Review: Episode 2 - The nitty gritty details

Minionite thumbnail
I'm going to make this a daily thing (unless I'm busy) until I'm watching. I'll stick on. The show has me intrigued despite all its flaws. Note that I review/analyze things/dialogues/scenes/actors that I find have a depth to them so I may not always write something about every scene in the episode.

Loyalty - On Indian TV, when a man is accused of rape, everyone immediately turns against him, especially his employees, friends, and colleagues. I found it interesting here that despite the accusation and the arrest, his employees were still out there supporting him. This is true loyalty that can't be bought in my opinion. It shows that they trust him (or at least what they know of Ranvir) and are going to support him because they know he can't do anything wrong.

Kya aap ko lagta hai ke mujhe zabardasti karne ki zaroorat hai? - When Ranvir said this, the first thought that came to me was that a lot of men think like that, but still force themselves on women. But in this case, I feel the latest promo also adds to that level. Ranvir is not as innocent as he seems. He's innocent and he trusts law that's why he's coming quietly. But why does he need someone else's stamp of approval that he is a clean man. Let law take its course. Let the truth come out. And let your chote prove his pagalpan in trying to release you. Aanchal's response was bang on. I liked Zayed in this scene, but Nikita fell flat. A response that should have been delivered with panache almost sounded memorized.

The fidget spinner - This little detail has been interesting me for quite some time, since I saw it in the promos. It's a rather minute detail, but a good one because it matches Kabir's character so far. Kabir is someone who can't sit still, who reacts quickly and angrily to anything that isn't in his or bade's best interest, and who is quite demanding. A fidget spinner is his little toy, his way of trying to calm his mind down enough to make a conclusive next step. I also feel it'll become a foreshadow of something big about to happen.

Ranvir's statement - I'm not as interested in the words that he used, but rather the expressions, the tone, and the glances. The tone was cold, to the point, matter-of-fact, emotionless. Ranvir seems to be the type of guy who sees everything in a very analytical way. His expressions were similar. Deadpan, emotionless. But what was rather intriguing here was the glances he kept giving Kabir as Kabir would react angrily. It was as if he knew that nothing can happen to him because Kabir wouldn't let anything happen to him. This does raise a doubt in my mind. Did Ranvir actually rape Meenu and knows that he'll get away with it because there's no proof and Kabir will do anything to save him?

50 lakh rupees - Seriously? Are the CVs going to keep throwing out big money in a bid to prove how rich the Raichands are? Kabir takes 50 lakh rupees right off the bat to bribe Aanchal. Either he's dumb, the CVs are dumb, or we're dumb. That is an insane amount of money and way too much to begin a bribe with, especially for NGO type ladkis (in Kabir's words). Maybe 15, 20 lakhs, but 50 lakhs just seemed way out there. Today's first Miss for me.

Mujhe rules todne mein bara maza aata. - For a lawyer, that's a very dangerous dialogue. Rules are the reason lawyers are around and if Aanchal likes breaking rules then does that mean she's a bad lawyer or more than just a NGO lawyer? My money is on the latter. She isn't as straight as she seems and this dialogue just proves it. She also goes on to do that by breaking things in the hospital room to blame Kabir for it, but a bit too aggressively. She wants to make a point. Makes sense. But she did not need to get so aggressive to prove it.

The mothers clash - Sarika Raichand has really made this a personal vendetta. Instead of going after Aanchal she tried to intimidate her mother. Not a good move because in the end she lost. A simple woman who Sarika thought would be easy to walk over, won over her. And when nothing else worked, Sarika turned to veiled threats. This woman is dangerous for sure, but also all about the appearances. She even veiled the threat in a beautiful light.

Publicity stunt - Since this topic was mentioned several times I thought I would bring it up. If Aanchal wanted publicity she would have taken to the camera right away and demanded police to arrest Ranvir Raichand and court to fast track his case. She would have publicized Kabir's bribe and Sarika's threat. But she didn't. At the same time, she's not fully innocent either. She's basking in the light that the media is shining on her. She's taking a jab at the Raichands every time one of them crosses her path. And she's prepping the stage for a bigger public game.

A dumb move or a smart game plan - Aanchal went to the docks alone. A dumb move or a smart game plan. The cliched answer would be a dumb move, but somewhere I feel this is a smart game plan and I say that because of the precap. For someone who doesn't want publicity, Aanchal is getting plenty of it especially because her mother and Aman reach the press conference being held by the Raichands to demand answers and accuse the Raichands. Now if anything happens to Aanchal then the first people to be blamed will be the Raichands. At the same time when Aanchal returns unharmed, she can easily claim that she doesn't know anything, but leave enough of an impression in the media's eyes that they'll do the blaming for her.

