_symphony thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Well everyone on twitter is going GaGa over 200 epis and I just cant with the epi we got! I was glad people here are equally disappointed with the episode as I am. Honestly does Sandip Sickand does some sort of nasha that he forgets his own characters and show? He doesn’t remember what his characters did in past and what is character graph and consistency. Raghav slapped his own girlfriend so bad because she dumped him!! So tomorrow if Pallavi says she wants a divorce he will slap her? What is this glorification of men being violent with women. Earlier he slapped Keerti and now this. Wasnt he the one who few epis ago told Laxmi that if she wasn't a woman he would do something unimaginable. So dont tell me Raghav ko ladkiyon ki izzat karna bhi Pallavi ne sikhaya hai. Why should you play with your male lead character and portray him like another Kabir Singh!?

And if that wasnt enough what Pallavi did was so much more stupid, insensitive and unfair. She has always been the one who is extra sensitive to people, for that so called Mandaar she could go and live in D house so that his health is fine, also she was the only one who supported Amruta when she did abortion and now she is being so insensitive. For what? His drinking? Which scientist has said that excessive drinking 100% leads to infertility … Just because your family member eats a lot of junk and is borderline diabetic would you tell them that they have cancer? No right! ? You would encourage them to adopt a healthier lifestyle. I wasn’t comfortable with her telling Raghav that his drinking can lead to infertility but still if she had said that it could lead to in future that would be still bearable but she straight told him he cannot be a father. And that too because he drank a lot. This is disrespectful to him on so many levels. And to add to it she was going to tell this to Keerti , may be she wouldn’t have but she acted like she would which def made him so uncomfortable. I can’t imagine how hurt Raghav would be when he knows he truth. I don’t get this, Pallavi never had much issue with his drinking and he even stopped drinking during their initial marriage phase. RaghVi hadn’t even had their first night yet and the cvs show as if their honeymoon period is long gone by and now they are just a platonic couple. A few days ago Pallavi shared her fear of sharing her bed with someone and at the end of Mandaar track Raghav said hamari first night bhi nahin hui. They haven’t even explored sexuality with each other, or what their comfort level is and what their vulnerabilities are physically, and they are talking about infertility and kids. Its so obtuse it hurts!

And last but not the least the angle of the ex, so what seems in most probability, she had a kid with Raghav and sacrificed her love so that Raghav doesnt have to give up on his dreams. Fair enough! Anyways not sure what twist that angle too might take but the fact that Raghav had a girlfriend whose rejection made him crazy for money is so not digestible for me. Because Raghav said he wanted to be rich for his family and because he saw extreme poverty always. He wanted to be at a position where no one can question him or his family. If I am not wrong when that Krishna Rao incident happened Raghav was not an adult so may be 17-18 and in today’s epi if he has to be of minimum marriageable age he was atleast 21-22…So in a way he wasted 4 years of his life doing nibba nibbi stuff with his gf when he actually was supposed to be shaken by his nana and bro’s death and then his girlfriend’s rejection made him this business magnate he is. It’s demeaning honestly to the backstory of Raghav Rao , the way this angle has surfaced. He wanted to be rich for his family not any girl! So in a way though 200 epis huye hai aaj but today’s episode spoiled so much of progression and past script.

Edited by _symphony - 4 years ago

joliefemme thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

I agree with everything you wrote and have been venting out since morning. It did somehow spoil the khushi of 200 episodes coz this is what I count in the top 5 worst episodes of this show.

Coming to the specific points you raised, slapping was so uncalled for. I mean why was it necessary to show the slap, it didn't add to the plot at all. It could have easily been done away with. While I lay the blame on the writers and makers, I place some blame on the director and actor as well. They should put their foot down and not show something so problematic which doesn't add to the plot. Faltu improvisation if you can do, you can improvise such scenes as well that butcher the character you've played for 200 episodes. I had similar issues with few explicit scenes in the Mandar track as well but that's for another time. They did again butcher his character somewhat for me.

The next point of how insensitive it was to joke or prank about infertility. It's a huge social issue with a lot of stigma attached to it. We get the concerns of Pallavi and they are all right but the approach to make him stop drinking was absolutely below the belt (can be compared to memory loss prank of Raghav). They should have shown them talk about their future and family and how alcohol could impact their dreams in terms of kids. The worse was the chai and biscuit reference. In front of the whole family and servants who luckily didn't understand a thing, it was so stupid. I could not understand what the makers were trying to show - Infertility or Erectile dysfunction. Because neither of this can be known via a blood test. Main toh doctor nai hoo but I understand this much.

