Rajpal's asking rate: Rs 25 lakh

sheetald thumbnail
Anniversary 19 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Rajpal Yadav
Rajpal Yadav, who made his debut in Ram Gopal Varma's Jungle as one of the villain's sidekicks, is today commanding a Rs 25,00,000 fee, and has a variety of roles to choose from. He is playing the lead in his upcoming films and plans to shift from his modest flat in Goregaon (E) to a Rs 2 crore apartment in the suburbs.

There is also a Hollywood film in the pipeline, with Michael Caine. An enviable position for any Bollywood hero — but when it comes to the diminutive Yadav, somewhat unbelievable. The long and short of it is, Rajpal Yadav has arrived.

Happy with his career

Is it true that he's signed four films as the male lead? "Yes, I have signed four films as the male lead – one of Ramu's films, Hello Hum Lallan Bol Rahe Hain; an untitled venture; and Ladies Tailor. I can't talk at length about them, as everything will be finalised in a month. I am very happy with my career today."

Yadav's appeal lies in the A, B, and C centres, unlike that of big heroes like SRK, who appeal only to A centres

What about the Hollywood film with Michael Caine? "It's too early to talk about it now," says Yadav cautiously.

Ramu is all

However he's not shy about crediting mentor Ram Gopal Varma for what he is today.

He says, "Like Ramuji I am a practical and emotionless person and a thorough professional. Ramuji had told me to trust him and do whatever roles he offered to me. He gave me a break in Jungle, in a negative role; a comic role in Pyar Tune Kya Kiya; the main lead in Main Madhuri Dixit Banna Chahti Hoon; and an item song number in D. He has always thought the best for me.

Today, because of him, I am getting the love of the whole industry. I trust him, and if he asks me to give a passing shot in a film, I will do it proudly. Aanewale 20 saal mein, whatever Ramuji asks me to do, I will do."

Let's talk money

Is his remuneration per film is Rs 25,00,000? Rajpal smiles, "Yes, whatever has been given to me is by God's grace, by my guruji, Pandit Dev Prabhakar Shastri's kripa, and the audience and media's true recognition. Money and status are two things I have never been bothered about when I entered the industry - that still hasn't changed.

Whatever the industry chooses to give me, I will accept. Jo mil raha hai, utne mein khush hoon."

What about his Rs 2 crore house? "I haven't bought a flat yet. But yes, I am looking for a house," he clarifies.