Slow walks - Ugh for god's sake! Can we please get rid of these?!! We don't need a slow walk every 5 minutes to prove a point! Use them for the more important scenes like when Ranvir walks out of jail and court a free man or Kabir walking away from the blown up yacht and so on. We don't freaking need one to see Ranvir walking down a hall to the pooja, Aanchal walking down the hall to the hospital room, and so on. A big MISS from me.

Overall the second episode was definitely a lot better than the first. The dialogues do need to be improved upon, the slow walks need to be banned, and the acting needs to be improved upon. Other than that let it keep coming.

Almas. thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Athene

I'm going to make this a daily thing (unless I'm busy) until I'm watching. I'll stick on. The show has me intrigued despite all its flaws. Note that I review/analyze things/dialogues/scenes/actors that I find have a depth to them so I may not always write something about every scene in the episode.

Will look fwd to it

Loyalty - On Indian TV, when a man is accused of rape, everyone immediately turns against him, especially his employees, friends, and colleagues. I found it interesting here that despite the accusation and the arrest, his employees were still out there supporting him. This is true loyalty that can't be bought in my opinion. It shows that they trust him (or at least what they know of Ranvir) and are going to support him because they know he can't do anything wrong.

Ranveer i think has created such an image that everybody his emplyees family everyone thinks he is 'dharamatma' he cant do anything wrong..i liked how evryone were eyeing kabir wen Anchal was saying culprit is here in the house 😆may b thats y the support.(u said the same)

Kya aap ko lagta hai ke mujhe zabardasti karne ki zaroorat hai? - When Ranvir said this, the first thought that came to me was that a lot of men think like that, but still force themselves on women. But in this case, I feel the latest promo also adds to that level. Ranvir is not as innocent as he seems. He's innocent and he trusts law that's why he's coming quietly. But why does he need someone else's stamp of approval that he is a clean man. Let law take its course. Let the truth come out. And let your chote prove his pagalpan in trying to release you. Aanchal's response was bang on. I liked Zayed in this scene, but Nikita fell flat. A response that should have been delivered with panache almost sounded memorized.

We just have to wait n watch Ranveer's character unfold

The fidget spinner - This little detail has been interesting me for quite some time, since I saw it in the promos. It's a rather minute detail, but a good one because it matches Kabir's character so far. Kabir is someone who can't sit still, who reacts quickly and angrily to anything that isn't in his or bade's best interest, and who is quite demanding. A fidget spinner is his little toy, his way of trying to calm his mind down enough to make a conclusive next step. I also feel it'll become a foreshadow of something big about to happen.

Old movie style i guess odd habits of bad boys

Ranvir's statement - I'm not as interested in the words that he used, but rather the expressions, the tone, and the glances. The tone was cold, to the point, matter-of-fact, emotionless. Ranvir seems to be the type of guy who sees everything in a very analytical way. His expressions were similar. Deadpan, emotionless. But what was rather intriguing here was the glances he kept giving Kabir as Kabir would react angrily. It was as if he knew that nothing can happen to him because Kabir wouldn't let anything happen to him. This does raise a doubt in my mind. Did Ranvir actually rape Meenu and knows that he'll get away with it because there's no proof and Kabir will do anything to save him?

50 lakh rupees - Seriously? Are the CVs going to keep throwing out big money in a bid to prove how rich the Raichands are? Kabir takes 50 lakh rupees right off the bat to bribe Aanchal. Either he's dumb, the CVs are dumb, or we're dumb. That is an insane amount of money and way too much to begin a bribe with, especially for NGO type ladkis (in Kabir's words). Maybe 15, 20 lakhs, but 50 lakhs just seemed way out there. Today's first Miss for me.

Why r u surprised here..when Ranveer can hand out 1cr checks nd a flat on top of that.. 50lacs for kabir is NOthing

Mujhe rules todne mein bara maza aata. - For a lawyer, that's a very dangerous dialogue. Rules are the reason lawyers are around and if Aanchal likes breaking rules then does that mean she's a bad lawyer or more than just a NGO lawyer? My money is on the latter. She isn't as straight as she seems and this dialogue just proves it. She also goes on to do that by breaking things in the hospital room to blame Kabir for it, but a bit too aggressively. She wants to make a point. Makes sense. But she did not need to get so aggressive to prove it.

