Black_Fire thumbnail
Humaray liay nahi tou Afridi ki pics k liay hi update kar do! 😆
Black_Fire thumbnail
Ye lo, now apart from his good looks, you have another reason to be proud of him! He's an awesome human being as well!! 👍🏼 👏

Edited by Black_Fire - 12 years ago
SmileyStar thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 7
Hello people,

See, I kept my promise and updated this weekend 😃 Oh I know technically it's Monday now since it's 3 o'clock in the morning but I don't consider the next date until I've slept and woken up 😆 Anyway, here's the update! It's not as happening as I had thought it would be because I was busy and couldn't write all that I had planned for this chapter. It will have to be in the next one 😃

Anyway, Happy Reading! 😛

Chapter 32

Zoya woke up feeling oddly disconcerted and with a heavy feeling in her heart as if, it was being weighed down by a plethora of feelings, none of them pleasant. She closed her tired eyes and the events of previous night came tumbling to the front of her mind making her eyes sting with sudden tears. She took a deep breath to gain control over her raging emotions and looked around the room, only to find it empty.

She could hear commotion from downstairs and with a start, realized that today was Tamatar's Mehendi. She had been so caught up with all that had happened last night that she had almost forgotten all about it. Quickly, she got out of her bed to get dressed and rush downstairs.

The atmosphere in the lounge was buzzing with activity and the excitement in the air was so much that it could almost be felt. Zoya stopped at the bottom of the stairs looking in awe around her, seeing the transformation of the lounge into an elegant and splendid hall, lavishly and stylishly decorated with strands and strands of traditional Marigold flowers making it seem like it was made to hold Mehendi functions all along. There was a plush deewan on the simply yet beautifully decorated stage against the front wall, set at a slightly higher level to ensure better view to the guests; followed by a spacious wooden dancing floor. There was carpeted area on either side of the dance floor, artistically strewn with green and yellow cushions for the opposite parties of the bride and groom to sit and cheer for the dances. Satin-draped chairs and tables set around the circumference of the room for older people suggested that Asad Ahmed Khan had not gone easy on his bank balance. It was his baby sister's wedding and he was going to make sure that it would be a wedding to remember.

Zoya spotted Tamatar who ran to give her an exuberant hug, her face glowing with a mixture of unrestricted happiness and excitement. She also spotted Zaroon, Ayaan and Dilshad in full energy mode moving around urgently, making sure the decorations were being done up to mark. She caught Zaroon's eye and jerked her head up slightly, silently asking he was okay. He winced holding his jaw making Zoya frown in worry for a moment, before his usual cheeky smile crinkled his eyes and he winked, giving her a thumbs-up sign. She shook her head at his boyish antics and mouthed an "Idiot" to him. He received it with cheerful bow before turning to check on the workers.

Zoya marveled at the selflessness of the young man she was privileged enough to call her best friend. She knew that he had already put the fight with Asad behind him. Not because he was a quick forgiver but because he knew, his staying mad at Asad would only help to fuel Zoya's worries. She found herself wondering more than often, what good deed she had done to be blessed with such an amazing friend, who always put her happiness before his own.

Her thoughts were interrupted when she saw Asad walking in through the front door emanating his usual aura of power and authority as he talked importantly on his cell phone. His gaze collided with Zoya's for a moment as he passed her, before he blinked and resumed walking. Zoya's heart that had soared just a minute ago, sunk again. He was still angry with her. Of course.

Gulping the lump in her throat and thinking how to apologize to him, she too got busy with the preparations taking place. One of the long strands of Marigold flowers that dangled in a half-loop between two pillars had come loose. She looked around to instruct one of the workers to fix it but on finding them all busy, she decided to do it herself. It was a simple task anyway.

Dragging a ladder near the pillar, she climbed it but as she stretched with the strand of flowers in her hand to fix it back to its original spot, the ladder wobbled due to the weight shifting and for a terrifying moment, she felt as if she was going to fall when miraculously, she felt a pair of steadying hands on either side of her thin waist, followed by Asad's concerned exclamation, "Careful!"