ED Raghav should himself know he doesn't have and without sperm count check, can infertility be checked? I mean what rubbish is being shown in the name of comedy. I'm sorry, Golmal background daalne se cheezein funny nai hoti. The makers have a twisted sense of humour where they make mockery of sensitive topics in the name of comedy.

Worse timing when they've not even consummated their marriage and don't feel the need to even talk or initiate these talks. Heck, people who don't love each other also are intimate in their marriage. This is so contrived, I can't even begin.

Thirdly, I feel Raghav wanted to become rich because of his father and brother's situation. I no where felt his ex was the reason for his wanting to become rich. It was definitely the reason he hated women in general. I'm really not sure where the makers are taking the plot right now but I'm thoroughly pissed at how idiotic the episode was today (not mincing my words).

I'm so not looking forward to the episodes unless Pallavi comes out with the truth about this infertility bullshit. I hope Sicku has received enough hate mail for the slap, for the infertility prank and the stupid ex track which has no head or tail.

Also hated the way Keerti was whitewashed without an iota of introspection for the wrong she's done. I've seen everyone call out Aayi's truth being brushed under the rug in the forum (I'm still salty about it) but K gets a free pass, kyu bhai???

Rant over!

Tl; dr - I ranted, don't read 🤣

Salutethearmy thumbnail
Visit Streak 1000 Thumbnail Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail + 7

Your post got me thinking, why did I sign up for this stupid show !! that's why I keep going back to Big Boss.

Sikku has literally insulted the entire medical fraternity, seriously how can sperm count be determined without a sample.. The doc is telling Pallavi, ur husband can go back to drinking.

I am not going to watch today's episode on TV..

Anu1975 thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: _symphony

Well everyone on twitter is going GaGa over 200 epis and I just cant with the epi we got! I was glad people here are equally disappointed with the episode as I am. Honestly does Sandip Sickand does some sort of nasha that he forgets his own characters and show? He doesn’t remember what his characters did in past and what is character graph and consistency. Raghav slapped his own girlfriend so bad because she dumped him!! So tomorrow if Pallavi says she wants a divorce he will slap her? What is this glorification of men being violent with women. Earlier he slapped Keerti and now this. Wasnt he the one who few epis ago told Laxmi that if she wasn't a woman he would do something unimaginable. So dont tell me Raghav ko ladkiyon ki izzat karna bhi Pallavi ne sikhaya hai. Why should you play with your male lead character and portray him like another Kabir Singh!?

And if that wasnt enough what Pallavi did was so much more stupid, insensitive and unfair. She has always been the one who is extra sensitive to people, for that so called Mandaar she could go and live in D house so that his health is fine, also she was the only one who supported Amruta when she did abortion and now she is being so insensitive. For what? His drinking? Which scientist has said that excessive drinking 100% leads to infertility … Just because your family member eats a lot of junk and is borderline diabetic would you tell them that they have cancer? No right! ? You would encourage them to adopt a healthier lifestyle. I wasn’t comfortable with her telling Raghav that his drinking can lead to infertility but still if she had said that it could lead to in future that would be still bearable but she straight told him he cannot be a father. And that too because he drank a lot. This is disrespectful to him on so many levels. And to add to it she was going to tell this to Keerti , may be she wouldn’t have but she acted like she would which def made him so uncomfortable. I can’t imagine how hurt Raghav would be when he knows he truth. I don’t get this, Pallavi never had much issue with his drinking and he even stopped drinking during their initial marriage phase. RaghVi hadn’t even had their first night yet and the cvs show as if their honeymoon period is long gone by and now they are just a platonic couple. A few days ago Pallavi shared her fear of sharing her bed with someone and at the end of Mandaar track Raghav said hamari first night bhi nahin hui. They haven’t even explored sexuality with each other, or what their comfort level is and what their vulnerabilities are physically, and they are talking about infertility and kids. Its so obtuse it hurts!