The mothers clash - Sarika Raichand has really made this a personal vendetta. Instead of going after Aanchal she tried to intimidate her mother. Not a good move because in the end she lost. A simple woman who Sarika thought would be easy to walk over, won over her. And when nothing else worked, Sarika turned to veiled threats. This woman is dangerous for sure, but also all about the appearances. She even veiled the threat in a beautiful light.

Publicity stunt - Since this topic was mentioned several times I thought I would bring it up. If Aanchal wanted publicity she would have taken to the camera right away and demanded police to arrest Ranvir Raichand and court to fast track his case. She would have publicized Kabir's bribe and Sarika's threat. But she didn't. At the same time, she's not fully innocent either. She's basking in the light that the media is shining on her. She's taking a jab at the Raichands every time one of them crosses her path. And she's prepping the stage for a bigger public game.

Yesss..Anchal is all set to bask the fame..i loved how started applying lipstick in response😆 love the shade

A dumb move or a smart game plan - Aanchal went to the docks alone. A dumb move or a smart game plan. The cliched answer would be a dumb move, but somewhere I feel this is a smart game plan and I say that because of the precap. For someone who doesn't want publicity, Aanchal is getting plenty of it especially because her mother and Aman reach the press conference being held by the Raichands to demand answers and accuse the Raichands. Now if anything happens to Aanchal then the first people to be blamed will be the Raichands. At the same time when Aanchal returns unharmed, she can easily claim that she doesn't know anything, but leave enough of an impression in the media's eyes that they'll do the blaming for her.

Slow walks - Ugh for god's sake! Can we please get rid of these?!! We don't need a slow walk every 5 minutes to prove a point! Use them for the more important scenes like when Ranvir walks out of jail and court a free man or Kabir walking away from the blown up yacht and so on. We don't freaking need one to see Ranvir walking down a hall to the pooja, Aanchal walking down the hall to the hospital room, and so on. A big MISS from me.

Lol..they r more often in early epis.. character needs Build up..there way of showing how badass the charactr is😆

Overall the second episode was definitely a lot better than the first. The dialogues do need to be improved upon, the slow walks need to be banned, and the acting needs to be improved upon. Other than that let it keep coming.

Edited by Almas. - 7 years ago
SleepyPsycho thumbnail
Anniversary 10 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail + 3

To some extent I agree here but then I think the 'status' he carries and the name with power adds on to it to a great extent.

I feel both could be a assert a bit impact here.

THIS. I've had people laughing at him for the fidget spinner thing but then they fail to look deep into this and what you wrote is exactly what I wanted to explain.Loved how you mentioned that he uses it to calm his mind down so that a next step in his planning could fom up.Stole my thoughts.

Zayed mentioned that this guy is actually very practical and the kind of person who would have a whole plan inside his mind before doing anything. The glances too kept on my toes. Be it towards Kabir or towards the lawyer who came,telling that the rape had been confirmed.Those looks speak what his mind thinks.

Hahaha,same!

Thats exactly where we come to know that she isn't that seedha as she shows. Definitely a manipulator and a lawyer not in literal sense.Lets see as to how her shades shed.

I loved this scene here. Showed a lot not only about Sarika but about Mommy Shrivastava too.She will break all the barriers and consider no power or threats when it comes to her family,her daughter.

I like how she is playing here.

I'll wait for the episode to answer this.Cause I want to see what happens and how she escapes from there.

Same! They can cut down on this and like I said editing and bgm could tone down a bit too.

TBH I loved the dialogues though acting could be improved upon. The story is building up and I am sure the episodes to come will be even better.
Edited by SleepyPsycho - 7 years ago
3dancelover thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Athene

I am ready for your daily posts lol, I love analysis posts, I don't have time to make mine anymore😭

It is definitely obvious Raichand industry people trust RR but I don't think it means he is completely innocent. His poker face definitely throws people off. I think RR does things under the table or covers things up that even his little brother doesn't know.

The most interesting part of that promo I felt was the fact where he said let Chote take care about. RR has deciphered KR very well but I don't think KR has understood RR as well as he thinks. Ranvir knows that his Chote is there for him, so he definitely trust him. But I think he takes advantage of the blind trust Kabir has on his Bade.

I noticed this too, first I thought it was funny and they are only involving it because its the "new thing" so to say. But when you analyze KR's character you realize its like his stress ball. Vatty has said in an interview that Kabir is flamboyant, impulsive but dil ka aacha. I think the fidget spinner is one of those things that helps him think keep him calm. I love how deep they went into characterization

I think that's just to characterize Kabir, not as dumb, but impulsive. He just wants his Bade out so he is willing to go to extents. They are also trying to show how rich the Raichands were. My question was why didn't Kabir just bribe Meenu or the judge that is going to make the decisions, why bribe Aanchal?