She looked down at him gratefully and his eyes that were filled with concern a second ago were replaced by a cold look as he said snappishly, "What do you think you're doing? You were supposed to supervise the workers, not turn into one of them. Now get down. I'll ask someone else to do it."

"I just have to fix it back in its original place, Mr. Khan. It's no big deal."

"Zoya, get down. The workers can do it." He ordered.

"So can I, Mr. Khan. I've already gone through the trouble of climbing this ladder. Just let me do it na." She insisted.

"Fine. Hurry up then!" He snapped grumpily, making Zoya smile ever so slightly. She restored the strand to its original position, all the while exceedingly conscious of Asad's firm but gentle hands around her waist, which were making butterflies flutter in her stomach, proving it difficult for her to concentrate on the task at hand.

"Done?" He queried impatiently.

"Yep!" She affirmed and looked down at the ladder, to climb down when she felt herself being hoisted by the waist and placed on the ground gently.

"Thanks." She muttered, blushing a little.

"Don't climb any more ladders." Came the curt instruction from Asad before he walked away. Zoya was left staring at his back, wondering how she will apologize to him when he wasn't even staying around her for more than that the situation required.

Asad dressed immaculately in a plain black Kurta Shalwar and a yellow dupatta thrown carelessly around his neck, knocked on the closed bedroom door and asked reluctantly in an impatient voice, "Are you ready?"

"Yes, come on in." Came the reply from Zoya.

Asad walked in to find her sitting on her dressing table. As soon as he closed the door behind him, she stood up to face him and for a minute, he forgot how to breathe.

Zoya looked so beautiful that he literally froze for a moment. She was wearing the same beautiful, elegant Anarkali frock that they had bought together, a bright sunflower-yellow with a heavily embroidered bottle-green bodice and borders, studded all over with glistening diamond beads that sparkled and danced when light hit them. Her make-up was minimal, highlighting her natural beauty and she wore very light jewelry. Her hair was drawn back loosely with her usual side parting, a few strands kissing her pink cheeks, and came over her right shoulder from the back, adorned with a small cluster of delicate white blooms, adding a very romantic touch to her appearance.

She had kept it all so simple that it highlighted her natural beauty and taking his eyes off her was proving to be an arduous task for Asad. He gulped visibly, his Adam's apple bobbing before he averted his eyes to the ground, abashed at caught staring at her especially since he was supposed to be angry with her.

"T-The guests have started arriving. We should go downstairs." He said in a low voice.

"Uh sure, Mr. Khan." She replied awkwardly. "But before that, can we talk?"

"Not now. The guests are waiting." He replied curtly, gesturing towards the door as if asking her to proceed. Zoya sighed knowing it was no use to talk to him when he was being so curt and impatient, and left the room. Asad followed her, fussing and grumbling as he adjusted and readjusted the yellow dupatta around his neck. "How the heck am I supposed to wear this? I look so stupid."

Zoya bit her lip to stop herself from smiling and turned to take the dupatta from his hand. He looked at her in annoyance and held his hand out, "Give it to me. I don't need your help."

Ignoring him, she stood on her toes to place the dupatta around his neck so that both the ends dangled at the front and then maintaining a small loop around his neck, she threw one end over the other shoulder, muttering. "This is how you're supposed to wear it. And you look anything but stupid."

Before Asad could say anything, Ayaan popped up, smartly dressed in exactly the same outfit as Asad's. His unruly hair combed neatly for a change.

"Wow Bhaijan you look hot and Mona, you look..." He paused as if searching for a correct word, "Just like a sunflower." He finished, snickering as Zoya hit him on his arm.

"Why are you getting offended? Sunflowers are beautiful flowers, you know." He winked at her cheekily. "Don't you agree Bhaijan?"

"Yes, whatever you say." Asad's tone was dismissing. "Can we do downstairs now?" He asked sarcastically.

"Come on, Bhaijan. You don't need to ask my permission." Ayaan replied impertinently and Asad's lips lifted in a small smile as he smacked him on the head.

"Bhaijan, my hair! You're going to mess it up." Ayaan complained.

"Trust me Ayaan; your hair has been messed up since birth. There's no room for further chaos up there."

"Bhaijan!" Ayaan protested with a wail.