And last but not the least the angle of the ex, so what seems in most probability, she had a kid with Raghav and sacrificed her love so that Raghav doesnt have to give up on his dreams. Fair enough! Anyways not sure what twist that angle too might take but the fact that Raghav had a girlfriend whose rejection made him crazy for money is so not digestible for me. Because Raghav said he wanted to be rich for his family and because he saw extreme poverty always. He wanted to be at a position where no one can question him or his family. If I am not wrong when that Krishna Rao incident happened Raghav was not an adult so may be 17-18 and in today’s epi if he has to be of minimum marriageable age he was atleast 21-22…So in a way he wasted 4 years of his life doing nibba nibbi stuff with his gf when he actually was supposed to be shaken by his nana and bro’s death and then his girlfriend’s rejection made him this business magnate he is. It’s demeaning honestly to the backstory of Raghav Rao , the way this angle has surfaced. He wanted to be rich for his family not any girl! So in a way though 200 epis huye hai aaj but today’s episode spoiled so much of progression and past script.

Both Raghav & Pallavi are flawed characters that’s why we have a drama…if the Prince & Princess were both perfect and happily lived ever after then they won’t have a story to tell and we won’t have a show to watch…

Raghav has an aggressive streak…it’s a part of his personality right from the first episode..just because he did not assault ACP doesn’t mean he hasn’t in the past or won’t do it in the future…he has even raised his hands at Vijay..so that’s him..

Pallavi is hopelessly selfless& forgiving, she has a habit to always put others before her..she is very opinionated and judgmental and will do anything to stick to her beliefs that doesn’t mean she was or has to be always right with her methods..she is human she can go wrong…we have seen her decisions going horribly wrong during Mandar track so going by her character.. right now she wants Raghav to quit drinking and as usual he won’t relent easily so she is playing this prank..yes this is going to go wrong and hit her badly but that’s what brings the drama…

Raghav wanting to get super rich and powerful is not only coz of his GF but so many disturbing things that he faced even before..his father getting insulted due to poverty, Krishna Rao exploiting him, his father and brother’s death, his family abandoning him..maybe with his GF’s behavior he hit the wall…he had enough…

Snoowfall thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

Agree with this post....all the progression done with..and for 200 episodes...

Shakti1604 thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 2

I completely concur with your thoughts. Yes, so many things were wrong in just one episode itself. All this only shows there is hardly any structure left for story telling. Its reduced to either some convoluted comedy or cringy scenes sinking the characters. There is no balance or subtlety, so much is thrust on the face.

Other than the things that you mentioned I also felt it ridiculous to see Pallavi & Keerthi go back to best friend mode in a jiffy & Keerthi giving advice to Raghav on starting the family & she giving attitude to Farhad. Conclusion Keerthi is absolved because she is pregnant!! It now appears that Raghav is money minded due to his ex dumping him for lack of it, which is a major deviation from the actual story itself. Plus Raghav gloating about clinching the deal due to his manly charms was cringy too. Characters all gone haywire.

The writers are competing with themselves as to which track is the worst!! They seem to churning only pedestrian stuff!! Today I fully support Sunny's dialog of the day "yeh kya ho raha hai" & "yeh chal kya raha in dono ke beech" !!

Edited by Shakti1604 - 4 years ago
_symphony thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: Anu1975

Both Raghav & Pallavi are flawed characters that’s why we have a drama…if the Prince & Princess were both perfect and happily lived ever after then they won’t have a story to tell and we won’t have a show to watch…

Raghav has an aggressive streak…it’s a part of his personality right from the first episode..just because he did not assault ACP doesn’t mean he hasn’t in the past or won’t do it in the future…he has even raised his hands at Vijay..so that’s him..

Pallavi is hopelessly selfless& forgiving, she has a habit to always put others before her..she is very opinionated and judgmental and will do anything to stick to her beliefs that doesn’t mean she was or has to be always right with her methods..she is human she can go wrong…we have seen her decisions going horribly wrong during Mandar track so going by her character.. right now she wants Raghav to quit drinking and as usual he won’t relent easily so she is playing this prank..yes this is going to go wrong and hit her badly but that’s what brings the drama…

Raghav wanting to get super rich and powerful is not only coz of his GF but so many disturbing things that he faced even before..his father getting insulted due to poverty, Krishna Rao exploiting him, his father and brother’s death, his family abandoning him..maybe with his GF’s behavior he hit the wall…he had enough…