I LOVED THIS DIALOGUE. For some reason it spoke to me so much because it made feel Aanchal is not a pure character as she is depicted right now. There is a grey shade in her. Unfortunately in today's world playing completely fair doesn't bring out justice, I feel like she might be one of those lawyers who steps outside of the boundaries but to bring things to the right. I also felt this is something she has common with Kabir, hinting something at the future.

Aanchal's mother slayyed, now we know where she gets it from. But i felt it was unnecessary for Sarika to go to the Srivasta house, unless this her stepping into her future risthtedaar's ghar lol

I hate when they do this, every horror movie, thriller, they do the complete opposite of what a person with common sense would do, but I feel its just for the story, it is an Indian Serial after all.

Word Count: 1

Minionite thumbnail
canuck-umz thumbnail
Anniversary 13 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 2
Athene - My points are in blue below your headings.

I am with you on everything you have said. This episode was an improvement over the first. I felt that the dialogues and acting was better but both can be improved going forward. Too early to really critique.

Kya aap ko lagta hai ke mujhe zabardasti karne ki zaroorat hai? -

Ranvir appears to be the type of person who only speaks when he needs to say something important; when it counts, when it will make an impact. Aanchal said the same thing to Ranvir that this is something rapists/abusers say so he can very well be one. I do feel that Ranvir did not commit the rape and is being framed. Is he an innocent person in general? Nopes. This is a very complex character who may not have raped a woman but has very likely done other questionable things. Ranvir is a highly successful man who holds a lot of clout. Would he try to exert power over a woman in such a way that it can have far reaching effects that can destroy the reputation he has precariously cultivated? Ranvir is a businessman, negative publicity will screw him over.

The fidget spinner -

What I picked up about Kabir is that he is not evil. I see a little innocence and naivety in him as witnessed in the prison scene. He is impulsive, explosive, and spoilt but not an idiot. When he was at the hospital he did not resort to yelling or threatening the victim. Instead he was sitting ther calmly and was there simply to speak to Meenu. It was only when Aanchal started breaking things and threatening Kabir that he shot back at her. If Aanchal had not done what she did in that hospital room, Kabir wouldn't be going after her in the coming episodes (i.e promo).

Vatsal's acting in prison questioning scene at the beginning was was cringe inducing but he was otherwise fine and even cute in the scene where he is ordering amenities for his brother in jail. Sure Kabir has shades of Vatsal's previous characters but at the same time Vatsal has managed to bring out a youthfulness in his character and even brings out these doe eyes, that you have trouble disliking him.

Ranvir's statement -

Looks like most of us were correct about Zayed's lack of expressions. He is emotionless, serious, cold, direct, and like you said to the point, matter-of-fact and deadpan. Ranvir is a man who does not give his feelings away. Interestingly enough, Zayed's acting was better too. You could see the subtle changes in his expressions in his interactions with Kabir. I found him to show some emotion when talking to his brother. There was a fondness there; his expressions and voice softened up for Kabir.

Ranvir is a passive man. Within these first two episodes, I have noticed that although the issue is centralized on Ranvir's character, he has still stood in the background. Ranvir is letting everyone else take precedence while he stands back. Other people are doing work be it Aanchal, Kabir, Sarika, the media, his employees or law enforcement. Ranvir has listened to everything the others have said, he has cooperated with the cops and has generally been silent unless required to speak. He is coming across as a very calculative man. First, observe everyone else then make his move. Complete contrast to Kabir but from the new promo it's as if Ranvir appreciates and understands that Kabir's way of doing things has its own merit. I have no doubts that Ranvir's mind is always analyzing, planning, and plotting along with knowing what the outcome will be but he'll be damned if he shows the inner workings of his mind.

Mujhe rules todne mein bara maza aata. -

Yes! First Aanchal's dialogue that she is a rule breaker and then the hospital scene. Aanchal first made a point about not going by the books and later she puts that into action by her behaviour at the hospital. This was a tactic she used to challenge Kabir. There were no plans to paint Kabir in a negative light in front of the cops or hospital staff. This was her way of telling him that dude just try me, try me and see what I can do. Here's a little taste of it. Now we know that Aanchal is not straight laced. Maybe she isn't all that different from the Raichands. The reasoning may be opposing but the means to the ends are somewhat similar for both Aanchal and the Raichands.

The mothers clash -

I enjoyed the showdown between the mothers. Neither resorted to crying or yelling. Both kept smiles on their faces, spoke with softness, and stood like walls. Sheeba was much better here than in episode 1. I can see improvements with all actors already.