"Stop whining like a lady and let's go downstairs." Asad ordered and without thinking, offered Zoya his arm who took it promptly.

"I'm not going as a loner!" Ayaan exclaimed as he made his way to Zoya's other side and slipped his hand through her arm, making her laugh loudly.

Asad massaged his forehead. "What in the world are you thinking Ayaan?"

"Nothing."

"I should've known." Asad muttered sarcastically.

"Except you didn't. Okay, let's go!" Ayaan announced cheerfully.

"We're seriously going down like this?" Asad queried, looking surprised.

"Bhaijan, if you are having an inferiority complex due to two extremely beautiful humans beside you, you can just say it, you know. Mona and I will understand."

Asad pinched his temple, not knowing whether he was more amused or annoyed. "You know what? Shut up and move."

Collectively the trio made their way down the huge winding staircase with the two handsome brothers on either side of Zoya. Dilshad laughed with open pride on seeing them all descending together and asked Zaroon to quickly click a photo. Ayaan caught Humaira smiling while shaking her head in amusement at him and his grin widened so much that his cheeks hurt.

Most of the guests had already arrived and soon Imran's family arrived with the Mehendi, as the two families had decided to celebrate it together. With no sister or mother in their house, Imran's father had readily accepted Dilshad's offer of a combined Mehendi.

Soon, with Zoya and Humaira on either side of a shyly smiling Najma, the boys escorted the girls to the stage under the shade of a green and yellow colored dupatta held over their heads by Asad and Ayaan at the front and Zaroon and Saad bringing the back. There was a hush in the crowd as everyone turned to look at the bride before the crowd erupted in a chatter again discussing how beautiful and radiant she looked.

The ceremonies started soon enough and women patiently awaited their turns to apply the yellow colored paste, optun on the bride and the groom. Zoya applied a generous amount on Tamatar before turning to Imran and applying huge blobs on his cheeks, nose and chin making everyone laugh. Imran joined in good-naturedly saying he couldn't really complain since she had earned the right to do it by helping him and Najma out.

The dances began soon after, with Imran's side taking the start and the next thing, Zoya knew she was standing on the dance floor next to Asad along with Ayaan and Humaira. She looked at Asad nervously and he closed his eyes slowly once as if encouraging her silently. Suddenly, she wasn't afraid anymore. She had Asad by her side and she knew nothing could go wrong now.

The familiar melody of their selected and well-practiced Mehendi songs blared in the room through the large speakers and Zoya kept her eyes fixed on Asad's as they began dancing. She found herself twirling in Asad's arms, moving in perfect synchronization to him effortlessly and flawlessly as they communicated silently through their eyes. It seemed like the most natural thing on earth, being in harmony with him. They are still holding each other's gazes as they came to a graceful stop, amidst an uproar of hooting, cheering and clapping. Asad was the first to break away from their eye lock; Zoya hugged Humaira triumphantly on their brilliant dance while Ayaan thumped Asad on his back.

After the dance was over, Dilshad led Zoya to the young girl who had come to apply henna and asked her to put it on her daughter-in-law as well, slyly adding that her son's name was Asad. Zoya watched in admiration as the artist's henna cone swirled over her hand, creating beautiful flowery patterns. The girl looked at Zoya with a cheeky smile before writing Asad's name in Urdu on her palm, obscuring it by adding other designs around it but for Zoya, that part of her henna was the highlight. Every time she looked at her palms, Asad's name was the first thing her eyes searched.

Once she was done, she headed to the kitchen to have a glass of water, only to realize that she couldn't drink by herself due to the henna covering her hands. She sighed and was about to go out when Asad came in and she brightened. She knew as angry as he might be, he wouldn't say no to helping her.

"Mr. Khan?"

"Hmm?" He sounded cranky.

"Can you give me a glass of water?"

"Do I look like your personal servant?" He retorted with a scowl.

In answer, Zoya waved her arms in front of his face with a pouting, helpless look and Asad sighed before pouring water in a glass and making her drink from his hands, tucking a straying lock of hair behind her ear unconsciously as she finished and on realizing what he had done, quickly took a step backwards.