I disagree! Just because it’s his nature doesn’t mean it can be glorified or shown so casually. Because this show is being watched in households in India where domestic violence is prevalent and a big issue. It’s something so many women have to deal with. Its not ok to slap your sister or girlfriend or wife. It’s just not! I can still tolerate him having a regressive thinking related to women in general because that somehow comes with conditioning but being violent with them is a strict no. As for Pallavi what she did was totally out of character! I hope she realises her mistake and apologises to Raghav.

joliefemme thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

See the actors do have a say and can improvise scenes and so does the director. They can circle back with the writers and makers to discuss something they find not aligning to the character graph. I wished someone had exercised their discretion - writers, directors, actors or editors.

Yes Sunny listening on was puke-worthy to say the least,.glad he didn't understand what P was implying.

K going back to being besties with P is so contrived. My god she's a thali ka baingan who will not blink an eye before shoving her or Raghav under the bus.

masin thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Glad I came across this post! I'm catching up on the forum after 3 days, so wasn't sure where to begin. I watched the interview before I watched the episode, which is why the blow from such a crappy episode hit me far less than it would've otherwise.

I should simply stop expecting logic from Sikku and I urge everyone to do the same. It's difficult, I know, but it's the only way to maintain our sanity.

The slap was uncalled for. Point, blank, period. She didn't even finish her sentence and he raised his hand. I'm willing to forego it to some extent if the reasoning is that RR has anger issues that he sought therapy for over the years, but this is the same person who didn't raise his hand on the ACP because woh "auu-rat" hai and at that point his anger would've been far more justified because his wife was shot. Slapping your girlfriend for dumping you is jahalat. I actually think the slap was only shown to make sense of Esha's dialogue about how she fears Raghav's ghussa. Fear-worthy ghussa dikhana tha toh thappad dikha diya. Bas.

Esha ke baare mein na hi bolun toh behtar hai. Not happy with her casting and her character sketch. Seems like she was hired on the fly and is being written on the fly as well. I'm not expecting much to come from this. That flashback scene was utterly pathetic. Who the hell runs from their wedding to meet their ex in the middle of knowhere?! Kis khushi mein?! Phone nahi tha? Call karke nahi bata sakti thi?

The chai-biscuit scene made me chuckle because of Sai and Shivangi's expressions and because I took it as exactly what it was meant to be - an attempt at "leave your brains behind comedy". I'm not happy with the apparent infertility track and I'm hoping it's addressed properly. If this is left behind as the umpteenth loophole then I will be livid. Pallavi's dialogue about alcoholism ruining families was the only saving grace, but I didn't appreciate how she only pointed out "patiyon ka drink karna" in that public service announcement. Women can be alcoholics too and can equally damage their families in a state of inebriation. Note to CVs: infertility and erectile dysfunction are not the same. Staff ke saamne mazaak is one thing, but to do so in front of Sunny was absolutely ridiculous! Why hasn't he been kicked out yet?!

Keerti's white-washing was bound to happen the second VD's white-washing began. "Ab woh Amma ban raha hai toh koi baat nai agar uss ne mera divorce karwaya." Brilliant. Truly brilliant. What cracked me up is that Raghav conveniently went from Raghav to Bhai... matlab... kuch bhi?!

I think I've given up on the episodes in general. I gush about certain actors and certain performances when and where I deem necessary, but the show overall has lost its charm for me and my frustrations are at an all-time low because I've learned to prepare for the worst.

Case in point: Mirchi ka salan for Raghav. What happened to "Raghav ko mirchi se allergy hai, mirchi uske liye zeher hai"?! Funnily enough, I was watching that episode last week in my re-watching marathon and thought to myself that the CVs haven't contradicted this yet. Lagta hai meri hi nazar lag gayi.

I'm genuinely curious to know whether there's a regular turnover in the creative department. That's the only way to explain the constant contradictions with each character. Everyone's been butchered at some point or the other, every plot point is left loose, every nuance is underdeveloped. Are these folks watching a different show than us? How did anybody on that set forget that Raghav is allergic to mirchi?! HOW?

Ren: tagging you because I saw your comment on the first page and figured this would make for a good discussion!

Edited by DT

Edited by braveheartdoc - 4 years ago