A dumb move or a smart game plan - Aanchal went to the docks alone. A dumb move or a smart game plan.

Was this Kabir's doing? From the promo it seems like it and on top of that his threat to Aanchal at the hospital but who knows. It can be anyone's plan even Aanchal's.

Finally, I want to point out Meenu's expressions in the hospital scene upon Aanchal's entry. Meenu looked afraid but she did not appear to be afraid of Kabir per say, she seemed to fear something else. I dunno if it was due to the acting here but I felt that Meenu was more afraid of being found out like she was lying about the culprit? So many scenarios can play out, Ranvir is the rapist, Ranvir is being framed, Meenu thought it was Ranvir but is unsure or Meenu is outright lying about who raped her because she is being forced to.
Edited by canuck-umz - 7 years ago
shruthiravi thumbnail
Anniversary 11 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 2
@Shreya a very good review. Now coming to my points. Let me start with the fidget spinner first. Yes that spinner interested me. And as you rightly said Kabir is a dynamic person. Just like the fidget spinner revolves around a centre point, he revolves round his brother you can say. A man's world which revolves round his brother. Can this spinning be stopped, can this spinning be broken. The persona of Ranvir and his emotionless expressions, analytical mind makes me believe Ranvir has another face. A face that neither his parents nor his brother know. And Kabir will never allow that face to come to the public view. Yes he wont, though he doesnt realize the other face, he will go any extend to protect this face of his brother. The fidget spinner.
I liked your take on Aanchal going to docks alone. Actually even I didnt think about it from that angle.

Kabir and Anchal. Actually Anchal messing up that room and make it look like Kabir, is her way of working, for me that's the way she is going to take Kabir to the truth, whatever it is. What you see is not the truth. And for that she has to break the rules. Yes lawyers exist because of the rules. But when rules are bend to ensure a victim is denied justice, an intelligent lawyer has to use the same weapon that is breaking rules to bring out the truth. Because all that matters in court is the proof. To create proofs in favour of the victim, law will have to broken 😆😆, because already laws would have been broken to create proofs in favour of the criminal😃
Edited by shruthiravi - 7 years ago
darkwarrior200 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail
Yes !! Make this analysis thingy a routine please😃
fascinating reviews we got there from you !👏⭐️
Ineedindeed thumbnail

Ranbir Raichand has built an image reputation of being saint. I am sure he works her business underneath to keep a tab on things. A calculative,smart and witty guy. A calm demeanour who might have a dangerous mind. He keep poker and doesn't portray it to anybody. His family himself doesn't know what is upto

A personal Secretary could have got the secrecy and some intricate details about his company. I feel RR aren't involved in rape but that doesn't mean they are clean either. Meenu would have been merely used as pawn. The picture is bigger and clearly invisible. Again RR is very calculative that his brother won't let him be in jail and release it, before acting on things he is analytical about things. He is a big fish who won't be easily exposed

The fidget spinner - This little detail has been interesting me for quite some time, since I saw it in the promos. It's a rather minute detail, but a good one because it matches Kabir's character so far. Kabir is someone whI'mo can't sit still, who reacts quickly and angrily to anything that isn't in his or bade's best interest, and who is quite demanding. A fidget spinner is his little toy, his way of trying to calm his mind down enough to make a conclusive next step. I also feel it'll become a foreshadow of something big about to happen.

I find Kabir good hearted person, a naivety,impulsive rich spoilt brat. I think he might turn little grey shades only when he is exposed to the truth and falls in love with Aanchal. I still feel, he hasn't commited any crime. Her personality is all about passion to go any extent for it people. Today it's for his brother and as the story progresses it will be for Aanchal

Ranvir's statement - I'm not as interested in the words that he used, but rat9her the expressions, the tone, and the glances. The tone was cold, to the point, matter-of-fact, emotionless. Ranvir seems to be the type of guy who sees everything in a very analytical way. His expressions were similar. Deadpan, emotionless. But what was rather intriguing here was the glances he kept giving Kabir as Kabir would react angrily. It was as if he knew that nothing can happen to him because Kabir wouldn't let anything happen to him. This does raise a doubt in my mind. Did Ranvir actually rape Meenu and knows that he'll get away with it because there's no proof and Kabir will do anything to save him?

Aanchal is not at all clear to me. She is no goody goody. There is a lot of speculation theorey about her, does she have past enmity with Raichand, what is her haq to get it from Raichand. She is no goody, might play by breaking the rules. What is her right, Raichand are holding up with him.
I like the way she mixes up dal in 1st episode that shows enough about her character as mixing up with both brother. She might be a catalyst to break both brother