to legendary Lata Ji💐

Lag ka Gale ke phir yeh hasi raat ho na ho….

Shayad phir is janam mein mulaqat ho na ho…

Wonderful thread👏🏻💐👏🏻💜

Happy heavenly birthday to the ever melodious Lata ji.🙏🏼🌸

Edited by minakrish - 2 days ago