"Is there anything more I can do for you?" He asked sarcastically to cover up his awkwardness.

"No thank you..." She shook her head slightly. "Mr. Khan, about what happened yesterday-" She began but Asad cut her, his scowl reappearing.

"There are guests waiting for me." He said shortly as he began to move out of the kitchen but Zoya stepped in his way.

"Mr. Khan, for how long will you remain angry at me? For how long will you keep running from my apology?"

"Until I can find it in myself to accept it." He replied, looking deep into her eyes before sidestepping her and walking out of the kitchen. Zoya stood frozen on the spot, trying to fight back her sudden tears.

Five minutes later, plastering a fake smile on her lips, she exited the kitchen and went to mingle with the guests. The dinner had been served and she moved around the tables, greeting people and instructing the waiters to keep the steaming hot food coming from the kitchens. As she passed a pillar, she found herself being yanked behind it, away from the eyes of the crowd. She looked over her shoulder to find Asad behind her.

"Mr. Khan, what in the world are you doing?" She asked in surprise.

"Stay still. Your dori has almost come undone." He informed, his voice gruff. Zoya felt his fingers lightly grazing her back as he caught hold of the dori and her breath caught in her throat. She closed her eyes, not breathing, as she felt him tying it up again with excruciating slowness. He was so close; she could feel his breath on her neck making her skin tingle tantalizingly. She felt weak in the knees. As he pulled the knot tight with a gentle pull, a small gasp left Zoya's mouth.

"Done," He whispered. There was no mistaking the huskiness in his voice. Zoya felt his fingers leaving him and she turned, to find him gone.

She slumped against the pillar, trying to control her fluttering heart.

Zoya dropped next to Zaroon on the sofa and let out a tired sigh. The last of the guests had just left a while ago. There was no doubt in anyone's mind that the function was a huge success. All the dances were incredible. The arrangement, the food, everything was perfect. There was no mistaking the fact that this function was excitedly going to be discussed, for many days to come.

"I'm so tired!" Zoya stated as she leaned her head back and closed her eyes.

"Me too."

"How is your jaw?"

"Still hanging there." He joked and Zoya smiled with her eyes closed.

"Zoe, I proposed to you in the third standard, I got landed in a detention. I proposed to you yesterday, I got a punch in my face. I don't think I have the confidence left to propose to any other girl now. Guess I'll have to spend my life alone... That's so sad yaar." He stated in a mock-sad voice and Zoya giggled.

"I'll give you a bit of advice. Don't propose to that same girl again and you'll be alright."

Zaroon laughed. "I'm not willing to take further chances with my handsome face, alright? My jaw almost got broken yesterday."

Zoya face dropped a little. "I'm really sorry for what happened last night."

"Yes, you should be! You didn't let me continue that fight with Mr. Khan. I would've won easily. But you had to jump in to save your previous hubby's life!" He pressed his lips in a disapproving line, his eyes twinkling.

"Shut up Zaroon, you know I'm talking about the punch. Mr. Khan shouldn't have acted so recklessly last night..." She paused and looked at him with a small smile. "Thanks for listening to me though and backing off."

"I knew hitting him back meant seeing you crying for a longer period of time." He grinned wicked and Zoya smacked him on his arm. He lapsed into a thoughtful silence for some time, before speaking, "Actually I don't really blame Mr. Khan for reacting the way that he did. He thought that the proposal was real. That is enough to drive any husband crazy. In fact, I think I would've done the same had I been in his place..." He stopped and then continued slowly. "But after learning that it was only a joke, he should've apologized. Not that I was counting on it; he hates me so much he's probably going to cherish that memory his entire life." He laughed harshly. "I wanted a similar memory too, but before I could create it, you jumped in."

Zoya laughed lightly, shaking her head. Trust Zaroon to turn everything into a joke.

"Zoe?"

"Yes?"

"Yaar remember, I told you there was a wedding of a cousin of mine in Bhopal at the end of the month? He found out that I'm in Bhopal these days through Dad."

"So?"

"So he called me up yesterday and blasted me off for being here and not even dropping by at his place. His wedding is tomorrow and he has threatened me that if I don't attend it, he will sever all forms of contact with me. Talk about being dramatic." He rolled his eyes and raked a hand through his hair.

