Padmajaan thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Voice of India 2024 Participant 0 Thumbnail + 5
Posted: 1 years ago

My favourite - Dil hoom hoom kare by my all-time favourite the magical Bhupen Hazarika

https://youtu.be/7p3zTEOiZio

Nice theme Rashmi!

"This Land Is Your Land" is one of the United States' most famous folk songs. Its lyrics were written by American folk singer Woody Guthrie in 1940 in critical response to Irving Berlin's "God Bless America", with melody based on a Carter Family tune called "When the World's on Fire". When Guthrie was tired of hearing Kate Smith sing "God Bless America" on the radio in the late 1930s, he sarcastically called his song "God Blessed America for Me" before renaming it "This Land Is Your Land".

In 2002, "This Land Is Your Land" was one of 50 recordings chosen that year by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry. In 2021, it was listed at No. 229 on Rolling Stone's "Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time".

Song: "This Land Is Your Land" (1945)

Singer: Woody Guthrie

Genre: Folk

Lyricist: Woody Guthrie

This Land Is Your Land

Song: Blowin' in the Wind

Singer: Bob Dylan

Lyricist: Bob Dylan

Genre: Folk

Blowin' in the Wind

Cheers..

Song: Madhaniya

Singer: Neha Bhasin

Punjabi Folk Song

Madhaniya

Cheers..

950842 thumbnail

This one is very well known, used in many shows and movies too

The former is about Radha Krushna's raas, which is a frequent theme for many Gujarati folk songs, the second is one of my favourite versions of the song, and the latter is about praying to Maa Sherowali, which uses the same tune 🙏

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqtobVO6PcE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xfBq_BvytU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPcdoPoOHPY

Also, Chogada sung by Darshan Raval in Loveyatri, though it is a full-fledged remix, so I wont include it here ❤️

Edited by dhun.laagi - 1 years ago
950842 thumbnail

One of my favourite Marathi folk songs, also well known ❤️

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kiJKjyeV5c

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GP3FIFALPYg

NerdyMukta thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 0 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 0 Thumbnail + 6

Rajasthani Ghoomar

https://youtu.be/cVeMyeTi4gE

Movie: Padmavat

Song: Ghoomar

https://youtu.be/CU1tFtk_NFY

NerdyMukta thumbnail

Pinga is a folk song performed by women on the occasion Mangalagauri.

https://youtu.be/756_d_cd5f8

Movie: Baipan bhaari deva

https://youtu.be/G9jigWeQmAo

Movie: Bajirao Mastani

https://youtu.be/xz-Vac75to4

NerdyMukta thumbnail

Konkani song Galyan saakli sonyachi( golden chain in her neck) is popular in East Indians.

https://youtu.be/raJ49EjrlTA

Movie: Dil hai ke manta nahi (1991)

https://youtu.be/KGdtqG1vlvE