"Zaroon, I don't want you to go now!" Zoya protested.

"What's the point of me staying longer when you have absolutely refused to follow my well-planned jealousy tactic since our fight last night scared you to death and you don't want it happening again?" He questioned in one, long breath.

"I don't know. But what I do know is that I don't want you leaving when Mr. Khan is still angry at me."

He sighed. "Okay, we'll talk this through tomorrow. Right now, I'm too tired to care."

"Agreed." Zoya nodded wearily. She had managed to sleep very little last night due to all that had taken place yesterday and that was taking its toll now. Her head felt heavy and her body was aching due to exhaustion.

"Go and talk to your Mr. Khan now and resolve this issue. Tell him it was your duty as a loving wife to suspect him immediately on hearing a girl's name. It's part of being a possessive wife and he should know that." He stated with a solemn face and Zoya whacked a cushion on his head.

"I swear I've never been beaten half as much my whole life as during my stay in his house." He complained good-naturedly.

Zoya laughed as she replied, "If you had gotten beaten before, you wouldn't have needed all this beating today."

Zoya entered the room and found Asad sitting on the bed. Resolutely, she moved towards him, saying. "Mr. Khan, I need to talk to you now." She knew he had to listen to her apology now, as he couldn't excuse himself on the account of being busy with guests.

"Finally free, are you?" He asked sarcastically. He had gone down a while ago to check whether Zoya had had her dinner or not, since she had henna on her hands but on seeing her lounging happily with Zaroon, he had stomped back to his room.

"What exactly do you mean by that, Mr. Khan?"

"Do I really need to spell it out for you?" He raised his eyebrows.

"Yes, you do!" Zoya snapped, slightly annoyed at his cryptic manner of talking.

"I think we both know who keeps you busy these days."

Zoya's annoyance flared. "Why don't you say it clearly that you're talking about Zaroon, Mr. Khan? And you still have a problem with him? You punched that poor guy for no reason whatsoever yesterday and you didn't even have the decency to apologize to him."

"He had it coming." Asad replied briskly.

"No, he did not. It was impulsiveness and recklessness on your part."

"If you're here to justify and defend your 'best friend', then I'd rather not hear it." Asad snapped as he pushed himself to his feet.

Zoya took a deep breath and forced herself to calm down. "No Mr. Khan, I didn't come here for this. It was you who mentioned Zaroon and started this argument... Anyway, I just wanted to say that I'm sorry for all that happened yesterday. For accusing you of being involved with someone else. Trust me; my intension was not to hurt you." She felt tears welling in her eyes. "I just thought that since our relationship is a... farce, so you might have gotten involved with someone else." She finished slowly, blinking back the wetness in her eyes. She didn't know why she got so emotional when it came to Mr. Khan. Maybe it was part of being in love.

Asad was staring at her carefully as he asked in a quiet voice, "Would you have done it?"

"What?"

"Get involved with someone else since our relationship is a... farce?"

Zoya looked into his deep, brown eyes as she shook her head slowly. "No. I wouldn't even think of it."

"But you would once this relationship ends and you get back to New York?" It seemed more of an assertion than a question.

"I have no idea what I'm going to do with my life in New York." Though she tried to say it casually, she couldn't help the sadness from seeping into her tone and it was useless to hope that Asad wouldn't pick it up. His sharp eyes darted to her face, his gaze probing and she found it impossible to maintain eye contact with him without giving anything away. She averted her eyes to the floor and that was enough for Asad to know that she was hiding something important from him. And he was going to find out what it was.

Trying not to get affected by his penetrating gaze, Zoya forced herself to smile and ask lightly, "So Mr. Khan is my apology accepted? Am I forgiven?"

"Why is my forgiveness important, Zoya?" He queried in a quiet voice, looking deep into her eyes and taking a step towards her.

Zoya was genuinely confused by his question. "What? What do you mean?"

"I mean, all day today you were restless and distraught, and you've tried to apologize to me every single time we came across. Why?" He questioned in an eerily calm voice, moving closer and Zoya instinctively took a step back.

"What do you mean by that, Mr. Khan? I-I did wrong and it was only right that I apologize for it." She stuttered slightly, unnerved by his approach.

"Zoya, tell me honestly did you really believe that I could stoop that low?" He asked in a hurt voice and just hearing it, made a lump appear in Zoya's throat as she shook her head urgently.

"No, I just-"

"Do I really seem like the type of man who would go around having extra-marital affairs?" He asked moving closer still, forcing her to walk backwards.

"N-No Mr. Khan."

"Then what made you think all that?"

"I wasn't thinking logically and I-I'm sorry." She answered, sounding frustrated, tears threatening to spill over any minute as her back pressed against the wall and she stopped walking. "I heard you conversing in such a sweet manner and then you took the name 'Tanveer' and almost ran off to meet her and I was so jealous and hurt because you've never talked like that with me and-" She would've continued speaking in one breath but Asad cut her off.

"You only heard me talking on the phone and got jealous?" He asked in an incredulous manner.

"Yes because I'm an idiot who fell in love with you despite knowing that you will never reciprocate my feelings." She let out shrilly, tears escaping her eyes. Asad looked at her dumbstruck with wide eyes and unconsciously took a staggering step back.

Zoya turned and was gone in a flash, slamming the door behind her.

Asad raked a rough hand through his hair as he paced in his room, his head buzzing with a multitude of questions. What the hell had just happened a while ago? Had Zoya really confessed her love for him? But how could she have fallen in love with him? Didn't she know that she had to leave in a month?

There was a knock on his door and before he could answer, Zaroon barged in, looking tensed and worried. "Where is Zoya?"

"What?" Asad let out in a preoccupied manner.

"I said where is Zoya?" Zaroon asked with more force, sounding harsh.

"She left this room a while ago." Asad replied, slightly confused by Zaroon's behavior.

"I was in my bedroom and I saw her going towards the lounge. I thought she was going there for something and would be back soon. But she didn't return and I went to check. She wasn't there and the main door was open." Zaroon told him, his chest heaving as if he had ran all the way to Asad's room.

"She must be in the garden." Asad found himself saying in a small, hopeful voice as fear suddenly gripped his body and his eyes flew to the clock. 12:15 a.m.

Zaroon shook his head urgently. When he spoke, his voice was hoarse with worry. "She's not and the gate is ajar. Zoya's not in the house, Mr. Khan."

OhmyGod! I just ended the chapter on a cliff-hanger. How very evil of me muhahahaha 😆

Don't blame me please. My brain is half-asleep 😆 I had thought I would write this chapter araam se but like everything else I ended up writing it in a hurry. Leave your love and compel me to write soon, that's all I'm gonna say 🤣

Love,

Fari (Evil-personified) 😆

Edited by SmileyStar - 11 years ago
.MrsNatePeters. thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Ahh that was close, was Just about to sleep now!!!
Just 8% charge left! Hope phone won't die whilst reading
grad2011 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
awesome update!!
i loved it :)
drunkiiebabe thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Awesome update
Loved it
Thanks for the pm
Miss-Appy thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Superb awesome ! 👏
Loved it !! Zoya finally confessed !! 😳
nahsjdnusksmsj thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Amazing part as usual
That doti scene was so so good
Finallly yaaayyy zoya confessed
Whats wrong with asad... Why dont he accept that he loves her too
Such a cliffy man
Plz update soon
SmileyStar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Black_Fire

Ye lo, now apart from his good looks, you have another reason to be proud of him! He's an awesome human being as well!! 👍🏼 👏

I know! He's an angel Masha'Allah! A gorgeous angel bas 😆

And I mentioned it before that Asad building a hospital in Mangalpur was actually inspired by this man 😉 He built his hospital in his native village, Kohat because it was his father's wish who passed away 2, 3 years ago 😒

And yes, this made me very proud! There was loads of people who have money but few spend it on humanity 😳
SmileyStar thumbnail

Originally posted by: .MrsNatePeters.

Ahh that was close, was Just about to sleep now!!!
Just 8% charge left! Hope phone won't die whilst reading

I hope I wasn't too late at updating 😃